We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel option in Florence close to train station”
Review of Adler Cavalieri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adler Cavalieri
Ranked #90 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during Christmas 2012. The location was excellent, less than 5 minutes walk from the train station and 10-12 minutes leisurely walk to the Duomo. Overall this was an excellent hotel with friendly staff, all amenities you expect. Included breakfast was excellent. As others have noted, the hotel has lot of character, although can appear slightly dated, and room was smaller than we anticipated. Wi-fi worked well. Definitely recommend.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank World_Is_Beautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (852)
There are newer reviews for Adler Cavalieri
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 852 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very comfortable hotel in very good position if your are catching the train into Firenze.  We were able to easily walk from the station to the hotel.  Then easily walk into the main part of Florence.  Only about 10 to 15 mins to the Uffizi gallery etc. The Alder Cavelieri is a grand hotel with plush furnishings and quality furniture.  The breakfast was substantial and held in a lovely room.  We had a room facing a courtyard rather than the main road so it was very quiet and allowed a sund sleep.  We also got cool orange slippers!

Tip....If you are coming from the station you can walk along the underground shopping gallery rather than the main road. On exit from station look to the right for escalators going down. At the bottom of escalators go right....follow along past the shops to the end. Go up the steps to street level ..and cross ped lights. Walk along to your left then right at lights..then a bit of a stroll and you are at the hotel.

Room Tip: Room facing courtyard on upper level was very quiet
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShazzaDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Smaller rooms with a warm comfortable feel, everything was comfortable and the staff was helpful. Within walking distance of David and City center. Only stayed here one night, but I would stay again. Was a quiet area without any troubles.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel has lots of character. It is old but pretty well maintained. I stayed in Room 6, which is a wonderful little bungalow-like room apart from the other rooms in the hotel. Although it smelled a little musty, one I aired it out, it was just fine.
The room was a very good size as was the bathroom. The only complaint here seems to be a trend in Italy... the showers do not drain! There also is no alarm clock in the room and you are not allowed to use an iron in the room either.
Some of the other rooms opened up to a neat little courtyard that was a nice place to have breakfast or drinks. The breakfast food options were plenty also. Lots of variety that certainly appeased our group of Americans.
The staff was friendly and courteous and were helpful when recommending dining options.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Just because you ask for a non-smoking room doesn't mean you get it. Go check out your room bef...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garden_Isle_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 7 nights in July , and found it to be the most pleasant stay of our whole holiday.
Spacious bedroom with bath and shower and courtyard , excellent aircom . The buffet breakfast was fantastic with a good variety of food and beverage . The hotel has a comfortable lounge area with free international papers wifi ideal for both business and holiday travellers .. very central to the railway station and all the sites . We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Florence , infact our friend works for Thomas Cook and we are told they offer this hotel to their clients would give it a five star rating and the staff are wonderful

Room Tip: we had room six
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorrainejuliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel is simply great. Very clean, friendly staff, very nice and cosy interior, own balcony/terrace, and good bed standard. Also a great breakfast buffe also able to dine outside. Simply a very good value for money hotel. We stayed at 4 different 4 star hotels in Florence and this was by far the best!!!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Henrik T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed here for three nights this september,Although On a street near the Train station, neither it nor the general area can be described as rundown . I had a double room, decent size by Italian standards, it was clean, everything worked well, air conditioning, safe , Tv etc.There were little cards which you could fill in if you had any problems these which i thought was nice.
Fair sized breakfast room, did'nt have to wait for a table and food selection was good,and you are served with a coffee of your choice
the hotel was 10/15 mins walking from centre of town ,and there is plenty to see on way e.g Piazza/Chiesa de Santa Maria Novella.I hope to return to Florence and I would have no problem staying here again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DecDubhlinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#117 of 411 in Florence
240 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#73 of 411 in Florence
1,641 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#136 of 411 in Florence
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#80 of 411 in Florence
1,483 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#202 of 411 in Florence
1,281 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#52 of 411 in Florence
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adler Cavalieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adler Cavalieri

Address: Via della Scala 40, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#65 Business Hotel in Florence
#77 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $111 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adler Cavalieri 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adler Cavalieri Hotel is an hotel in the heart of the historical centre of Florence. The hotel is located in Via Della Scala, the old wayfarers' road to the city centre. The Hotel palace was built on the ruins of an ancient monastery dated back to 1300, right in front of the old Santa Maria Della Scala Hospital, from which the street took its name. The hotel is just a few steps from the main railway station of SANTA MARIA NOVELLA and Florence exhibition-congress centre FORTEZZA DA BASSO. Hotel guests can reach all the most important Florence monuments in few minutes' cheering walk: the DUOMO, PIAZZA DELLA SIGNORIA, PONTE VECCHIO, PALAZZO PITTI, SANTA CROCE, and the historical areas placed on the hills around the city. The Hotel has 60 comfortable and elegant rooms air conditioned and equipped with all the modern technologies ( SAT TV, High-speed internet connection free of charge, regulation of temperature ) Our guest can have cold and breakfast in our Restaurant at the Ground floor and in our garden during the summer season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, ACCOR, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adler Cavalieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adler Cavalieri Florence
Adler Cavalieri Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing