We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Points on location, room, hygiene, breakfast, hospitality and quiteness”
Review of Adler Cavalieri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Adler Cavalieri
Ranked #92 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I'll give points on things I find important:

- Location: 8/10 It's very close to the train station, really easy to find and close to the centre of Firenze.

- Room: 4/10 We had the room at ground level that "looked out" on the terasse. It was a really dark room and the bedspread was stuffy and old. The first night we pulled it of the bed and I sneezed like ten times. I would recommend removing those old bedspreads and the carpets too and put some more lights in the room. Positive is the airconditioning. Worked like a charm :)

- Hygiene: 6/10 because of the bedspread en carpets. The bathroom was clean :)

- Breakfast: 9/10 delicious! I think everyone can find something they like. Coffee is a bit strong (well let's say you can rise the dead with this coffee ;) but I guess that's typically for Italian coffee. One minor point: it says breakfast is served from 07.00 am but if you want everything to be ready better wait until around 07.30 am. We early birds (07.00 am sharp) finished our breakfast every morning and when we finished they were still setting some things in place...

- Hospitality: 9/10 Very friendly staff! Very helpfull. They answered all our questions, offered a map from firenze when we checked in, when we checked out they offered to keep our bags for us without us even having to ask...

Then finaly there is a big 0/10. I'm sorry but I have to mention this too. Maybe it's just our room because of its proximity to the breakfast room but the noise in the morning woke me up really early. I find peace and quiteness really important and that was a big fail in this case...

All in all I was happy staying here. Price/quality-wise it's a good deal. I would not give this hotel 4 stars though, rather 3 stars.
Average score (adding up the previous ones): 6/10

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lieke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (864)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 864 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

This was the best hotel we stayed in during our trip to Italy. It was, on the one hand, quaint and historical, and, on the other, modern and efficient. Even the elevators were roomy. The staff at Reception were extremely helpful in letting us know what to do and where to go. The breakfast was excellent; we did not try any of the other meals. The negatives? Well, the bathtub was very narrow and a big-built man could perhaps got into it sideways; the Jacuzzi jets were therefore quite redundant and the shower cabinet (built over the bathtub) very tight and awkward for using the telephone shower.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salmankureshi242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed in this hotel during our trip to Italy. This is one of the best hotels we had in our trip. The staff was very helpful. When we reached there, we were told that our reservation did not reach them even though I booked through one the major travel sites. When I showed the confirmation email, they did everything they can to accommodate us. I think they have even upgraded our room. We booked a triple room, our room had 1 bed room with double bed and two other rooms with single bed in each, had two TVs and the bathroom was very clean and nice.The hotel is also in a great location, just a few minutes walk from the railway station. The staff was also very helpful in providing any information, tickets, etc for city tour. Breakfast was plenty.
The only con was the carpet on the floor seemed pretty old. The WiFi did not work in our room, it would work just outside our room but could not connect once we get into our room.
The hotel also has very nice relaxing lounge and we could even checkout a laptop to be used in the lounge area.
Overall, a very nice hotel and would recommend if you are travelling to Florence.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PabFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Every member of the staff went out of their way to answer every question we had and to make our stay comfortable and memorable. The train station is just a block away so the Adler is in a great location if you want to move on from Florence. I echo the other comments...breakfast was plentiful and good, the rooms were comfortable with great a/c and a deep tub. The hotel is quiet, but when you step out you are right in the bustle of Florence. A gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This was our first stop during our 10 day cycling trip of Tuscany. The rooms, although small by US standards, were comfortable, quiet and pleasingly furnished. The breakfasts were standard fare continental style, but meals cooked to order were available from the servers. Free fast internet access was available all over the hotel property. I was impressed with the servers from the attached dining room who said- "our food is frozen, go into Florence for a fresh meal!". Which I did. Great advice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradermd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Loved the Adler. We were there before begining our guided bike tour inTuscany. The hotel exceeded our expectations. We had a a quiet Courtyard room. Bed and a/c were perfect. Excellent breakfast and attentive staff. Quiet street with nearby restaurants frequented by locals.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Wow, our experience at Adler Cavalier was so much better than we expected. The staff was super friendly, the breakfasts were delicious and filling, the beds super comfortable, the bathroom was excellent, the air conditioner worked, the WiFi worked perfectly, the location was supreme, the decor was very nice, the view of a little garden from our room was pretty, the price was perfect, and the peace we felt at Adler was priceless.

I will definitely stay here again and I recommend it whole-heartedly!!!

Room Tip: Let them know in advance how many beds you will require and if you are sensitive to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#73 of 410 in Florence
1,653 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#112 of 410 in Florence
249 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#198 of 410 in Florence
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#135 of 410 in Florence
835 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#76 of 410 in Florence
1,488 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#58 of 410 in Florence
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adler Cavalieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adler Cavalieri

Address: Via della Scala 40, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#65 Business Hotel in Florence
#77 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $106 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adler Cavalieri 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adler Cavalieri Hotel is an hotel in the heart of the historical centre of Florence. The hotel is located in Via Della Scala, the old wayfarers' road to the city centre. The Hotel palace was built on the ruins of an ancient monastery dated back to 1300, right in front of the old Santa Maria Della Scala Hospital, from which the street took its name. The hotel is just a few steps from the main railway station of SANTA MARIA NOVELLA and Florence exhibition-congress centre FORTEZZA DA BASSO. Hotel guests can reach all the most important Florence monuments in few minutes' cheering walk: the DUOMO, PIAZZA DELLA SIGNORIA, PONTE VECCHIO, PALAZZO PITTI, SANTA CROCE, and the historical areas placed on the hills around the city. The Hotel has 60 comfortable and elegant rooms air conditioned and equipped with all the modern technologies ( SAT TV, High-speed internet connection free of charge, regulation of temperature ) Our guest can have cold and breakfast in our Restaurant at the Ground floor and in our garden during the summer season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adler Cavalieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adler Cavalieri Florence
Adler Cavalieri Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing