We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely helpful, friendly Owners!”
Review of Bellevue House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bellevue House
Ranked #16 of 651 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Extremely helpful, friendly Owners!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights at Bellevue House in late September. We were extremely pleased with the accommodations and the value. The room was plain and simple, yet it was very comfortable, spacious, and more than met our needs. Although they do not serve breakfast, there are plenty of places nearby to get croissants or breakfast and the room had a hot water pot with tea and good instant coffee. We loved the location. It was within walking distance of all of the main tourist sites, yet away from the circus atmosphere that pervades much of Florence’s main tourist areas. There were a number of good restaurants nearby that were recommended to us by the hotel. But also very important to us was its proximity to the train and bus station, as we made a day trip to Siena one day by bus and had an early morning train departure on our last morning there. But the best part about Bellevue House was the extremely friendly and helpful new owners, Luciano, his son Allesandro, and wife, Susy. They all went out of their way to help us and make sure that we had an excellent stay. Although we had booked the room online at a higher rate, we were offered, without asking, the Rick Steve’s 10% cash discount, which we gladly accepted. Luciano made reservations for us at Accademia and Uffizi museums prior to our arrival. Allesandro was very helpful in planning our visit in Florence, providing numerous recommendations of things to do that were off the beaten path. Susy provided us with an excellent walking map of Siena for our day trip there. I made the mistake on our first night there of sleeping with the window open to enjoy the cool night air, but ended up with mosquitos buzzing my head all night long and noise from party across the alley. Allesandro was extremely helpful in providing us with a plug-in mosquito repellant for the remainder of our stay. Keeping the windows closed and AC fan running to circulate air, I slept great the remainder of our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    119
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
125
288
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My stay in Bellevue was absolutely outstanding. First of all, hosts are fantastic (thanks for your help, Alessandro) - they were invaluable in providing tips regarding the food, routes etc. No communication problems. Really, people make the difference.
Second, location of the guesthouse is excellent - close to the railway station, a couple of fantastic trattorias in the nearby (da Giorgio, Centopoveri), all main tourist attractions within the walking distance. Really, hard to imagine better value-for-money indicator.
The only issue is that the Palazzo Riblet, where the guesthouse is located, is an old building, it's the third floor with no lift - keep that in mind.
Still, if ever back to Florence, I'm definitely staying at Bellevue House.

Room Tip: If you care, ask for a room with good internet access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polarwombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at the Bellevue House in September of this year and had a great stay. It was very close to the train station, which was great since we were travelling by train with all our luggage for the 10 day trip! The staff was waiting for us when we arrived and gave us a very warm welcome including a great recommendation on where to go for dinner. We walked all over Florence for the 3 days we were there and loved coming back to our huge room and relaxing before heading out for more wonderful Tuscan meals! The rooms are big, not only by European standards! There was also free wifi in our room. The only down side was the long walk up the 3 flights of stairs, but we got used to lots of walking and climbing stairs from our whole trip! I would highly recommend this hotel and would happily stay there again if we go back to Florence.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarKara970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I come to Florence a few times a year for business and always stay in this neighborhood. It's the best location for so many reasons ! Close to the train station, super restaurants, great boutiques meters away and a short walk from wherever you need/want to be. Bellevue House is a great B&B run by a very welcoming family. Rooms are very big, clean, simple and get the job done. A restful night sleep so you can take advantage of all that Florence has to offer ! They don't have an elevator because it is located in a historic Palazzo but no bother because the son will help you with your bags. He speaks perfect English as well ! I recommend it to all friends, family and fellow colleagues.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScooterMavenRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huron, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The staff at the Bellevue House were waiting for us when we arrived after a short walk from the train station and they were there before 5 am to help us with the taxi to the airport when we left. In between, they were totally attentive to our needs. They suggested three really nice neighborhood restaurants and filled us in on current exhibitions and attractions in Florence. The hotel is located within walking easy walking distance of the Duomo and other historical sites, but the neighborhood is quiet and safe. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and felt is was a good value. If we visit Florence again, we will certainly consider staying there again. dsh

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dshoran12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

I wish we could rate this hotel higher than a 5 out of 5.
We just got home last night from a ten day trip to Italy.
For three nights of our trip we stayed at the Bellevue House. This is a great hotel in a great location. 5 min walk from the train and bus station.
The new owners ( as of June this year) are the most friendly and helpful people we have ever encountered at a hotel.
The rooms are BIG and very clean. There is coffee and tea in the room including free WiFi, safe and new AC.
You can walk to all the sights without any problem.
Did I say the rooms are BIG?
It is located on the third floor that feels like 5 floors up the stair after a long day of walking. So make sure you have no problems with stairs. You will find most of the older hotels require stairs of some sort so check before your trip.
Would we stay here again? Yes we would without a second thought.
Thanks again Luciano and Susy.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rps042657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Spending a night in Bellevue house resembles a stay with your family. The owners are so warm and caring that you actually feel at home. The shared hall is well decorated, and it gives the place a great deal of it's charm. The room we stayed in was elegant, spacious and clean. Since it is not in the newest building, the tiles in the room were quite old, which on one hand contributed to the allure of the room, but on the other hand made it feel somewhat less clean (even though it was clean!). We had a comfortable bed and a great private bathroom, both clean and big, and the coffee/tea stand, big closer and mini-fridge in the room were very nice. The location of Bellevue House is very close to the train station, and yet not at all far from all the city's main attractions. In addition, Alessandro recommended us a great local restaurant which was excellent and not expensive that we really liked and probably would not have found otherwise, and they even gave us a free desert for being guests of the Bellevue house, so it was really cool. There is free WiFi in the room, which was very important for us but it could have had a stronger signal. In conclusion, we had a really nice stay. It wasn't so nice dragging the suitcases up the stairs 3 floors but: a) Alessandro offered to carry it for us so I really cant complain, and b) It was stated before we made the resevation so it was clearly our choice. From the value perspective, I think the price was fair, but if it was slightly cheaper it would have been perfect. We will remember the Bellevue house as an excellent experience, and mainly for Luciano and Alessandro, so thanks again guys and we hope to see you soon! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsafosTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#28 of 412 in Florence
1,653 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#51 of 412 in Florence
1,956 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#71 of 412 in Florence
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#56 of 412 in Florence
498 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#55 of 412 in Florence
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue House

Property: Bellevue House
Address: Via della Scala 21, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 651 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bellevue House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest House close to Santa Maria Novella Square opposite the famous Pharmacy-museum. The property is on the last (3rd) floor of a nice 15th Century Palace (Palazzo Riblet-Bargagli-Petrucci). We do not have a lift, but we are always happy to help guests carrying heavy luggage up the stairs. All our rooms are equipped with AC, TVSAT, electronic safe, electric kettle with several types of teas, free WiFi, hairdryer in all rooms. First-class linen and quality toiletries in the bathrooms. We can book museums on request. Each room has its own special quiet ambiance and name: "Fiorenza", "Ginevra", "Sofia", "Manila", "Victoria", "Carolina". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Bellevue House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue House b&b
Bellevue House Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing