We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect location, fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Ranked #26 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location, fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This hotel is exactly far away enough from the crowds to feel relaxing while being only a 10 minute walk from main attractions. Also being close to the train station was handy, as we took a train to Rome after our stay. The staff was welcoming, the property in great shape, and the room amazing. In full disclosure, we were surprised with a complimentary upgrade, so our room was probably much nicer than their average room, but it was easy to see this is a beautiful, comfortable hotel throughout. Breakfast was a huge gourmet buffet. They even had a bowl filled with gluten free breads-- a nice extra touch.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gargirocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,011
    369
    56
    5
    14
See reviews for
259
825
48
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed here with 2 kids. First, the location is so convenient especially if you're arriving by train. It is < 10 minutes walk from the station. The piazza is fairly quiet even at night but there are people who gather, as there are restaurants around. It is walking distance to the Duomo and we were able to walk to the Accademia gallery as well (farther but not a difficult one). Upon arrival, we were greeted by friendly staff. Since we needed 2 extra beds for the kids, there was an extra charge. We expected a small room but the space for 4 of us was more than enough. Beds were comfortable.The bathroom is very luxurious and clean. Our room was in the fourth floor if I recall right and it overlooks the piazza. It was a very serene sight. We had breakfast daily here during our stay and it was quite elegant. It was a large room with mirror doors, large round table with lots of choices: cold and hot food. Overall, a very wonderful stay in Florence!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FMandDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 nights and had a great stay. Comfortable beds with a beautiful marble bathroom that were kept scrupulously clean by the housekeeping staff.

Very helpful and friendly reception staff and breakfast was more than plentiful with hot and cold food available until 10.30.

If we ever came back to Florence we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This is possible one of the most friendly welcoming and luxurious hotels that I have ever stayed in in Europe.
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly , the location was a three minute walk to the duomo or the train station and right next to a tour meeting point , it wasn't noisy at night and the rooms were lovely and roomy with air con and very very comfy beds.
I was travelling with a friend and the highlight for us was the iced bucket of Prosecco every morning in the middle of the breakfast table which initially we were scared to touch , but frankly everyone was doing it ! All in all a fantastic break here wouldn't hesitate in staying here again.

Room Tip: we had a great view of cathedral santa maria novella ask for rooms on a side of the hotel as its a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wpark115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This is a gorgeous hotel in the heart of the city making it easy to walk to everything. It overlooks one of the most famous squares in Florence and is 5 mins walk from the train station.

Our room was really comfortable, great pillows, marble bathroom with lonely big shower and tea and coffee making facilities - they provided free soy milk from the bar downstairs and were ver accommodating.

The highlight of our stay was the amazing breakfast- I've never seen Prosecco on offer before and it was the perfect start to the day! Loads of juices available so you can make peach bellinis! Egg and bacon were top notch, lots of cold meats, cheeses, salad, cereals etc for those wanting continental style.

I would definitely recommend,

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Timetraveller24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We spent four nights here whilst exploring the city. The location is great, with most attractions within an easy walk. The staff were welcoming and our room very comfortable. Tea and coffee-making facilities are provided and the in-room bar is not unreasonably priced. We took a junior suite with a view across to the magnificent Santa Maria Novella church.

Breakfast was included in our room rate and offered a wide range of pastries, meats, cheeses, fruit and cereals. Again, service was friendly and efficient.

TIP: Pre-book tickets for the main attractions as they can get very busy. Staff at the hotel will help you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, BC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in July. We liked the location - close to the train station and walking distance to everything. The hotel is a bit of a maze with three buildings connected to one. We had to take Two elevators to our room. The room was large and had a view of the church. The air conditioning worked really well and the breakfast was amazing . They also had a computer work station and a reading with newspapers. I would stay here again . I would however not recommend this hotel if you had a wheelchair.

Recommendations in Florence
1 Medici chapels
2. Giaconda leather outlet
3. Giannini Firenze paper products
4. Academia gallery

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the church
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel4free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,141 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#60 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,695 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#12 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#24 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,328 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 694 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Novella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Property: Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#25 Business Hotel in Florence
#29 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Novella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms are furnished with air conditioning/heating, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi internet connection or lan cable connection, hair-dryer, minibar, bath or shower, electric safe, flat screen tv, courtesy set of "Officina Santa Maria Novella," vanity mirror, sleepers, tea pot with herb tea. Superior room with view has a splendid view over the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, flat screen TV, mini-bar and a splendid marble bathroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Santa Maria Novella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Novella Florence
Hotel Santa Maria Novella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing