We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Ideal location, very comfortable.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Ranked #28 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Ideal location, very comfortable.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We spent four nights here whilst exploring the city. The location is great, with most attractions within an easy walk. The staff were welcoming and our room very comfortable. Tea and coffee-making facilities are provided and the in-room bar is not unreasonably priced. We took a junior suite with a view across to the magnificent Santa Maria Novella church.

Breakfast was included in our room rate and offered a wide range of pastries, meats, cheeses, fruit and cereals. Again, service was friendly and efficient.

TIP: Pre-book tickets for the main attractions as they can get very busy. Staff at the hotel will help you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,051
    384
    60
    7
    14
See reviews for
270
854
54
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delta, BC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in July. We liked the location - close to the train station and walking distance to everything. The hotel is a bit of a maze with three buildings connected to one. We had to take Two elevators to our room. The room was large and had a view of the church. The air conditioning worked really well and the breakfast was amazing . They also had a computer work station and a reading with newspapers. I would stay here again . I would however not recommend this hotel if you had a wheelchair.

Recommendations in Florence
1 Medici chapels
2. Giaconda leather outlet
3. Giannini Firenze paper products
4. Academia gallery

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the church
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel4free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mickleton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

The hotel is beautiful and is close to the train station. Taxi availability is great. And is a 5 minute walk to the Duomo. Breakfast was excellent and had many choices. Staff was professional and really wanted to help you to find your way around city. We left for the airport at 0400 in the morning and the staff had made up a breakfast bag with fruit, drinks, pastry etc. You don't find that to often when you travel. Very customer oreinted. Give this hotel an A+. Bravo

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRO0224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

From the moment you want into reception you know you are in for a treat. Our room on the sixth floor overlooked to piazza with the church in full view. Like te rest of the hotel the rooms are well appointed, huge double bed and amazing marble bathroom. Like others here we arrived by train to the nearby (5mins away) station. Take some pebbles with you to find your way back to the lifts, it is bit of a dander to get to to and from reception, but the narrow corridors and stone steps add to the charm of this hotel. Breakfast in the morning is a joy, make sure you try the prosecco to kick start your day. Staff are very helpful and friendly and gave us great advice for choosing restaurants. Make sure you hit the roof terrace for an amazing roof top view of Florence and the piazza below. Despite being in a very busy piazza and above a bar we were not disturbed by the noise and had a very, very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room, worth the extra for a special treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dangalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

I had the most amazing room. It had a great bathroom(huge). It had a KING size bed...comfortable, good sheets plenty of towels. Plenty of space. Great space for closets. I am a coffe drinker. They provided a machine for tea, and told me they would bring coffee for me to my room and never did. To me that is a negative. I had a private terrace Great for shooting photos of the piazza. Right on the piazza. The best part to me was the AWESOME breakfast.. you name it.... was there. Scrambled eggs, bacon breads of all kind. Meat and cheese trays fresh fruit ,oj CHAMPAINE....we made mamosa's! coffee, cereals. They staff was GREAT,helpful!

Room Tip: wi/fi not good. loved room 621, has a private terrace. A/c great! good big bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

What a lovely stay!! We went to Florence for 2 nights after our cruise. We walked from the train station, not a far walk at all. What a great room - we had the balcony and a fantastic view. It was a maze to get to our room, but that was part of the charm. Clean, charming hotel with a great location. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful too. They recommended a good, fun restaurant - Buca Mario. The breakfast was superb too!! As you can tell, we loved the hotel and Florence.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

My room overlooked the Piazza Santa Maria Novella which was really lovely. I often opened the window and just watched, but there were not at sound when I closed it. The hotel is close to the train station but not so close as you will be disturbed by it. It is also close to restaurants and all the main sight seeing spots. My room was stylish and well equped. Marble bath room.Air conditioned (quiet) and free wifi. Staff very friendly. Lovely breakfast Next time I am in Florence I will choose this hotel. Note:City tax of 3 euro per day per person is payable in CASH so have available funds for this when you check out

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#34 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#56 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#19 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#27 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Novella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Property: Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#25 Business Hotel in Florence
#29 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Novella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms are furnished with air conditioning/heating, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi internet connection or lan cable connection, hair-dryer, minibar, bath or shower, electric safe, flat screen tv, courtesy set of "Officina Santa Maria Novella," vanity mirror, sleepers, tea pot with herb tea. Superior room with view has a splendid view over the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, flat screen TV, mini-bar and a splendid marble bathroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Santa Maria Novella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Novella Florence
Hotel Santa Maria Novella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing