We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“excellent location, great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Ranked #27 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent location, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the SMN last weekend. Highly recommended for its location, very central to local sights, restaurants, shopping, SMN train station. Wonderful breakfast in a beautiful dining room - yummy Italian coffee served with steamed milk - can't beat that. Oh yeah, love the bed with its canopy. Clean room, nice historic ambience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank my3sons88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    997
    363
    55
    5
    14
See reviews for
255
813
47
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Great 4-star hotel that felt like it was refurbished within past month. We had a room overlooking the piazza that was huge. The bed was so comfortable I've contacted them to find out if I can get one here. Staff was terrific and had the most stylish uniforms I've seen. Check out the roof terrace!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jonadale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamison, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My family of 4 (2 teenage children) just stayed at this beautiful hotel last weekend. Everything about this hotel is first class. The rooms are large, clean and beautifully decorated with an Italian flair. The rooms are quiet and over look the Santa Maria Piazza where there can be live music at night. We stayed in 2 connecting rooms and this was perfect and convenient. The breakfast has a wide variety of food - cereals, cheeses, pastries, eggs, bacon, fresh juices etc.. Very large for an Italian breakfast. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The location is perfect. It's a 5 min walk from the train station, 10 min to the Duomo, and is very convenient to delicious restaurants. We never had to take a taxi. The Santa Maria Novella hotel is our favorite and added a special touch to the end of our 10 days in Italy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint James, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I was at this hotel for three days.From the time we checked in everyone was helpful and curtious.We had an up graded room with a 'view".The view was of Santa Maria Novella Square.It was very pretty and quiet.Breakfast was very good and who doesn't love Florence?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Everything about this hotel was beautiful. The rooms so well furnished, the location just perfect and the staff very helpful and friendly. Would stay again in a heart beat. The square just outside was so lovely and there were enough outdoor restaurants to suit most tastes.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Be sure to find out if a single room is a a twin to double size bed or a French bed more cot/couch. My room was nice enough with an average sized European bathroom. My friend's had a tiny French bed and a huge bathroom. Nice bed linens. Towels? Not really. We paid close to the same price. Otherwise, breakfast was beautiful, service was great. WIFI access was spotty depending on where we were in the hotel. Best place for me, while the least desirable, was in the breakfast room...

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Horrible wifi. It's free but every 1200 seconds it kicks you out. Weird. Large rooms excellent location but then anywhere in florence is excellent. It's not that big a city. Free breakfast included. We did not get our boys a view room so their room overlooked the garbage. They could not open the window because of the smell! So make sure you state that in the reservation

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#33 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,120 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#62 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,647 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#11 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Degli Orafi
#24 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,309 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Hotel & Spa
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Novella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Property: Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#25 Business Hotel in Florence
#29 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Novella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms are furnished with air conditioning/heating, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi internet connection or lan cable connection, hair-dryer, minibar, bath or shower, electric safe, flat screen tv, courtesy set of "Officina Santa Maria Novella," vanity mirror, sleepers, tea pot with herb tea. Superior room with view has a splendid view over the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, flat screen TV, mini-bar and a splendid marble bathroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Santa Maria Novella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Novella Florence
Hotel Santa Maria Novella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing