We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A superb hotel in a superb location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Ranked #30 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A superb hotel in a superb location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed six nights. The room and bathroom are four star quality. The breakfast was excellent with all you could eat ham, salami, eggs, fruit, yogurt, rolls and cake. The staff was extremely courteous and watchful of anyone who entered the hotel. A ten to twenty minute walk takes you to most of the key tourist sights, and one of the best tourist sights is just across the square from the hotel. We were there when the chocolate festival was taking place in the square outside the hotel and the performance of the Medieval Flag Company was spectacular. There are a number of excellent restaurants close to the hotel. We had an excellent Italian lunch at Trattoria Marione, a five minute walk from the hotel. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,023
    373
    58
    7
    14
See reviews for
264
834
50
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed in April 2013 for 7 nights and had a very enjoyable experience. The hotel is an older classic style with art work throughout, highlighted moldings, and high ceilings. The staff are first rate, the hotel is impeccably maintained, the wifi service works well, and the dining room where breakfast is served is very inviting. The location, in easy walking distance to the train station, is very convenient for planning excursions out of the city. The only minor criticisms are that our room (the least expensive) was on the small side and the proximity to the Piazza di Santa Maria Novella meant some late night street noise from revelers. Overall, we would certainly return on a future trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor to minimize street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Outstanding hotel by any standard. Courteous, warm and efficient staff. Great room with great views across the square to a Renaissance masterpiece. Fantastic bathroom with so much marble you just lie back in the bath and laugh with pleasure. A wonderful, uplifting and romantic experience. The city isn't too shabby, either. We will return

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rogp499484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blauvelt, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 wonderful nights while in Florence, this was a perfect spot. The location is great, right in the middle of the Piazza Santa Maria Novella and a very short walk from the train station. One caveat there are two train stations in Florence, Firenze Santa Maria Novella (abbreviated as Firenze SMN) which is close the hotel and the other is Firenze Campo di Marte. The Campo di Marte train station is just outside the main road ring (boulevard) that surrounds the historical city center and is a taxi ride 8-10 euro to Santa Maria Novella. The hotel staff is very helpful and pleasant. You can walk anywhere you need to in Florence from the hotel, the breakfast buffet with very good and is included in the room rate. The room was spacious and clean with a wonderful view of the Piazza. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYY718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel was across the piazza from the train station, a short walk with luggage in tow. The room was great with all the special extras. The breakfast buffet was outstanding. There was a fabulous sidewalk cafe across the street that made happy hour very special...fresh capers, etc. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

WHAT A BEAUTIFUL HOTEL -- We were in Florence for three nights, but wish it was a longer stay. The hotel is everything you would expect from an Italian hotel. Our windows opened up onto the Piazza Santa Maria Novella, what a beautiful site. We had the "family room." More than enough room. The front desk, I believe her name was Barbara (not certain), was simply a pleasure to deal with, very accomodating -- going out of her way to help us. Breakfast was great -- they have a granola cereal that I wish I could find in the states. CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donna2628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
175 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

THIS is the place to stay in Florence. Close, walkable to everywhere. Our rm, 404, overlooked the SMN square, very romantic. Room, bed, linens, marble bath, maid service all 1st class. Breakfast buffet a feast, so good and varied. Quaint bar and front desk staff the best. We WiLL BE BACK! You can live like a local here - just perfect!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room overlooking the SMN church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCmdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,152 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#60 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,712 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,346 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Novella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Property: Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#25 Business Hotel in Florence
#29 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Novella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms are furnished with air conditioning/heating, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi internet connection or lan cable connection, hair-dryer, minibar, bath or shower, electric safe, flat screen tv, courtesy set of "Officina Santa Maria Novella," vanity mirror, sleepers, tea pot with herb tea. Superior room with view has a splendid view over the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, flat screen TV, mini-bar and a splendid marble bathroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Santa Maria Novella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Novella Florence
Hotel Santa Maria Novella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing