We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Need a sherpa to find your room, but lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Ranked #30 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Need a sherpa to find your room, but lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Beautiful boutique hotel, in a convenient location near the train station. The first room we checked into would have been quaint for a couple, but for two sisters we needed to switch rooms. They immediately found another room, and it even had a better view so it was worth upgrading. That being said - once we were shown to our room, it was difficult to get back there. Two elevators, through a number of buildings, over the river and through the woods and there we were again. They do say it's all about the journey.
The room itself was beautiful, with nice furnishings and comfy linens. Marble bathroom with heated towel rack was good, but was a little disappointed after seeing photos of the bathtub rooms that we only had a shower. Still, it was nice and had great lighting.
Since the room was right on the square, the view was amazing. I was worried that it would be noisy, after our debacle in Rome on a loud piazza, but we never heard a thing.
The front desk staff were great. Always there, good with directions and even remind you to take one of their umbrellas when it's raining. We wanted to ship some things home and asked about a UPS store, the woman at the front desk could not be more helpful. She told us to just bring down our things and fill out a simple form and they would take care of everything else. Next day we received e-mails verifying our shipment. Made life so much easier.
Loved the breakfast buffet. Will agree the breakfast staff concentrate more on the tables and food than the guests, but it wasn't so bad.
All in all, I would recommend this hotel. Easy to get almost anywhere from the location and a nice place to come home to after a long day of taking in the sights.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of taking a room on the piazza because of noise - the bar downstairs closes earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaAvenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,023
    373
    58
    7
    14
See reviews for
264
834
50
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We had requested a room with a bath but were shown to a room with a shower, however the staff dealt with the problem quickly and offered us a lovely room with a beautiful marble bathroom.
Everything was incredibly clean and the complimentary toiletries were good quality.
The location and views were wonderful, it can be noisy at night, we were unlucky in as much as our room was over the Irish bar, and it was St Patricks night!!!
The other negative was that the floors carry the noise & we were under very noisy people who walked over the hard floors with hard heeled shoes, so request a top floor room is quiet is important
The breakfast was really good with lots of choice

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Foolsgold55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The location is perfect as it is central to all activities. Less than a five minute walk to the train station. We had tours booked every day with meet-up locations 2 minutes away. Shopping and restaurants are plentiful from the hotel.
Negatives were the front desk personnel could be more friendly except for one of the nighttime male managers; he was so wonderful and helpful. Daytime staff was curt, short-tempered and annoyed. Maybe because we were Americans? Don't know.. I do have to say on the positive side that any request was dealt with lighting speed.
Rooms are large, beautiful and clean. Pick your battles I guess.
You also have to look carefully for the hotel sign. We couldn't find it. Hotel name is on the welcome mat.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor facing the front. The view was interesting as it faced the Santa Maria Nove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was great. The staff were all very friendly. The room was nice with a good view of the Santa Maria Novella piazza and Basilica. The location of the hotel was excellent as we had travelled there by train, it was only a 5 minute walk from the train station. It was also in walking distance of the sights that we wanted to visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eks00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Returned today from Florence and feel compelled to write a very short review.

Location is outstanding, and we had a view over the Santa Maria Novella Cathedral... it was also convenient for us as we were arriving by train from Pisa airport. It is a good choice if you want somewhere with some character rather than a generic business hotel... all the staff were absolutely charming and they were very pleased to arrange flowers from a local florist to be delivered to our room for my girlfriends birthday. They recommended restaurants and seemed to get a lot of enjoyment from knowing we were enjoying our stay. The breakfast was very nice but what stood out was the beauty of some of the rooms in the hotel including the breakfast room... So good choice for character, atmosphere, location and comfort.. it isn't the cheapest option but I felt staying there was a special treat and will stay in the memory for a long time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidacm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Clare, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during our honeymoon - we travelled from Rome by train and were travelling onto Venice to meet a cruise. The hotel was very near the station and was an ideal base for exploring Florence. the hotel was lovely and we had a room overlooking the square outside. They had left wine in the room also. It was very clean and the food was good. There is a pool on the rooftop with lovely views across Florence. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and will definitely return again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisak1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at this property in February 2013 and I have to say that my wife and I really enjoyed this luxury hotel. It sits in the Piazza di Santa Maria Novella, and within about a 2 minute walk to the train station and a 5 minute walk to the street market! The rooms were ample sized with nice bathrooms and rain type shower heads. The towel heaters were a nice perk as well since it was very cold during our stay. The staff were more than helpful at every chance they saw us, and in fact we probably would have never even found the hotel if it wasn't for the directions they gave us. We were told the hotel was completely sold out, but you would have never known it. We were 1 of 3 couples at breakfast one day, and were completely by ourselves on another morning. I've seen some so-so reviews about breakfast, but it was typical of what you would get in other european cities; including coffee, juices, pastries, cereal and oatmeal, a few hot choices such as eggs and bacon, bread and some italian meats and cheeses. We actually enjoyed it very much and the staff in the dining area is very quiet, and does not bother anyone, so don't expect them to serve you. However, they WILL politely and quickly do whatever they can to assist you should you ask. The beds were very comfortable, and decor very classy that even included the name of the hotel embroidered on the sheets! I would recommend this hotel to anyone that was interested in staying somewhere in the city of Florence. The location was so central that we were able to see more than we thought possible.

Room Tip: While we didn't have a view of anything since our room was on the inside of the hotel, I can ima...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbletzacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,152 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#60 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,712 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,346 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Novella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Property: Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#25 Business Hotel in Florence
#29 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Novella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms are furnished with air conditioning/heating, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi internet connection or lan cable connection, hair-dryer, minibar, bath or shower, electric safe, flat screen tv, courtesy set of "Officina Santa Maria Novella," vanity mirror, sleepers, tea pot with herb tea. Superior room with view has a splendid view over the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, flat screen TV, mini-bar and a splendid marble bathroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Santa Maria Novella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Novella Florence
Hotel Santa Maria Novella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing