We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Comfortable and Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Ranked #29 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Bainbridge Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in the Santa Maria Novella Hotel at the end of a multi-city business trip to Italy. In Florence, we were simply there for the architecture, the art, and the food -- and, of course, the shopping. The Santa Maria Novella was in a perfect location, a walk from the train station, near the Duomo and other major attractions, and close to plenty of great shopping and restaurants. The staff were delightful, the room was classically Florentine elegant, and the view from our window of the piazza was quite nice. Our only complaint -- a small one -- was that the bath tub-shower combination was such that the shower curtain rubbed up against one's body during a shower, a small discomfort, given everything else. We highly recommend the hotel for anyone desiring a reasonably priced, elegant, comfortable, and nicely located place to stay in Florence.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carlbinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,053
    385
    60
    7
    14
See reviews for
271
855
54
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Great location away from the masses on a peaceful square yet 10 minute walk to all major museums, duomo, etc.; friendly and responsive staff; good sized rooms with top notch furnishings including comfortable beds and fine linens; wonderful breakfast buffett; truly became our home away for 4 nights; great value and highly recommend; get a room facing the church.

Room Tip: rooms facing the church square are the best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank labarb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I traveled by myself to Florence for business in January. The location was excellent, and as a young female I felt extremely safe both in the hotel and outside.

They have a gym with weights, treadmill (which I used), stair climber and sauna.

I had an early AM flight out and they prepared a "breakfast box" for me to take to the airport. It was full of snacks and drinks that I took advantage while I was waiting for the airport to open (got there at 4:45 am). They also printed out my boarding passes for me and arranged a taxi to be ready when I got from my room to the lobby.

My room had two floors with living room and full bath on the first and bedroom on the second. It felt like I was living in some charming apartment in Florence.

I did travel during Florence's low season for tourists, but I wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room 532 is two stories with amazing views of both the Duomo and Bell Tower and Santa Maria Novella...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KS_DB_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Pros:
Spacious rooms with nice and clean bathrooms
Friendly staff.
Computer with internet connection in the common area.
Nice and healthy breakfast.
5 minutes walk fromthe station and 10 minutes walk from the Duomo.

Cons:
Difficult to locate
Area around is hotel is very crowded though from the terrace you get a nice view of the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amitmegahit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great location. 5 minute walk from the station. 10 minutes form the duomo, uffizi and the ponte vecchio. Lovely room with a great bathroom. Spent most our evening on the roof terrace which is fabulous with a great view in 360 degrees. Friendly, helpful staff. Enjoyed the breakfast, probably one of the best we had.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gopbrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Excellent location and very nice classical ellegant decoration. My only issue will be with breakfast which was limited in choice. Big rooms and nice attention. Highly recommended. You can easily walk to the railway station and the Duomo.

Room Tip: There are rooms overlooking the square (Sta. Maria Novella). Rooms overlooking the inner yard are ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlosMonterroso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

An easy walk from the train station, although with poor signage it was difficult to find. Look for 2 topiary pot plants at the entrance when you enter the Santa Maria Novella Piazza (we found thanks to another trip advisor reviewer). We booked 3 double rooms for six of us and all were very well presented and spacious. One had a fabulous view of the Santa Maria Novella Church and Piazza, while the second had a very large marble bathroom and small balcony which would be lovely in summer. Very comfortable beds and the service and breakfast were good. The only negative we had was to reach our rooms we had to navigate up and down 2 sets of stairs on our level, which was challenging when it came to manevouring heavy suitcases to check out.

Room Tip: Suggest people who find stairs difficult request a room which does not require travelling through th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyK50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#34 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#56 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#20 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#27 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Novella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Property: Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#25 Business Hotel in Florence
#29 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Novella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms are furnished with air conditioning/heating, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi internet connection or lan cable connection, hair-dryer, minibar, bath or shower, electric safe, flat screen tv, courtesy set of "Officina Santa Maria Novella," vanity mirror, sleepers, tea pot with herb tea. Superior room with view has a splendid view over the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, flat screen TV, mini-bar and a splendid marble bathroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Santa Maria Novella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Novella Florence
Hotel Santa Maria Novella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing