We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Bad Owner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Ranked #29 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Bad Owner”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon over New Years. The location is fantastic. It is close to the train station and walking distance to all other major attractions in Florence. We stayed in a deluxe room with a view. It was typical drapery/canopy bed decor. The rooms were a little small and the lay out made it difficult to settle in. Breakfast was good and staff were friendly with the exception of the owner. During our five night stay my husband was yelled at for filling his water bottle up in the gym. To add injury to insult, the woman who yelled proudly proclaimed she was the owner of the hotel. Needless to say when we returned to Florence on the same trip we stayed across the piazza at Grand Hotel Minerva. The Minerva was by far our favorite hotel in Florence.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank SanDieg0Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,139
    405
    62
    10
    13
See reviews for
305
906
58
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were in Florence between Christmas and New Year's with our two teenage daughters. We chose this hotel because we could get a family suite (two adjoining rooms), and we were not disappointed. The rooms were spacious (by European standards) with nice bathrooms, and the view out over the piazza was beautiful. The hotel is a short walk from the train station, although it can be a bit tricky to find (it's right on the square across from the church, but their signage is not particularly noticeable, at least not to us). Breakfast was very good, and the service was always friendly. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClevelandOhioTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

A nice hotel with friendly welcome. Not that easy to find though as every other hotel in the square has its name emblazoned on the front, while at this hotel the only sign i could see was eventually a little brass plaque by the door. I had to ask where it was twice. I only stayed one night on business, and the room was a bit cramped with a mini double bed, and a shower that was ideal for a wafer thin supermodel. Impossible to use without soaking the floor. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranelaghandback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Booked into this hotel over new year 2012/13. The hotel is in a great location with all the major attractions easily walkable. The staff were very attentive and helpful. I would definately return to this hotel when I return to Florence. Breakfast had a wide choice of foods from fresh fruit/ cereal/continental breakfast and cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: No restaurant in the hotel but loads of places nearby for food. We watched the New yEar fireworks an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hibee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Great location. Walked from train station and to the Duomo and all over. Best breakfast ever included in room rate . Careful with rental car ..... Only negative We rented a car for 3 days touring and was given a 100 euro ticket by mail 6 months later for driving in a historic section even though valet parked the car and we only drove directly in and out city. Not sure who and where got tocket . Hertz charged us $50 just to give contact info to police !?! But the Hotel is fabulous. Be sure to find the Santa Maria novella Pharmacia!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UNCtraveler7781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

The best hotel we have stayed in during our two week tour of Italy! Beautiful hotel, great service, friendly staff, good breakfast and convenient location. Very close to the train terminal. I only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank got2getaway02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We returned on the fifth of December from a five day stay at the Santa Maria Novella. The hotel is excellent in every respect. The Plaza de Santa Maria Novella is one of the most spacious in Florence and the room we had overlooked this to the Santa Maria Novella Church, which is superb. No where was far to walk and we could see the Duomo from the square. The room was very comfortable, luxurious and the bed vast. The en-suite was fabulous and very well appointed. Breakfast in the grand dining room was plentiful and fresh and the staff delightful. I would highly recommend staying here. .

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#42 of 411 in Florence
1,282 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,750 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#53 of 411 in Florence
1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 411 in Florence
1,490 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 411 in Florence
3,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Novella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Property: Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#29 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Novella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms are furnished with air conditioning/heating, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi internet connection or lan cable connection, hair-dryer, minibar, bath or shower, electric safe, flat screen tv, courtesy set of "Officina Santa Maria Novella," vanity mirror, sleepers, tea pot with herb tea. Superior room with view has a splendid view over the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, flat screen TV, mini-bar and a splendid marble bathroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Santa Maria Novella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Novella Florence
Hotel Santa Maria Novella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing