We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Ranked #30 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel was fabulous. The room was large and beautifully serviced. Could have happily stayed in the bathroom and it was such a relief after a lot of travelling to have a generous bathroom. The room was right on the square and a food market set up in the square the day we arrived so as well as sampling fine local produce, we loved the atmosphere it provided. The hotel was steps from the main train station and chosen because we came from Venice by train and left for Rome by train. As well as being convenient to the Dome and the Ufizzi and the Ponte Vecchio and a host of other lovely spots, you walk through some very tempting shopping spots. As well it was convenient for a quick train trip to Pisa for the day. The tourist bureau is also nearby. Staff were professional...ie. helpful and pleasant without being obtrusive. I could not recommend this hotel highly enough. Just go! We too, were fooled by the lack of signs but a small snag at the start very much outweighed by the facilities. Breakfast was also fabulous with beautiful local produce and freshly baked goodies. Also, felt very safe....important in Italy for two more mature women. Don't forget to visit the rooftop terrace. There is an ambulance station across the square but luckily people stayed safe and we weren't bothered too much by sirens.

Room Tip: View of Santa Maria Novella Square is great if you can have a room that faces the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cats7911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    373
    58
    7
    14
See reviews for
264
835
50
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for three nights and would have no hesitation in recommending it.

The staff are all very pleasant and courteous. The room had clearly been refurbished recently and although we found the decor a little overpowering for our taste it was very presentable and comfortable.

The bathroom was spotlessly clean and featured a lovely rainwater style shower. Our room did not have a bath which we missed.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the hotel and the breakfast each morning was appetizing with cappuccino to die for!

Helpful?
1 Thank JimmaJnr
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just steps from the train station, reasonably price, The Santa Maria Novella has its old world charm while being conveniently located. Duomo is your backyard and "David" a few blocks away. Fantastic restaurants surround the hotel. The staff was terrific in every aspect of our stay. I can't wait to go back

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfrordshire, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was a good choice to stay at and well located for all the tourist traps. We got there late one evening and it could do with a slightly larger sign as it was difficult to see a brass plate behind a shrub. Nice rooms. Tourist tax was a not a very nice surprise they should build that into the room rate. Very nice choice of breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CPM1Bedfrordshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Protaras, Cyprus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

It is a nice hotel, on the square, walking distance from the station, restaurants, shops.
The staff is very helpfull for restaurants and directions.
On may the weather was very good, quite hot except the last day was very windy and raining.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigis2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Extremely helpful, knowledgeable and friendly staff. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. The restaurant recommendations by the front desk did not ever disappoint and being within walking distance to most of the attractions in Florence was a great bonus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Santa Maria Novella was our first choice for a return trip to Florence having stayed there three years ago. The staff could not be friendlier, the common rooms downstairs are luxurious and cozy. The rooms are clean and have wonderful fixtures and tiles in bathrooms. Staff is wonderful and all questions are answered promptly. The staff alone would make this hotel perfect but the location is central and convenient and charming looking right out over the small piazza. This is the best choice you can make in Florence. Bravi!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nandy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,152 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#60 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,714 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,348 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Novella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Property: Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#25 Business Hotel in Florence
#29 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Novella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms are furnished with air conditioning/heating, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi internet connection or lan cable connection, hair-dryer, minibar, bath or shower, electric safe, flat screen tv, courtesy set of "Officina Santa Maria Novella," vanity mirror, sleepers, tea pot with herb tea. Superior room with view has a splendid view over the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, flat screen TV, mini-bar and a splendid marble bathroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Santa Maria Novella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Novella Florence
Hotel Santa Maria Novella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing