We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palazzo Ruspoli
Nearby Hotels
$356
$300
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Perseo(Florence)
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Guelfo Bianco(Florence)
$245
$210
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bretagna(Florence)(Great Value!)
$245
$225
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti(Florence)(Great Value!)
$170
$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$703
$682
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$231
$218
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
$277
$211
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The St. Regis Florence(Florence)
$919
$771
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$230
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveler rating
132
172
43
24
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
172
43
24
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelnasty smellb bgreat locationgelateriaquiet roomold buildingtrain stationquiet streetponte vecchioreceptioncheesenoisecerealearplugschannelssquare
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 383 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2011

There is no AC in the4th floor rooms.
We stayed at this place for 3 days until June 30.
Upon our arrival at noon, the doors where closed so we tried to convince a reception at their sister hotel to come and let us leave our luggage. That was almost the only success we had at this place.
The web site says the place is air conditioned. We called our agent to reconfirm and she said the rooms are air conditioned.
We got a room at the fourth floor. We checked in and there was NO AIR CONDITIONING in the room. There was 37C outside.

The room was spacious and clean but left this not so fresh impression.

The staff was neither accommodating nor too friendly. They even did not show that they tried. When my husband asked to get at least another fan,but they said they did not have one. There was no wifi internet. we got one hour of free internet but it was so slow, that we had a problem checking our emails.
Those were two very long nights for us. We slept with open windows and my daughter was bitten by mosquitoes.
The breakfast was very basic compared to other 4 hotels we stayed in during our tour to Italy.
The amenities were dated. I would not categorize it even as a hotel, but more as a basic guest house, located on the third and fourth floor of a building.

The big positive is its perfect location, only five seconds to the Duomo.

Considering all the above, I believe we were mislead, so we would never choose this hotel.

I would not recommend it for families.

Room Tip: ok for budget travelling younge single or couple
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vadimlud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelBrunelleschi, Proprietario at Palazzo Ruspoli, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2011

Dear Sirs,
Thank You for your comment for which we have pleasure in giving You the following information :
1. Rooms on the fourth floor of the category “Comfort” have no aircon; this is clearly stated in our web site. Rooms superior on the third floor have air conditioned at a higher price

2. In our bed and breakfast the reception desk is available for check in, check out and information every day from 8:00 to 11 a.m. and from 2:00 to 6:30 p.m.; When the reception is closed, the service is guaranteed by the Hotel Brunelleschi, just 400 mts from Palazzo Ruspoli in Piazza Santa Elisabetta, 3 Tel. +39 055 27370 – This is also mentioned very clearly in our web site

3. Wi Fi is available with HDSL the fastest line available (faster than Adsl) and it is for free for our Clients

4. We are glad to understand that You appreciate the cleanliness and the size of our rooms

5. In our cold buffet there is a variety of : bakery products, a selection of jam, cereals, fruit, cheese, cold cuts, coffees, fruit juices, yogurts and biscuits. Regular coffee, expresso, cappuccino, are also available.

Looking forward to welcoming You back in Florence soon we remain,
with our best regards,

Palazzo Ruspoli
Claudio Catani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Oh my god - the smell. I have been a student in a shared house with lads, I have cleared blocked drains in summer, I have even accidentally dug up a dead dog once that had been buried in a black bin bag, nothing comes close to this smell. They were trying to fix it, but the tired and dusty old building, once grand and palatial is just in need of some serious refurb - starting with the drains! The minute the receptionist opened our door, she gagged, dashed for the windows and flung them open to let in some non-toxic air. We hoped it would subside, every hour we hoped, but it didn’t. It came back, again, and again. I swore at one point I could actually see the smell. I have checked online, apparently that isn't possible, it was more likely to be caused by my whole nervous system having an episode while starved of oxygen. To top it all the aircon unit packed up leaving a vast pool of water dripping down the walls onto the floor, now we couldn't even gag in comfort. The noise in this Florence street is also unrelenting. The ambulances carried on all night, presumably ferrying other passengers asphyxiated by the mustard gas to the very nearby hospital. Good price, bad decor, and the smell of a thousand rotting creatures that really did take the edge off the romantic city. Give it a miss, even if they have sorted the drains.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goodjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelBrunelleschi, Proprietario at Palazzo Ruspoli, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2011

Dear Sirs,

We deeply regret learning your stay in the Palazzo Ruspoli has not been satifactory.

The Palazzo Ruspoli in located, as the name says, in an antique palace which once used to be owned by the Ruspoli family.

Throughout the years the building has been renewed and adapted to todays needs, and turned into a comfortable Hotel offering its clients spacious rooms, just 50 meters from the Duomo.

We always obtain extremely good feedback of our guests and many guests return frequently, as you can read in most comments written in Trip advisor.

If there has been any inconveniece during your stay, or bad smell we sincerely wish to apologize. Knowing in which room you stayed in which date will make us understand better the nature of the problem, and will able us to, if needed, to assure that an inconvience as you described will not repeat.

We kindly like to invite you to indentify yourself, since we are having difficulites understanding who is Mr Goodjudge, and in which room you stayed.

We are sorry as well that an ambulance has disturbed you at night. They rarely pass in front of the Palazzo Ruspoli since it is not located on the way towards the hospital. The via Martelli, as you could have seen, is pedestrian area, so there in no traffic at all.

Waiting for your most kind replay, we sent you our best regards,

Palazzo Ruspoli
Claudio Catani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Palazzo Ruspoli is very conveniently located right in the heart of Florence. We had a view of the Duomo from our room. It is about 10 minute walk from the train station. There are only 19 rooms, so it is very quiet in the evenings. We saw other customers during breakfast, but otherwise we rarely saw anybody else. The drawback is that there is no concierge after 6:30pm. There is an emergency phone number for after hours.

Breakfast was plentiful, with a choice of different types of coffee or tea, cereals, fresh fruit, pastries, bread, cheese and deli meats. There was also a bar, but we it never seem to be open. Also there is no room service.

The room was large and airy with two beds, table, chair and an armchair. It had wood floors. The room was cleaned daily and the housekeeping was excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DotMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

The hotel is GREAT! in all the ways, location, quality, service.

It is a perfect choice to spend a few days in Florence. I booked a twin room through Easy Click Travel for 91 € with breakfast included.
It is not a proper hotel but a bed and breakfast, but this is only notice because the reception is only open from 8 to 11 and from 14 to 18. However, if you have any problems you can call the sister hotel, the Hotel Brunelleschi and they will solve it (I did not have any).
They give you the keys to the building and you have totally access to it.

The rooms are like you can see in the photos, large and spacious, are neat and clean. You could say it's like a 3 or 4 stars hotel if it were not for a few things that are missing in the bathroom, there are shower gel and soap, but I would add a toothbrush and toothpaste, but it is not a big thing.

Breakfast is good, pastries, cereals, crackers, sausage, fruit, juices ...

As for the location is just 5 seconds from the Piazza del Duomo, from the main entrance of the hotel you can see the cathedral and baptistery.
The railway station and the church of Santa Maria Novella are 7 minutes, the Piazza della Signoria, the Galeria Uffizi are10 minutes far, the Ponte Vecchio 12 minutes ....

If you're going to Florence, this is the best hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbaroundthewould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

They do state right on the voucher, that their desk is only staffed during specific hours, and direct you to their "sister" hotel a few blocks away. When we checked in, we were shown our rooms and told that the AC and safe would work, and if we had any issues to call the other hotel. Well, the AC did not work in both rooms, so we called, and were told not to worry, and assured that it would be taken care of while we enjoyed Florence. We went out, and got back late in the evening to find that the AC was still not working. After a few more calls to the other hotel, we were told that the AC was turned off in the entire hotel and they did not know why and there was nothing they could do... It was very hot that night so we hardly slept. In the morning, when the actual hotel's staff showed up, she told us that they did not enable the AC until June 1. Had we know this ahead of time, we would have chosen a different hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbraunb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelBrunelleschi, Direttore at Palazzo Ruspoli, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

Dear Sir,

thank you for your review, we appreciate constructive criticism that helps us improving the quality of our service.

I would like to apologize on behalf of the sister hotel's Staff, who apparently was not properly instructed about air conditioning at Palazzo Ruspoli.
As a policy, Palazzo Ruspoli starts its general AC engine only at the beginning of June, and this is something the Staff at Palazzo Ruspoli knows well. Unfortunately, the clerks on duty at the other hotel did not know about that and tried their very best to find a solution to the problem when you called them, only to find out the morning after that the whole system was not on yet. This kind of misunderstanding had never occurred before, and won't happen again in the future.
Again, I am very sorry that your night's sleep got wasted, and I have already agreed with the agency you booked through a form of compensation.

I hope this could make up just a little for the inconveninence you and your travel companions went through.

Kind regards,

Palazzo Ruspoli
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews