We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room for improvement”
Review of UNA Hotel Vittoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
UNA Hotel Vittoria
Ranked #139 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“room for improvement”
Reviewed October 7, 2006

We stayed at the Una Vittoria for 3 nights in September, 2006 and can say that the hotel standards have changed since being there 2 years ago. On our arrival we were met by an unwelcoming woman (reddish hair young woman) who checked us in. She did not give us the warm welcome I remember receiving on my first visit to the Una Vittoria. It is unfortunate that the management has employed someone like this to greet guests. On a positive note, the rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful.

I had booked a standard room online (not directly through the hotel) and received a considerable discounted rate. The room was very small. The first time we stayed there our room was significantly larger. I think we originally booked a deluxe room. Something to keep in mind.

The room definitely had some maintenance issues. The walls were dirty and scratched and the paint was chipping in the shower. The bedside wall light was streched and not easy to manuever. To top it off, when I went to write in the comment card, someone had already left their comments. Obviously the hotel does not find them important to read.

Positive: Breakfast buffet was great.

To sum it up...if you are looking for a 4 star hotel, I would recommend another one in the area. I think the Una Vittoria is lacking in service and maintenance to be considered a 4 star hotel. There is definitely room for improvement.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank BBeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    633
    198
    55
    33
See reviews for
176
839
33
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2006

We stayed at this hotel in late july, arriving on the sunday night, to be honest not the best night to be in Florence as most of it is shut! The room was of a high standard, LCD TV's & LED lights. Glass wall to the shower ( you really need to be comfortable with your partner!!) mini bar and a comfy bed.
To be honest we didn't find it the most engaging of hotels, but thats not to say the hotel was at fault. The staff are friendly but my Italian was not up to the required level to discuss too much, breakfast is typically italian (small and basic). Its about 20 minutes to walk in but the local bus (buy your ticket before) can be picked up 100m from the front gate. You can also get the big red bus from 300m from the hotel, this is touristy but its the only way to see the whole city. Dont use the car park its really expensive and you dont need to as there is plenty of parking up top.
There is also a great bar just by the wall on the way in to the city, it has its own brewery and serves food late.
We did really enjoy Florence and this hotel helped.

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — food
  • Tips/Secrets — comfy shoes and dont use the mini bar, there is a supermarket 300m up the road (away from town)
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank caggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2006

Had a lovely 3 nights at this hotel and am glad i chose it. Was a bit apprehensive about the distance fro the centre but it was definately within walking distance.

Its much quieter than the centre and has some really nice restaurants nearby plus a supermarket over the road. The buses are really frequent and cheap so save your feet and jump on the D circular route bus that goes every 10 mins from the city gates ( a 5 min walk away ).

I would certainly stay here again - and will.

The staff were helpful and pleasant, the room was great and in a good location. The bar was expensive but they usually are.

  • Liked — funky decor and position.
  • Disliked — Bar prices.
  • Tips/Secrets — Try Trattoris sabatino - just down the road near the Porta San frediano. Cheap but good basic food with buzzing atmosphere. DONT try Vino et panne just across the street. Food quite good but expensive with dire service from bored staff. Nearly 3 times the price of the Trattoria santorini.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Marge Simpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2006

Me and my boyfriend stayed for 3 nights for Valentines' and both loved it so much we swore to come back again. It's exactly as described on the net.

I do have to say, i didn't find the receptionists that friendly either, as other people mentionned, and it is far out, but for the price you pay, the amazing features, the cleanliness, the breakfast, I think it's amazing value for money.

Also, our toilet flush would not stop for a night, we mentioned it to the reception and when we came back from our day trek it was sorted. So brownie points there too.

Overall we were seriously impressed, it certainly has that WOW factor that is great if you want a romantic weekend away. A real snip at the price, believe me!

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Aude M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2006

I took my girlfriend away for a few days to Florence as it is the most beautiful place I have ever been ( my brother did his Uni placement here). The hotel lived up to everything I had hoped for. The rooms were out of this world and the shower room was awesome. The staff were very friendly, helpful and spoke very good English. It is a very pleasant 10/15 min stroll to the heart of Florence but there is a bus stop only 100 yards away. Opposite a great bakers/patisserie which we popped into more than once. You'll not be disappointed with this hotel. We are booking up another trip to one of their other hotels in the chain.

  • Liked — The whole place
  • Disliked — couldn't get BBC on the TV
  • Tips/Secrets — visit the patisserie opposite the entrance/bus stop
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank William&Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2006

We stayed for two nights in one of the smaller rooms. The room looked exactly like it did in the photos on the hotel's website (usually you never get a room like the website photos) - the designer rooms were the main reason we booked the hotel.

Staff were friendly, but not in your face. Breakfast was excellent, the best I've had in Italy so far. The prices of drinks in the bar and minibar were extremely expensive, so we avoided the facilites.

The room itself was very comfortable, with great innovative lighting effects. The bathroom was fantastic, although the two times we had a bath there was not enough hot water, so the bath was only luke warm. The shower is excellent though, with superb pressure. The room was soundproofed, we heard no sounds from any other rooms or from the corridor at any stage, creating a feeling of privacy.

The location in our opinion was great. It was a very pleasant 15 minute walk to the main attractions. If you stay on the hotel side of the river you pass the most amazing little ice cream shop by the river - the meringue ice-cream is a must!!

Alternatively, cross over the river and walk down the street parallel to the river to get to the attractions via a very chic shopping street with some stunning antique shops.

Overall, we would definitely stay here again, although I would not pay more than what we paid (about €120 per night for the room).

  • Liked — The unusual, but very well designed rooms
  • Disliked — The prices of drinks / snacks
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robbie1876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2006

Really unusual hotel in Florence- a little bit hard to find especially when you forgot to print out the map!! Nicely located off the street with underground parking. Rooms are unsual but very interesting. Bed very comfortable and the room was so dark once the shutters were shut you could quite easily sleep until lunchtime if you wanted. The bathroom/wet room was wonderful- great shower- did not get around to trying the very deep bath though.

Breakfast in room well worth the extra 6 euro. Would have given it a tip rating if it had a pool.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Starhotels Tuscany
#102 of 422 in Florence
724 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Hotel San Gallo Palace
#56 of 422 in Florence
2,119 reviews
Cosmopolitan Concept Hotel
#121 of 422 in Florence
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Florence Metropole
#147 of 422 in Florence
1,898 reviews
AC Hotel Firenze
#170 of 422 in Florence
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Hotel Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Vittoria

Property: UNA Hotel Vittoria
Address: Via Pisana 59, 50143, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in Florence
#82 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#85 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Vittoria 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical quarter of San Frediano, near the Lungarno, new emotional expression for a hotel planned to amaze guests with its extraordinary modern design realized in the 84 rooms and in the public areas of bar, restaurant and conference rooms, evocative of the ancient Florentine spirit of hospitality. Indoor parking space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your UNA Hotel Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing