We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Weekend in Florence”
Review of UNA Hotel Vittoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
UNA Hotel Vittoria
Ranked #136 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed February 19, 2010

Una Hotel Vittoria is an amazing design hotel located 15 mins walk from the city center. I stayed there with my boyfriend for a weekend and once we got there we were amazed by the difference between the simplicity of the outside of the building and the dramatic mosaic decorated entrance. The room was not that big but the walls embellished with led and the ultramodern decor was far better than we expected. We didn't have lunch or dinner there as we preferred to hang around in the city but the breakfast was so rich and offered any type of food you want. It's highly recommended, you pay less than you get.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manu0284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,518)
There are newer reviews for UNA Hotel Vittoria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 1,518 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2009

We arrived in Florence on a very rainy day, the distance from the Train station to the Hotel is very short and the taxi trip was very affordable.
Upon arrival the room was ready, however upon checking into the room, we only had a shower, which for us was an issue. I called Federica in reception and I asked her how much it would cost to upgrade us to a room with a bathtub (as the rooms with a bathtub are superior rooms), Federica immediately sorted out the room change at no extra cost, very appreciated :-)
Being that it was raining heavily and we could not go out, we managed to get a closer look at the hotel's facilities. The bar has an original setting, but I was quite disappointed to find out that they had no Martini Bianco in stock, not quite acceptable for any bar in Italy. The restaurant on the other hand was devine! We had the Menu Degustazione which is a set menu covering the typical dishes from Florence, the portions were way to big for two persons, but the food is so good that you cannot leave any of it.
The next morning we went down for Breakfast, I had read on how good it was, but little did I know, how good it actually was. The choice is ample and will please anyone, from big eaters to weight watchers.
The room is funky! The black leather tiles, the LEDs in the cieling, make it feel really cosy, the beds are comfortable but I had requested a double bed and instead I got 2 twin beds joined together, but other than that I can't complain about the room.
Location wise, the hotel seemed to be far when getting to it by taxi from the city centre, however when walking, it's one road and not more that 20 minutes away from Ponte Vecchio, the road is full of restaurants if you do not want to eat in the hotel every day.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dufhel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

On checking in, established that the room had a bath (‘not a shower please’ – being English). Yes it did have a bath but the hot water was tepid at best; requested another room with bath, yes - but not serviced properly; shown a third room with a shower as the hotel had run out of rooms with a bath for that night …

A fourth room was offered next morning – with bath naturally: indeed an ‘executive’ room no less (= bath+shower)! Problem was that none of the plugs (bath, basin, bidet) plugged. Paltry water pressure too – in contrast to the ‘hurricane-jet’ of water emitted by the toilet – so a good bath was becoming less and less likely it seemed … In addition, a closet light shone all night because of the faulty magnet-switch, the bathroom door banged incessantly, an overhead light flickered according to its whim, the radiators worked when they felt like it, and the windows had to be swung wide open or not at all. Scant information on anything useful in the room folder either. Over the days, a veritable host of staff came, and they saw, but they couldn’t conquer - ‘nothing could be done …’ – they said.

The one bright feature was a good dinner one night. On the other hand, who wants to remain in their hotel all evening in such a beautiful city? Of course the ultimate irony is that the hotel sells itself on its ‘advanced’ technological gizmos. All very well, but how about getting a few of the basics right first? Exhausting and exhausted: stayed five nights and never did get that bath!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank guyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2009

My fiance and I visited Florence in October. We took the train from Rome to Florence and the UNA had a free shuttle that came to pick us up at the Santa Maria Novella station. Even after reading these reviews before we got to Florence, the decor still took us by surprise. The room is very dark with only one small window. The bathroom was a bit claustrophobic - the bathtub/shower was odd. Overall the room was very clean.

The breakfast is amazing!!! We have never had such a great breakfast at a hotel that was free!! They had eggs, sausage, pastries, and made-to-order lattes and cappucinos.

We did find the location of the hotel a bit far - about a 20 minute walk to the centre of Florence. We took the shuttle into town but had to walk back at night as the last shuttle was at 6pm. Another disadvantage was that food and restaurants were lacking around the hotel. If you don't have dinner before going back to the hotel, your selection near the hotel is really limitied.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacat!on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

We've been to Florence four times and believe Una is an above average hotel in a below average location. The beds are comfortable with a selection of pillows. The room was big and quiet. Breakfast was nice and the service was friendly. They went out of their way to help us with dinner reservations and other recommendations.

The only down side was it was a 25 minute walk to the Ponte Vecchio and a bit farther to the other sites. About a 10 euro cab ride.

I'd recommend the hotel, it's very comfortable... as long as you don't mind the walk or taking a cab.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimCHilversum_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

Right the kind of hotel I was looking for my stay at Florence. Doors are incredible!!!! And the rooms combine design and comfort. Breakfast is great.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leaolima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2009

this is a funky hotel but a bit far from the city center, however the free shuttle service from the hotel is covinent, the breakfast was great with a full spread buffet. the room was funky and nice but a bit dark. for some reason we had quite a few mosquietos in the room. the room seemed fairly clean, and the internet wasn't free but it was no big deal.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hakubachef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Starhotels Tuscany
#104 of 411 in Florence
760 reviews
Hilton Florence Metropole
#153 of 411 in Florence
2,000 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#93 of 411 in Florence
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#39 of 411 in Florence
800 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Hotel San Gallo Palace
#54 of 411 in Florence
2,259 reviews
Cosmopolitan Concept Hotel
#116 of 411 in Florence
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Hotel Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Vittoria

Address: Via Pisana 59, 50143, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in Florence
#82 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#85 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $108 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Vittoria 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical quarter of San Frediano, near the Lungarno, new emotional expression for a hotel planned to amaze guests with its extraordinary modern design realized in the 84 rooms and in the public areas of bar, restaurant and conference rooms, evocative of the ancient Florentine spirit of hospitality. Indoor parking space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your UNA Hotel Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing