We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our personal favourite out of all hotels we stayed in Italy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo
Ranked #20 of 656 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2009

You will not regret staying at the Palazzo. It was our most enjoyable stay out of all the 6 hotels during our trip to Italy. Rooms were just magnificent and almost too large? Beautifully furnished with rich fabrics and light antiques. Staff were helpful, considerate and very efficient. The location just behind the Duomo and right smack in the middle of downtown Florence could not have been better! This hotel just made our stay in Florence magical. You can book tours (private or group), get restaurant recommendations, shopping tips, and free internet access (PC provided). A light but tasty breakfast is inclusive and in the evening, tea and coffee provisions are left for guests in the drawing room to help themselves to. A very nice touch given most hotel rooms in Italy don't offer tea / coffee making facilities. Go there and spoil yourselves.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
There are newer reviews for Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 369 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2009

I have stayed in some very beautiful, small hotels including Hotel 717 in Amsterdam and The Willows in Palm Springs, but this place is quite extraordinary. We stayed in the Empire Suite which was enormous with one of the most functional, yet gorgeous bathrooms I have ever seen. The palazzo is literally a footstep away from the Duomo, yet it is quiet inside and a lovely respite from the insanity of weekend crowds in Firenze. It was very nice to be so close to many tourist sites, yet able to quickly disappear into the luxurious quiet of the palazzo.

The staff, including the owner are universally helpful and friendly. The lovely breakfast is an expanded continental and more than sufficient unless one needs bacon/eggs or waffles - these are available, but at an additional cost.

The hotel functions as a bed/breakfast, but as a guest you feel like you are visiting a very wealthy friend.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjmorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2009

Rather pricey but worth it! A restored palazzo, just behind (30 meters) the Duomo, that has been in the Niccolini family since the 1800s, but dates back much further. Donatello had his studio here. One floor has been turned into a 10-room hotel and magnificently redone. Our room had frescoed walls and ceiling dating to the 1700s. Staff was fantastic with restaurant recommendations, reservations, and arranging a car hire and tour of the Tuscan countryside. Very nice breakfast spread in a gorgeous drawing room, where they also have an honor bar in the evenings, and an internet station. An absolute delight.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim_in_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2008

This hotel was just FAB FAB FAB.

My sister and I stayed here on the 14th of November for 3 nights in the Dome suite, it truly was a fantastic experience. The sitting room was very large indeed, and the bedroom was a fair size too. Well this really was a room with a view, as you'll see from my pictures the duomo is right outside your window. The sitting room also contained a jacuzzi which overlooked your sitting room and gave you a great view of the duomo, great for honeymooners. The bathroom was a good size and included bath robes, slippers and lots of goodies. You will also get free wi fi access in your room, or if you dont bring a computer they have a laptop set up in the breakfast room for your convenience.

The breakfast room was just so lovely and really made you feel that you were in a palace. The breakfast buffet was very substantial with fruit juices, croissants, rolls, cheese, fresh fruit and cereals.

The staff were just fantastic. They are so helpful, they booked all our museum tickets for us in advance with no extra charge so we didnt have to wait in long queues. I cannot praise them enough.

Well, I dont think you can beat this place for location. You are right at the foot of the duomo. Ponte Vecchio, Uffizi Gallery, Accademia, Piazza Signoria are all easily in walking distance. There also some great places to eat nearby too.

Check out the photo's to see for yourself. Hope this review helps you.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Alfy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2008

My husband and i came to florence for an early anniversary trip. this hotel was great! we stayed in room #1- the fresco room and it was beautiful. it was huge and the bathroom was much bigger than i was expecting. It is basically at the foot of the duomo and a great "home base". it feels more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel so it is very charming.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank amm16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2008

First the good part: Location was fantastic. Our windows literally looked directly at the Duomo. We walked to almost all the major sights on our list. Beautiful decor and appointments throughout. Our room very contemporary, the salon-breakfast room traditional. Buffet breakfast well stocked with coffee, tea, chocolate, pastries, breads, cheeses, yogurt, juices. Extra charge for eggs, etc. with which we did not bother. Notebook computer available in salon for guest use. All that was great, but given the challenges and disappointments we encountered, we would have been better off going elsewhere and saving quite a few Euros a night. My daughter and I were traveling together and wanted a two room suite so that each of us would have our own space. We were told that the Dome suite would work very nicely. The price of 500 Euros was steep, but we thought sharing the same suite and viewing the Dome from our suite would be great fun. To our surprise and disappointment, the two rooms were actually separated only by a curtain -- not our idea of a two room suite. Before booking we explained that I have a problem with stairs and were told that access to the suite from the elevator landing was up only 8 stairs. There were actually 15 stairs which doesn't sound like a big difference, but definitely was for me. The room got very warm, but when we asked that the air conditioning be turned on, we were told that only heat was available this time of year. When I suggested that at 500 Euros a night air conditioning should be possible, arrangements were finally made. There were ongoing communication problems with reception staff. We were told that two massages could not be scheduled simultaneously and so agreed to two separate massage times. When two therapists arrived with no prior notice to us that simultaneous massages were possible after all, my daughter had already left to assure privacy to me. Lesson learned: confirm all arrangements at least twice.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ecmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2008

This is a wonderful gem of a hotel right in the middle of Florence across the road from the Duomo and easy walking distance to most attractions.
My husband and I stayed in the fresco room which was beautiful. We were there for five nights.
The staff could not have been nicer and were so helpful not only when booking but ensuring that tickets were reserved for us at the major museums we had selected.

The only problem was being so central, we ended up with very sore feet at the end of the day but it was so nice to return to the Palazzo. You leave the bustle of the outside and enter a calm courtyard.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough and would certainly stay there again on our next visit to Florence..

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KGLGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#4 of 411 in Florence
532 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 411 in Florence
2,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#23 of 411 in Florence
991 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#62 of 411 in Florence
1,154 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#6 of 411 in Florence
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo

Address: Via Dei Servi 2, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 656 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $207 - $698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and beautifully decorated rooms set in a grand, ancient house that has the uniqueness of a private aristocratic residence.Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo is located in the heart of historical Florence, 30 mt. away from the Cathedral, in the centre of the shopping area and at walking distance from the main monuments and museums. It’s origins date back to the 14th century. The great sculptor Donatello (15th century) had his workshop here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Niccolini Al Duomo Hotel Florence
Palazzo Niccolini Al Duomo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing