We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious stay at Niccolini al Duomo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo
Ranked #21 of 673 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxurious stay at Niccolini al Duomo”
Reviewed September 8, 2008

The Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo was a wonderful base from which to explore Florence. It is an atmospheric palazzo situated right next to the Cathedral you are in the centre of the historic town. There is a private door from the street leading into a courtyard and a staircase or lift up to the reception area of the hotel.

The rooms were very comfortable, with ample storage space. My room was well decorated and had plenty of natural light, as it looked onto an internal courtyard. The bathroom was huge. Everything was spotlessly clean.

The reception were helpful and booked all our museum tickets for us so we didn't have to queue up. They also offered to organise various tours.

There was a very generous breakfast in the beautiful drawing room of the palace. The large room is full of antique furniture and paintings and had a very luxurious, historic feel. On a practical note, there was a computer with internet access for guests in the drawing room. The staff were all very courteous and helpful.

This place comes highly recommended to enjoy the historic city centre.

  • Liked — Historic setting, right in the town centre
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Travel_BugUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    37
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
77
221
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2008

Overall, a truly excellent experience and worth the price (indeed, we could not have gotten rooms like this for the money in any of the high-end Florence hotels, yet we felt surrounded by elegance here). We had asked for the fresco room, but apparently it had been given to someone else, and we were put in a room on the main level. We had a large bedroom, as well as a good sized living room with sofa bed, and a nice bathroom (athough the shower stall leaked and the hair dryer had some issues). The ceilings were perhaps 15 feet. It was spacious and gracious -- we never missed the fresco (although perhaps they ought not to promise it if they aren't going to keep the promise). The location is utterly fantastic (unless you want to be on the river). Not even half a block from the duomo, yet everything is quiet inside the palazzo. Breakfast was great -- a good range of things, many of them very yummy, and all in the sitting room with its painted walls and more high ceilings. What a great place to come back to after a day playing tourist in the heat of a Florence summer. We were happy not to be in a hotel with lots of people after spending most of the day in crowds. The people at the desk were pleasant, but we were not thrilled with the restaurant recommendations (still, our experience was that it is actually somewhat difficult to find very good food in Florence at less than expensive restaurants unless you really do your homework or have a friend in the know -- but for a great traditional and inexpensive lunch try Mario's in the central market area and for a great traditional Florentine dinner, try Sostanza).

  • Liked — the spaciousness and quiet
  • Disliked — restuarant recommendations
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Castorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2008

This hotel was exquisite. The decor and Italian charm were wonderful and the location was AMAZING. Simply step out the front gate and you are at the Duomo.

The accommodations are lavish, the staff is extremely knowledgeable and welcoming, and the history is fascinating. This is truly the only place to stay when visiting Florence.

  • Liked — The Italian charm
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SweetestPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2008

This property couldn't ask to be better situated. When we checked in we were upgraded at no cost, which was a pleasant surprise. The room we were given was huge and amazing - vaulted ceilings, views of the duomo, original fresco, antique furniture, and a huge floor plan. The owner/manager were frequently on site and they were very helpful. Some of the other staff wasn't spectacular, but no real problems. A nice sitting room for breakfast, no complaints!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dclawyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, CT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2008

Can't ask for anything more.. Great Location, and quite a GEM!!! I can't wait to return !!!!

  • Liked — The LOCATION!!!! Very Clean !!!
  • Disliked — A Bit Pricey
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Millied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern CA
Level Contributor
167 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2007

Only twenty paces from the Duomo - very quiet yet in the heart of Florence, with wonderful classy, very clean rooms, great staff & a tasty breakfast buffet in a gorgeous drawing room. One could not ask for more. This is the place to stay in Florence. The Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo's owners put a lot of thought and money into restoring this renaissance palace to provide a first class accommodations; sumptuous, well appointed rooms, modern baths, beautiful decor. Nothing is left to chance and all was wonderfully memorable, including generous help with museum reservations, restaurants, airport transfers etc. Stay there, you will not regret it.

  • Liked — Large, well appointed, classy renaissance styling
  • Disliked — We liked everything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank No B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2007

The Palazzo Niccolini apparently was once a palace. SInce our room had a 20 foot ceiling, I believe it. The building is probably a few hundred years old; however our room and the common areas were all beautiful and included all modern amenities. They have a large salon where they serve breakfast and drinks at night. It actually felt more like a B&B than a hotel. They also offer free internet access in the salon, and I saw people using WIFI. The location of the hotel is amazing - about 20 yards from the Duomo. Be aware that is you are driving, parking in the hotel's courtyard is 30 euros per day. Overall, a great experience at a very reasonable price.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zoob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#22 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,698 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#55 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,440 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo

Property: Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo
Address: Via Dei Servi 2, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 673 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and beautifully decorated rooms set in a grand, ancient house that has the uniqueness of a private aristocratic residence.Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo is located in the heart of historical Florence, 30 mt. away from the Cathedral, in the centre of the shopping area and at walking distance from the main monuments and museums. It’s origins date back to the 14th century. The great sculptor Donatello (15th century) had his workshop here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Niccolini Al Duomo Hotel Florence
Palazzo Niccolini Al Duomo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing