We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo
Ranked #20 of 655 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were on our honeymoon and stayed five nights. They were so helpful and personable. The room was beautifully decorated keeping in the theme of the old beautiful city. Breakfast service had nice variety, a perfect start to our sightseeing days. Location is perfectly situated in the heart of the city. Right next to Duomo and walking distance to everything. We didn't take taxis or public transport anywhere. Straight 15 minute walk from the train station. If you're not into dragging your suitcase, then grab a cab, but we did it no problem. Lovely stay! We'll never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
There are newer reviews for Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 369 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

I've travelling for almost fifty years, almost always staying in boutique hotels. This hotel, and the Duomo Suite, are at the top of the heap. If I had known about this place beforehand, it would have been on my bucket list.

The thing about the suite is the view. A wall of windows twenty feet high (the shades are adjusted by remote control) look on the back end of the Duomo and a piece of the piazza. The Duomo is no more than a few yards away. Unbelievable. And totally quiet.

Then, the staff. Alwatys helpful and obliging with reservations and information and more. The morning after our arrival, when my wife told them she was gluten intolerant, platters of breads and pastries appeared. All gluten free.

What more need I say?

Room Tip: Duomo Suite.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eugene Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights, room on the same floor as reception.
Positives: literally NEXT to Duomo, means right in the centre, walking distance to all main sights and restaurants – we really enjoyed short walks and the lively area! Historic building, very nicely decorated rooms, perfect ambience for a stay in Florence! Friendly and very polite staff, room was cleaned twice a day (once we went for a walk, but I forgot something, came back to the room to pick up what I needed – the room was already made up, refreshed with new towels and we had a little note on the bed – like a poem for each day the lovely staff prepared!) Breakfast was quite ok, not a huge variety of food, but good enough for a couple days stay. Clean, not very big but with high ceilings rooms, with a very nice antique design.

Negatives: PARKING! If you driving, it might be a nightmare to find a place to park. Very central location, some roads you can not take or can only go one way – basically, although the hotel said they have a couple parking spots for additional fee (something like 30 EUR per day, quite pricy!) – we could not get through to the hotel. There is no road where cars are allowed to go that takes you to hotel door or parking lot. We spent 30 min trying to figure out where to park! At the end we managed to find a parking garage on Via Ricasoli, but the hotel for some reason did not help us with that at all or did not advice where we could park, although we called twice and were struggling. We also asked for a room with a view on Duomo before we arived, but were not given one (although hotel seemed to be not fully booked out, judging by how many people an tables were at the breakfast.

If you want to be central and have limited time to see the main sights – good choice, but I would not pick this hotel for a longer stay in Florence.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnyaElyasova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niccolini, Proprietario at Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear Ms. Ann,
thank you for your review and for the compliments about Palazzo Niccolini.
I was a little perplexed while reading your comment about the parking. I am sorry that you ended up parking in a private garage, the palace has a private courtyard where our clients can leave their car for 30,00 euro per night, which is the average price for parking in Florence.

As for the “room with view”, we have two of them, they are our most beautiful ones and therefore the most wanted and booked. I think it is very likely that the rooms you were trying to book were unfortunately truly not available. In the opposite case, it would have been our interest to sell them or, as we very often do, upgrade our clients to them as a last minute treat.

I am happy however that you appreciated the beautiful location and cleanliness of our rooms. I truly hope I’ll have the chance to have you again amongst our guests and in one of our rooms with view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

No complaints at all with this place, it was a great stay. It was my partners birthday while we were there and they did everything in their power to make it really special - thank you so much. We were upgraded to a lovely suite with a bathroom comparable to the best 5 star hotels I have stayed in. The breakfast was very good, fresh and balanced with no economizing on juice, pastries etc. They know how to run a hotel and have pitched themselves on price perfectly. The willingness to help and upgrade us was so refreshing I would consider staying here again on a return trip over trying something new but running the risk of it being worse!
Really splendid, thank you!

Room Tip: Ask about and upgrade if they haven't offered you one already, there is nothing more frustrating...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Francesca could not have been more accomodating when booking the room via email. She also booked a driver for Chianti wine tours and a tour guide for the Uffizi. We originally booked the frescoed room but when we arrived she offered us an upgrade to a two room suite. The suite didn't have as much charm as the fresco room but we opted for it because of the size as there were 3 of us. But still the room was very charming with large windows and a vintage feel. Breakfast was served in a sitting room so it felt more like you were in someone's home having a coffee. The location could not have been better as it is right next to the Duomo. As an aside we had the best dinner of our trip at the Cucina del Garga.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank briglv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My son and I thoroughly enjoyed our experience at the Palazzo. Even though the facility was nearly 3/4 full, we were upgraded from a standard double to the Empire Suite. it was an enormous set of rooms with a gorgeous bathroom and three windows as tall as the 20-foot ceiling looking right out onto the Duomo. The breakfast was elegant and delicious and the tea service available for guests in the evening just hit the spot. The desk staff was extemely helpful printing train tickets for us on the morning of our departure, even when there was trouble with the jump drive. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The Palazo Niccolini is the epitome of a perfect Florence experience. Everything from the rooms and breakfast lounge to even the stairway is splendour. Don't worry there is a lift! But if you are like us and want to experience this accommodation for what it is you will use the stairs (at least to go down! It's only a couple of levels) The frescos and size of the rooms are amazing. The bathroom - magnificent and everything is clean and comfortable. We were very fortunate to be upgraded to a suite, wow! Every staff member was lovely and very happy to help with our every need. Dinner - booked, reservations for entrance into attractions - done! It was very hot in Italy during our visit but at Palazo Niccolini the air conditioning was heaven. The location is perfect, a hop skip and a jump from the Duomo (which is great for finding your way back after venturing out because it stands so high above the rest of the buildings!) and close to the main attractions such as Michelangelo's David and Botticelli's Venus. There are plenty of cafes and shops nearby but once you are inside this palace it feels like you are a world away it's just so peaceful!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pyrlgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#4 of 411 in Florence
531 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 411 in Florence
2,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#23 of 411 in Florence
989 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
JK Place Firenze
JK Place Firenze
#15 of 411 in Florence
641 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#62 of 411 in Florence
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo

Address: Via Dei Servi 2, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 655 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $208 - $729 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and beautifully decorated rooms set in a grand, ancient house that has the uniqueness of a private aristocratic residence.Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo is located in the heart of historical Florence, 30 mt. away from the Cathedral, in the centre of the shopping area and at walking distance from the main monuments and museums. It’s origins date back to the 14th century. The great sculptor Donatello (15th century) had his workshop here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Niccolini al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Niccolini Al Duomo Hotel Florence
Palazzo Niccolini Al Duomo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing