We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, central and friendly.”
Review of Hotel Globus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Globus
Ranked #52 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2009

I couldn't have asked for more. Most importantly, as a solo female traveler, the staff was incredibly helpful and the hotel was very safe. The rooms were clean and aesthetic, although fairly bare and small. I overlooked a church, and was awoken to the wonderful sound of church bells in the morning. Also, as opposed to some places, the breakfast was plentiful.

The staff was great! I ate stupendously well in Florence, largely thanks to insider recommendations from the front desk staff.

I would definitely stay at Hotel Globus, again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leobloomed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,249)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Globus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

690 - 696 of 1,249 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2009

We stayed at the Globus Hotel in Florence from May 10-13, and I have no complaints. It was a fantastic stay.

The hotel is perfectly located. We took the train in from Rome. The hotel was a short walk from the train station (maybe 2 or 3 short blocks). We were able to walk to the hotel with our three bags without breaking a sweat. And the hotel is just far enough away from the train station so that you don't feel like you're staying in the train station area. All the major Florence sites are located a short walk away from the hotel. While walking around Florence, we used the Duomo as a landmark to find our way back to the hotel.

The staff was friendly, professional and accomodating. They did not have our room available for the 3 consecutive nights. So they offered to move us to a bigger room for our third night (with no extra charge, of course). To make this as smooth as possible, they helped us move all of our stuff from our first room to our second room while we were out during the day. And most impressive -- they even moved a bottle of water we had left in our first room!

Breakfast was great. Cold cuts, pastries, bread, etc. -- and a pot of coffee. That's all you really need.

Great stay -- would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

Just spent 3 nights in Florence at The Globus Hotel. Perfect location! Excellent attentive staff from the front desk to the gentleman in charge of the included breakfast each morning. Globus is spotlessly clean, quiet with nice decor. They provide free Wi-Fi internet service and air conditioning - unheard off! When I had to leave my bags overnight at the train station they offered to keep the bags at the hotel - at no charge! Now that's service! I should have stayed at the Globus instead of moving to the Athena (4*!?) in Siena the next week. The Athena was noisey (I felt like I was sleeping on a race track), fumes from the street also and they refused to turn on the A/C with 27C heat. Front desk missed 3 of my 5 wake up calls. Charge for WiFi. Bad food. Bad service.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitstownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

Excellent location 5-min walk from central train station and within blocks of the main sites. Friendly, attentive service, especially as we checked in at 1 AM after bus from Pisa. Stayed two nights in May, very comfortable weather in the 70s. Breakfast consisted of rolls, meats, cheeses, and cereal, exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajrcpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

If you want a comfortable,clean,well located hotel you should consider the Hotel Globus. We chose it because of its closeness to the train station and on the basis on previous reports. The room was small but well equipped with excellent air conditioning.Breakfast was excellent .Staff are very friendly and helpful especially the lady on reception. The reception is on the first floor and cases have to be carried up as the lift starts at the first floor. This could be a problem for some. The hotel is very good value for money.We paid 135 euro for a double room with breakfast and will certainly be back

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2009

We were here for a week and loved the hotel! The breakfast was good, the staff was helpful, and the location was excellent. The room was very small, but we were not in the room much so did not care. The price was excellent compared to other hotels we looked at, we were very pleased with our stay. Our friends stayed there this last fall, and were very happy with their stay as well.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wafs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

We've been to Florence a couple of times before but we always decided to stay at a differet hotel, just to try what's out there. This was the first time at Globus and boy, what a great choice! I have to say that for this price (they have some special rates depending on the season and the length of your stay) we couldn't get any better. It's very central, 5 minutes from the central train station which is important if you're travelling by train. Also, the main sightseeing points are just few minutes away from the hotel. We found it without a problem, it's easy if you follow their indications. First you have to climb some stairs to get to the reception but it's not a great obstacle given that the staff happily offers to help you. Yeah, that's the second biiiig plus, the staff is always very friendly and smiling, they offer you help with almost everything, from museum bookings to restaurant suggestions. As for the food, you'll find the so called mercato nearby where you can purchase a variety of local food and specialties (we did so and it's mindblowing!). The room we stayed in was very clean and cosy, we chose a superior double and we were happy about the choice, it was quite spacious. They told us that some of them even have a nice view over a nearby church and chapels, unfortunately they were already booked. The bathroom was also quite modern and definately clean. That's another great plus, you can really see that the room service/ maids work hard to make it that way. Also, they have a free wi-fi internet access in all the hotel which is an amaizing perk in my opinion. Concluding, we had a wonderful stay there at Globus and we'll be definately returning there on our next trip to Italy. Keep up the good work Globus!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#59 of 411 in Florence
502 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#36 of 411 in Florence
1,789 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#54 of 411 in Florence
801 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#67 of 411 in Florence
559 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#42 of 411 in Florence
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Globus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Globus

Address: Via Sant'Antonino 24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#104 Business Hotel in Florence
#119 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#121 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $132 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Globus 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Globus was completely renovated in June 2016. The new reception area, located on the street level of Via Sant'Antonino, is now connected to all rooms thanks to our new elevator. The new breakfast area overlooks a small courtyard with a nice vertical garden. Our staff is a mixture of all ages, languages, cultures and countries, always smiling and willing to offer you tips on places to visit, restaurants to try. They're always there for you. For what regards our location, it is definitely one of the key features of Globus. The proximity to all the Santa Maria Novella train station and all main attractions, including the Duomo, both major museums (Uffizi and Accademia Galleries) or Ponte Vecchio, among others, makes it very easy to plan even the busiest day without the need to lose time getting from the hotel to your desired location. What makes our neighbourhood special though is definitely the Mercato Centrale, located just around the corner from here. In the morning, that is where you want to go if you're planning to buy some food to take back home, or simply want to try the famous Tuscan specialties, "trippa" and "lampredotto". Where this place shines though is the 1st floor, open from 10am until midnight. It's a big, modern open space with many restaurants, serving a variety of really delicious food. Make sure to check it out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Nozio Netplan srl, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Globus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globus Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing