We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, breakfast and staff brilliant.”
Review of Hotel Globus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Globus
Ranked #60 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Miners rest
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Location, breakfast and staff brilliant.”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

No views but location is so central to everything, breakfast was plentiful and staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room was fantastic with a terrific bathroom. I really would not stay anywhere else as it is a great home base for a busy tourist.

Room Tip: I think we must've been in a disabled room as the bathroom was enormous and very well equipped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugemongrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    428
    105
    54
    12
See reviews for
212
497
99
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Loved the hotel and the location. The people were amazing and helpful. It's pretty tight quarters and not much of a view from the room, but super clean and updated. The breakfast was quite nice. We had fruit, yogurt, a choice of cereals and the usual meat, cheese and bread selection. Plus my green tea! Truly a great place for a great price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etobicokefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location just a few blocks from the train station. The staff was extremely friendly and the room was clean. There is a small breakfast served in the morning. It isn't much but it is enough. Overall an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kawai G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I was shocked at how nice this room was. I was expecting much less considering the excellent price. It was clean and comfortable and the staff was really, really friendly and welcoming. I would definitely recommend this place and will plan to stay here next time I'm in Florence.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jjbean4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

So all Florence is at a walking distance from all the main attractions. Hotel Globus is located at 5mins walk from the Firenze Santa Maria Novella train station. Great location to go catch buses at the station, for instance to go to the Piazza Michelangelo, Pitti Palace or Boboli Gardens. The room was really small though, just enough space to walk around the room, lay down, and that's it. Bathroom was really small also, I guess it was barely 1x1 size. It is located next to the central market, making it great for buying souvenirs and leather bags, belts, shoes, etc. One other thing that caught our attention is that it was surrounded by chinese stores and restaurants, almost like a mini china town going on that street. Breakfast area is really small, so make sure to get there either earlier or later. The hotel is located at the second floor onwards, the elevator is really scary, because it's one of those like temporary elevators? I don't know.. it's like 1X1 also really small and when you hop on, it even sinks a bit, not for me. Apart from that, the staff was incredibly friendly, I didn't catch his name, but this guy from Poland was really helpful and provided us all the information we needed to tour around Florence. We didn't have a fantastic view from the window, we were looking at the back patio, but again, when you travel is not for staying at the hotel but to go out ant get to know the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower room in case you don't want to use the elevator or climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vmeyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
543 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We were not disappointed by Hotel Globus - the location is excellent and we had a large room (it was actually two rooms plus a bathroom) for four people. There was a very large double bed in the main room, and two twin beds in a smaller room which was separated by a door between the main room and the bathroom. Perfect for our two young kids to go to bed early and then we could stay up and talk or watch TV. The breakfast was nice but the breakfast room is a little small and if everyone comes at once then you have to wait. A nice touch is that the hotel sets out a complimentary evening aperitif with some light snacks which is nice before heading out to dinner. Also nice is that we could use the breakfast room to eat lunch - we bought sandwiches a couple times as a break from restaurant dining for lunch and it was nice to have a table to eat at.

Can't say enough about the staff - everyone was very helpful and kind, wonderful with our kids, and also made excellent restaurant recommendations. My only quibble is that the wifi was very spotty and we did not have good luck connecting. Some days we would get kicked off repeatedly and others we couldn't get on at all. There was a computer in the lobby available to use and it was almost always free so between the wifi and the computer I could meet my needs but it was a bit annoying. That's the only reason I didn't give five stars though - we loved it and would stay again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LivingInWien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Wow, what a steal. 5 minute walk from the train station. Great location, extremely friendly and helpful staff. Clean rooms and bathrooms, comfortable beds. Can easily walk to all the attractions in Florence. Street is very quiet at night. Lots of great restaurants (especially Guido's which was recommended by the staff) and gellaterias in the area, as well as a market. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank Duran K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#57 of 411 in Florence
494 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#63 of 411 in Florence
532 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#56 of 411 in Florence
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#70 of 411 in Florence
1,615 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#46 of 411 in Florence
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Globus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Globus

Property: Hotel Globus
Address: Via Sant'Antonino 24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#104 Business Hotel in Florence
#119 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#121 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Globus 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Globus was completely renovated in June 2016. The new reception area, located on the street level of Via Sant'Antonino, is now connected to all rooms thanks to our new elevator. The new breakfast area overlooks a small courtyard with a nice vertical garden. Our staff is a mixture of all ages, languages, cultures and countries, always smiling and willing to offer you tips on places to visit, restaurants to try. They're always there for you. For what regards our location, it is definitely one of the key features of Globus. The proximity to all the Santa Maria Novella train station and all main attractions, including the Duomo, both major museums (Uffizi and Accademia Galleries) or Ponte Vecchio, among others, makes it very easy to plan even the busiest day without the need to lose time getting from the hotel to your desired location. What makes our neighbourhood special though is definitely the Mercato Centrale, located just around the corner from here. In the morning, that is where you want to go if you're planning to buy some food to take back home, or simply want to try the famous Tuscan specialties, "trippa" and "lampredotto". Where this place shines though is the 1st floor, open from 10am until midnight. It's a big, modern open space with many restaurants, serving a variety of really delicious food. Make sure to check it out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Globus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globus Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing