We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Hotel Globus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Globus
Ranked #60 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

The room was quite small. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was a bit noisy in the morning. Ther was no elevator so we had to drag out luggage up and down four flights of stairs. The breakfast provided was good.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestReviewerPGV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeit, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Globus, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear HonestReviewerPGV,

Thank you very much for your stay and for your comment! Unfortunately it’s rather difficult now, but we would very much like to know your thoughts behind the “better than expected” opinion (as in what you were expecting to find before you checked-in and what convinced you that we are “better”). For us, understanding the expectations and needs of our future guests is essential, given that it can greatly help us improve what we do, which is of course not only to offer a place to sleep, but to make our guests feel at home.

Grazie mille for calling our staff “friendly and helpful”, it means very much for all of us! As for the room, having booked an Economy it’s understandable that it wasn’t very big. Maybe next time you can try one of our Standard or Superior rooms if they’re available. We’re also sorry about the morning noise you’ve mentioned, it was most probably due to the usual “morning rush” when guests check-out and carry their bags or just head down for breakfast.

All in all, we hope that you had a pleasant stay and that you will consider staying with us again during your future visits to Florence! Please take care.

Best regards,
Luca – Hotel Globus
Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    426
    105
    54
    12
See reviews for
205
491
99
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

best location and value for money. service went beyond expected. thanks to everyone including a special thanks lukasz at the desk for all the great recommendations and electric plug and to roberto for great breakfasts and the best hot chocolate ever. our room was kept very clean and had a great view of the bells (great to see and hear them ring), and dome. had the upgraded room so the computer was huge benefit. go to the free wine and cheese to meet other travelers. very quiet location and close to everything you need. only advice is to listen to the books that say 'dont drive in florence'!! take the train, and bus tours. getting lost in florence is not fun and very easy to do. even got lost leaving; so paid a taxi driver to get us to the highway signs. we spent a week here and would recommend it and will come back again but by train!!!

Room Tip: room 303 had a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeit, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Globus, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear susan155004,

Thank you so much for your splendid review! The comments like yours that say our service is “beyond expected” really boost our morale up. And I’m also personally glad that you’ve mentioned my name in it (it’s me, Luca/Lukasz)!

We are very happy that you were able to enjoy your Superior Room with all its benefits (bigger size, extra laptop, limited free beverages from the minibar), the cleanliness, breakfast and our front desk service. And by the way, I completely agree with what your book says – leave your car somewhere else and just take a train/bus to come to Florence! Really, driving in the city center is mostly prohibited or very confusing, and since everything major is located within walking distance from our Hotel. Still, if you decide to arrive by car, you can find a helpful map on our official website pointing you to our place. Plus, there are a few garages (extra charges apply) in our area where you can leave your car safely.

Once again, let us all thank you for your stay, hopefully it won’t be your last one!:)

Best regards,
Luca – Hotel Globus
Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel is a nice, well kept hotel. The breakfast buffet was nice with a good selection. The location was great for walking anywhere in Florence. The best thing about this hotel was the "happy hour" in the evenings with free snacks and drinks. This hotel had the best front desk staff of any hotel where we stayed in 3 weeks. Nick was so helpful! This hotel has the slowest elevator in all of Italy, so we just took the stairs. This was a great experience. This hotel does not have it's own parking, but there is a parking garage a block down the street at 26 euros per day. You are about 3 blocks from the train station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeit, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Globus, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear tagan,

Thank you very much for your stay and for your valuable contribution to the TripAdvisor community!

We’re very proud that you describe our staff as “the best front desk staff of any hotel where we stayed in 3 weeks”. It’s things like these that give us the energy to go on and to provide an even better service! It’s a pity though that you had to create a total contrast in the next sentence, saying that our elevator is “the slowest (…) in all of Italy”, which is very plausible by the way:) Unfortunately, there is not much we can do about it at the moment, given that, as you understand, we’re located in quite an old building which, despite the recent complete refurbishment, still has its limitations. Nevertheless, as soon as we can we will certainly do!

As for the garage, you’re right that we don’t have our own one, but as you correctly pointed our, there are a few very close to our location (ranging between 25-30E for 24h, depending on the size of your car).

Well, let us thank you again for the stay and for the great review! If you ever plan to be in Florence again you know where to find us!:)

Best regards,
Luca – Hotel Globus
Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife & I stayed in late August 2012. We thought Hotel Globus was a good location in Florence, w/ a decent breakfast buffet and a nice happy hour daily. Most of all we thought the service was fantastic by the front desk staff. In particular, Niccolo (spelling?) went over the top to make our stay enjoyable. He deserves a raise!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDAJ14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeit, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Globus, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear EDAJ14,

We’d like to thank you and your wife for staying with us and for writing your great review. It’s always important for us to read that we did a good job by providing good, if not great, service to our guests. And the guy that helped you is called Nicola, so you were very close with the spelling:)

Again, thank you very much and (hopefully) see you next time! Please take care.

Luca – Hotel Globus
Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I have just spent 3 fantastic nights in this lovely little hotel. Its location is perfect just minutes from the station, and most of the historic sites, markets, shopping areas and galleries. My room was small but very chic and modern with everything you could need for a short stay. It was comfortable, very clean (cleaned daily) and quiet, There was air con, free wi fi, in room safety deposit box, and a stocked fridge. Each night the hotel had a free happy hour with drinks and nibbles - a great way to meet other guests. Breakfast was good continental style fayre with lots to eat and attended by a great guy who made the coffee. The hotel has not got a restaurant but there are dozens of great bars, cafes, trattorias, pizzerias, geleto bars etc all on the doorstep. All the staff were exceptional, friendly, helpful and happy. They all seemed to love working there. Reception was staffed 24hrs per day.The only drawback was that the reception was on the first floor only accessible by a flight of stairs which might be a problem if you are infirm or not fit to climb. I loved the Globus and hope to go back some day!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulFM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeit, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Globus, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear PaulFM_12,

Grazie mille, we’re very happy that you were able to fully enjoy your stay at Globus and that you found time to write your review.

It’s great that you liked your room and appreciated the overall level of our service, our location, staff, breakfast and the happy hour. And talking about happy hour, you’re right that it gives you a great opportunity to meet and chat with other guests. I often see people, complete strangers, sipping wine together and exchanging experiences, tips and observations. In short, it’s a great extra service to offer!

Concluding, please let us thank you again for staying with us, we too hope to see you again some day!

Best regards,
Luca – Hotel Globus
Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa, HI
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed in this place last night for our 1 night side trip to Florence from Rome. We almost didn't because of the recent reviews. We are glad we ignored them and went with the high rating and good website. No decor? Are you kidding me? It's like the W in there. If you like contemporary decor you will like this place. Prices are good considering how weak the dollar is and how central the location is. Loud? You're in the main tourist area of a city. Bring ear plugs! People complaining about having to climb 1 flight of stairs. Jesus you aren't in Walmart. You are in an old city and it is amazing there is an elevator at all. The staff were great. The Wifi was spotty, sure, but we were at an end room so I'm sure like Wifi on every inch of the planet there are good and bad spots. You had to hold a button down to go up an elevator in an old building? Are you kidding me? Don't climb Il Duomo, no elevator at all!!!!!! We got a superior Triple room. The bed was beds put together but was King size and comfortable. I slept well. I loved the decor. I loved the location. The staff were all great. If you are a total ignoramus, please don't travel in Europe and definitely don't stay at this hotel. Just stay home and watch movies about it instead.

Room Tip: The triple superior room isn't much more, so just spring for that. Decent sized and nice big bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank punaRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeit, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Globus, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear punaRob,

I will be short – if there was a “review of the year” contest, yours would definitely win it! Seriously, thank you very very much for staying with us and let me tell you that travelling around the world with an attitude like yours is so much easier, bravo.

We really hope to be able to welcome you at Globus again to personally shake your hand, and until then please take care.

Best regards,
Luca – Hotel Globus
Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The room is a little bit small but modern, but the location is great, the staff is super friendly and helpful, the service is good, the breakfast is delicious! pretty worthy it!
but the stair is really killing me even only have one lugguge, but the staff did help me when i checked in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikitafaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeit, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Globus, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Nikitafaye,

Thank you very much for your stay and for your valuable comment. We’re really glad that you were able to enjoy what our Hotel has to offer.

For what regards the stairs, we understand that it may be a little off-putting having to climb them with a heavy suitcase. Fortunately, we are always there to help you as you noticed!

Again, we’re happy that we had a pleasure of having you as our guest and we hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Luca – Hotel Globus
Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#55 of 422 in Florence
486 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#63 of 422 in Florence
526 reviews
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#57 of 422 in Florence
788 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#66 of 422 in Florence
1,604 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#46 of 422 in Florence
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Globus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Globus

Property: Hotel Globus
Address: Via Sant'Antonino 24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#104 Business Hotel in Florence
#119 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#121 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Globus 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Globus was completely renovated in June 2016. The new reception area, located on the street level of Via Sant'Antonino, is now connected to all rooms thanks to our new elevator. The new breakfast area overlooks a small courtyard with a nice vertical garden. Our staff is a mixture of all ages, languages, cultures and countries, always smiling and willing to offer you tips on places to visit, restaurants to try. They're always there for you. For what regards our location, it is definitely one of the key features of Globus. The proximity to all the Santa Maria Novella train station and all main attractions, including the Duomo, both major museums (Uffizi and Accademia Galleries) or Ponte Vecchio, among others, makes it very easy to plan even the busiest day without the need to lose time getting from the hotel to your desired location. What makes our neighbourhood special though is definitely the Mercato Centrale, located just around the corner from here. In the morning, that is where you want to go if you're planning to buy some food to take back home, or simply want to try the famous Tuscan specialties, "trippa" and "lampredotto". Where this place shines though is the 1st floor, open from 10am until midnight. It's a big, modern open space with many restaurants, serving a variety of really delicious food. Make sure to check it out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Globus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globus Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing