We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Globus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Globus
Ranked #64 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

I chose this hotel for the short walk to the train as we went in and out of Florence 3 times...so 3 different rooms! The first was a double...small room and small bath. This was not a surprise for Europe. The next stop in was for 4 nights and we had a triple room. Very good size room and bath with a view of the Medici Chapel domes right outside the window. The last stop in was also a triple. Same size room just on the second floor. The rooms were clean, plenty of outlets, wi-fi in room, air conditioning was great. The beds were very comfortable as well! They let us leave luggage at the hotel for our two trips to other cities. That was wonderful as we only had to take one piece with us. The staff were all absolutely amazing. Sooo friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fine too with the basic European fare. I loved that the blocks and blocks of markets were 1 block away. Everything was within walking distance and we saw it all. You do have to get up 2 flights of stairs to get to the lobby. They will help you if needed. Then there is a lift. We just walked up all the time as there are only 2 floors with rooms. I would definitely stay there if I ever make it back to Florence!

Room Tip: Even if there are only 2 of you traveling....consider getting a triple room just for the extra space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Globus, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Reena F,

Great review, thank you very much! You can get a feel from what you wrote that you were able to fully enjoy and appreciate what Globus really is, having basically stayed here 3 times, even though it was one stay after another. Still, you got to see three different rooms, which makes what you wrote about their cleanness and standards even more important!

We are also glad that our position made it easier for you to explore the city and the nearby markets. That really helps, especially if one doesn’t have time to waste for using public transportation or taxis to even get to the city center.

And last but not least, let us all thank you very much for your kind words and compliments about the staff. We always try to do our best to make you feel at home!

Let me thank you again for your review and for your stays, we’re certainly keeping our fingers crossed so you can visit Firenze again!

All the best,
Luca – Hotel Globus
Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    413
    104
    53
    12
See reviews for
193
475
96
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

OK, first the bad news: The rooms were small (except for the superior room, which was perfectly OK) and a bit smelly, the breakfast room was unbelievably small and the road (Via San Antonino) was... let's just say it wasn't the coolest road on Firenze.
But: This hotel kinda grows on you. The people that work there are among the nicest people to ever encounter while on a trip. The location is excellent (10 minutes of REALLY slow walk to the Duomo), the breakfast was perfectly acceptable (if you could forget the fact that you were eating it while standing about 3 inches away from a complete stranger), the rooms were clean and cozy.
Would I recommend it? If you are on a budget, you couldn't go wrong with Globus Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank makis_k_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Globus, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear makis_k_1971,

Thank you very much for your review and for staying with us the last month!

We really appreciate the fact that even though you found your room on the smaller side (although you saw for yourself that we have different room types in different sizes) and our neighbourhood didn’t attract you much, you still wrote that we were able to turn your experience into a very positive one with our service! Kudos for your big compliment about us staff!:)

As for the breakfast room we do realize that it is small, but we try our best (especially Roberto, the breakfast guy) to make everything “flow” smoothly so no one has to wait for a table or feel uncomfortable while eating.

OK, let me personally thank you again in the name of all our staff, if you come to Florence again and would like to stay with us we will be right where we are!

Best regards,
Luca – Hotel Globus
Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Short walk from the train station. Nice happy hour and decentbreakfast. Good coffee. Small rooms but nice and clean. Helpful staff.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michie626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Globus, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Michie626,

Thank you so much for your feedback and for your recent stay at Globus!

We’re very thankful that you appreciated our “core” services like breakfast, happy hour, cleanness and helpful staff.

Until next time, take care and thank you again!

Best regards,
Luca – Hotel Globus
Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Location is great! Near the train station (approx 5 minutes’ walk with luggage). The superior room was spacious and clean; breakfast was pretty standard with toast, croissants, ham, cheese, cereals, juices, milk, coffee etc. They also offer free-flow of wine and cheese during happy hour daily (6.30pm-7.30pm). Appreciate the hotel's assistance to pre-book our visit to one of the museums. Free WIFI was good but the connectivity could be enhanced.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blessguo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Globus, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear blessguo,

Let us thank you very much for your contribution! We’re so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend us to others, it really means a lot.

It’s also great that you appreciated our service, especially the breakfast and the happy our, and that you had a chance to stay in one of our Superior rooms. They’re definitely a good choice for people that are willing to spend some more and would like to have that extra space that sometimes makes a difference.

Well, hopefully we will see you again in Globus one day, until then please take care!

Best regards,
Luca – Hotel Globus
Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

The hotel is only a short walk from the train station and is a great location.

Rooms were clean and staff were really friendly.

Try the Italian Pizzeria next door, really good prices and great pizza!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozza2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Globus, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Lozza2101,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your kind words, we really appreciate it!

Hoping to have you among our guests in the future we send you our best regards.

Luca – Hotel Globus
Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

This was a great base for our couple of days in Florence. It is an easy walk from the train station and right near some of the great Florence attractions. The street markets are just down the road. We had some great restaurant recommendations from the friendly staff and the hotel breakfast is very Italian and very good. My wife and I were a little cramped in the room but all the amenities and bathroom were very new and tastefully decorated. The bed was comfortable too.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Braedz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeit, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Globus, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Braedz,

We would like to thank you for your fantastic comment and a great contribution to the whole TripAdvisor community!

We’re really glad that you were able to enjoy our breakfast (a rich buffet to help you start your day), our staff’s kindness, our proximity to most of the tourist sites and of course your room.

We’re definitely looking forward to welcoming you in Florence on another occasion, please take care!

Best regards,
Luca – Hotel Globus
Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at the Globus. Staff was very freindly and helped us with our luggage up and down the steps. Breakfast was a great way to start the day. The room was large enough for the three of us and the bathroom was huge in European standards. Would stay again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeit, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Globus, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Wayne_S,

Thank you very much for all your kind words, we’re very happy that you had the occasion to visit Florence and to stay in our Hotel. It’s a great feeling that we were able to contribute to your vacation with our service and friendliness.

We’re really looking forward to your next stay, hopefully there will be one:) Until then please accept our best regards.

Luca – Hotel Globus
Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#51 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#58 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#70 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#45 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#43 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
San Lorenzo
Mercure Firenze Centro
Mercure Firenze Centro
#86 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Globus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Globus

Property: Hotel Globus
Address: Via Sant'Antonino, 24, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#103 Business Hotel in Florence
#119 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#121 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Globus 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Globus was completely renovated in June 2016. The new reception area, located on the street level of Via Sant'Antonino, is now connected to all rooms thanks to our new elevator. The new breakfast area overlooks a small courtyard with a nice vertical garden. Our staff is a mixture of all ages, languages, cultures and countries, always smiling and willing to offer you tips on places to visit, restaurants to try. They're always there for you. For what regards our location, it is definitely one of the key features of Globus. The proximity to all the Santa Maria Novella train station and all main attractions, including the Duomo, both major museums (Uffizi and Accademia Galleries) or Ponte Vecchio, among others, makes it very easy to plan even the busiest day without the need to lose time getting from the hotel to your desired location. What makes our neighbourhood special though is definitely the Mercato Centrale, located just around the corner from here. In the morning, that is where you want to go if you're planning to buy some food to take back home, or simply want to try the famous Tuscan specialties, "trippa" and "lampredotto". Where this place shines though is the 1st floor, open from 10am until midnight. It's a big, modern open space with many restaurants, serving a variety of really delicious food. Make sure to check it out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Globus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globus Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing