We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Colomba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Colomba
Ranked #65 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I would like to endorse all the fantastic reviews that are on this website and cannot believe any of the bad ones about this hotel. Roseanna and Sabina made our stay in Florence so much more enjoyable through their friendliness, helpfulness and the wonderful breakfasts.( I mustn't forget to mention the lovely cappuccino coffee that they kept on tap for my husband!!!) There was always someone available at the front desk. The rooms and breakfast area are kept very clean. The air conditioning was very efficient and so welcome! The location is excellent, near to all the major attractions and not far from the train station. It is very unusual to find such a little gem in a city that is very expensive! I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room at the side of the breakfast area was spacious with a lovely sized bed and was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coolcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    334
    77
    18
    5
See reviews for
325
470
35
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
orlando
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

First off beware if you are using the tripadvisor app, they have the address and the phone numbers wrong. It was quite scary for us. The Hotel though is on the second floor to the Davinci museum and it a great location. The owners spoke great english and were super nice. They take pride in their small quaint hotel and you can see that. Breakfast was the best we had in all of Italy. Great cappuccinos! The wifi worked great as did the satellite tv. Our room was big and accommodated our family of four well. The elevator coming up was probably the smallest elevator I have ever seen in my life and was slower than walking up normally- we raced it up every night with our kids. I felt safe and at home. This is much more like a BandB then a hotel. I loved it and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maltacanadausa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was actually the best hotel during our 2 weeks trip in Italy. A large triple room with air conditioning (working well), great breakfast with cereals, fresh fruit, fresh bread and a lot of choice every day. We loved the cappuccino and pastries too!!!!

The room was absolutely clean, and every day we had clean towels! There is always someone ready to answer to all questions at any time, informations, suggestions about great restaurants and places to eat! Sabina and Rosanna have great tips for museums and day trips!!

I would certainly recommend Hotel Colomba to all my friends!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giusy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel (I wouldn't even call it a hotel) was the worst hotel I've ever stayed at honestly. I don't know why everyone wrote good reviews about this place. The hotel room was dirty. The pillows and mattresses were rock hard and I asked for an extra pillow and the old guy at the front desk didn't give it to me he pulled out one from the dirty pillow sheet I had on my so called bed. I was staying at Florence for 3 nights but from this hotel I had to leave it was like prison. So I went to Rome one day earlier. Pathetic! Worst hotel ever I definitely wouldn't reccomend
this place!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Britneyyyx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colomba, Owner at Hotel Colomba, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
I am at a loss for words! It is a shame that you did not bother to speak with us, but preferred to slander us, anonymously, I wonder why your family chose to stay here in the first place! The beds are generally considered very comfortable. On the beds we provide 2 pillows, one softer and one a little firmer, one is on the bed and the other is in the decorative cover with white pillow cases, ready to use. Now the pillow case may have been creased, but I do not accept that it was dirty. On your second day, we were asked not to enter the room for the cleaning, so in respect of your privacy we did not.
The reference to a prison, I find extremely offensive. Perhaps a little more effort could have been spent on the choice of words, I guess that it is no longer fashionable to be able to express oneself well. Sometimes it is difficult to reconcile a 'champagne taste on a beer budget' if you make a different choice in life , why accuse/slander someone else?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just returned from our trip to Italy and our stay at Hotel Colomba was the best. The hotel is located on the second floor of a period building. It felt strange, a little scary but once we walked in the recption all our worries vanished. We were welcomed by a charming lady, Roseanna the owner. We had a quadruple room. The room was spacious by european standards, the beds were very confortable and it had air conditionning. The bathroom is on the smaller side, but it did not bother us since none of us spends hours in it. The continental breakfast is excellent, lot of choice and the best is the fresh coffee , capuccino by the cup. The dining room is also a bar in the evening so you can get drinks. The staff and owners were very attentive to our needs. Will definately stay again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamal c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. Again it didn't disappoint. It has a great location, 500 yards from the Doumo. Do not be put off by appearances. The hotel is on the 2nd floor above a museum. Once in the hotel you are treated very well by Roseanne and her staff. The hotel is very clean and breakfasts are excellent. We will return for another wedding anniversary in this beautiful city.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank normanNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. It was very clean and the service was very good. Everyone was really helpful and nice. The facility is modest, but serves your needs assuming your goal is to get out and see the city! There are books left there by other travelers if you need to grab one.

Observing we had purchased a bottle of wine, the cleaning staff left us wine glasses without being asked. They also replaced the towels. The satellite tv was very good...the best we have had during our 1 month trip. We would come back here again!

We had the handicap room which was larger than average (based on me poking my nose in some empty rooms). The shower did spray on the floor, though, so things did get a bit damp in the bathroom. The fan dried it out eventually.

The building lift was small and the doors will crush you if you push the floor button too quickly (sorry honey!), and the grates and the stair are dirty, but that is the issue of 1) Florence and 2) the building landlord.

There are multiple small hotels in the building. As this is a three star hotel it isn't very glamorous, but it is clean and pleasant and well run. We would stay here again!

Room Tip: The handicap room seemed larger than others, with a large bathroom, but the shower did seem to get m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smiledoctorsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#79 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#31 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#59 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#41 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#51 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colomba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colomba

Property: Hotel Colomba
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 21, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#45 Family Hotel in Florence
#65 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#73 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colomba 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colomba prefers the familiar look and aims to make travelers feel at home. The hotel staff is well prepared and ready to respond to all the needs of travelers. Located in a central area of Florence, this hotel is also famous for its cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Colomba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colomba Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing