We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Colomba

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Colomba
Ranked #60 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
n ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. Again it didn't disappoint. It has a great location, 500 yards from the Doumo. Do not be put off by appearances. The hotel is on the 2nd floor above a museum. Once in the hotel you are treated very well by Roseanne and her staff. The hotel is very clean and breakfasts are excellent. We will return for another wedding anniversary in this beautiful city.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank normanNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    309
    71
    16
    5
See reviews for
306
436
33
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. It was very clean and the service was very good. Everyone was really helpful and nice. The facility is modest, but serves your needs assuming your goal is to get out and see the city! There are books left there by other travelers if you need to grab one.

Observing we had purchased a bottle of wine, the cleaning staff left us wine glasses without being asked. They also replaced the towels. The satellite tv was very good...the best we have had during our 1 month trip. We would come back here again!

We had the handicap room which was larger than average (based on me poking my nose in some empty rooms). The shower did spray on the floor, though, so things did get a bit damp in the bathroom. The fan dried it out eventually.

The building lift was small and the doors will crush you if you push the floor button too quickly (sorry honey!), and the grates and the stair are dirty, but that is the issue of 1) Florence and 2) the building landlord.

There are multiple small hotels in the building. As this is a three star hotel it isn't very glamorous, but it is clean and pleasant and well run. We would stay here again!

Room Tip: The handicap room seemed larger than others, with a large bathroom, but the shower did seem to get m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smiledoctorsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

An extremely friendly, family-run hotel, within easy strolling distance of the historic centre of Florence.
Spotlessly clean and the towels were changed every day.
Our room was spacious and comfortable with effective and quiet air conditioning.
The mini bar was well-stocked and very reasonably priced
Breakfast was the standard continental, with delicious coffee.
Down sides are the rather small lift or the long climb up two flights of stairs, and the erratic wi-fi.
Come here for the warm welcome, the helpfulness and the fact that you can pop back for a siesta in the afternoon, so you are recharged for the balmy Florentine evenings.
Don't forget to visit the market just round the corner. There are lovely restaurants at the edge of the leafy market square

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santos
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

A small hotel but a very nice staff. The room has a good space and the bathroom is good. It is near the "Duomo" and other interesting places, including the train station (Santa Maria Novella).
There is a free wi-fi internet (could be faster), a good breakfast. I certanly would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the back rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JENSantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Florence itself is a beautiful city. I personally find this place better than canal-after-canal Venice. Staying at Hotel Colomba just adds to the special experience. Rossana was ever so helpful and responsive to all of my many emails prior to arrival. Sabina was also very nice and helpful - she would always be strict and judgemental of me (and super nice to my wife!) but it was all in good fun as she was always very willingly helpful also.
The lift is reaaaally small but hey, it came with the building which itself is pretty old and quaint so nothing to complain about really. Location is excellent. less than 10min walk from the Firenze SM Novella station, and quite literally on the northen edge of the busier, noisier central area. All the sights and attractions (except Michaelangelo's lookout.. which is far from everywhere really) are easily within walking distance.
What's so unique abt this hotel also is their towels.. don't let the appearance (like a serviette and as thin) fool you.. it's actually excellent at absorbing water!
They were lovely and kind enough to offer us the room upstairs, which was huge and had a nice open view.
Breakfast: food was quite gd - the works of pastry, nutella, cereal, fruits, and cold cuts. What helped lots was the freshly brewed coffee to order. Cappucino, latte, hot chocolate.. nice.
Stayed from 07-11 May'13, when the weather was a perfect 16-21 deg C.

Room Tip: Room on the top floor is spacious and has a nice open view unobstructed by walls/other rooftops. How...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Sabina and Rosanna made our stay a perfect one in Florence. This hotel is located near all the sites you would want to see in Florence. The hotel was comfortable, but the service was over the top. The staff could not have been more helpful from restaurant recommendations to the best sites to see. When we return to Florence we will definitely stay here again! Thank you Sabina for being so helpful!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here with a friend for three nights on our first visit to Florence. The hotel is in an excellent location on Via Cavour, less than a 10-minute walk from the main train station Santa Maria Novella and all the main attractions are literally in a straight line down the street from the hotel. It is on the 2nd floor of a large building which is a little old.
The owner Rosanna greeted us at Reception and very kindly provided us with a map of Florence and marked out the hotel and any major attractions which was a great help. The room itself was bigger and better than expected although the bathroom itself is a little small. The beds were very comfortable and the aircon is a must especially as the temperature was well in thirties the first few days. The bathroom could however have been kept clearer by room service on our visit and there is a distinct lack of electrical sockets as well (we eventually found two after much searching). Although our room faced onto the street, the windows were double-glazing so the nights were pretty quiet although we were also directly facing Reception so there was some noise as people came in late at night.
Breakfast is included in the price which I found a standard but decent continental fare including cereal, pastries, fruit and choice of hot drink. A good way to start the day. Wi-Fi is also included although you will need to ask at Reception each time for a new username and password as they expire after an hour or so.
All in all, this is a good hotel for those who are spending their days and evenings out seeing the sights of Florence rather than sitting in a hotel and for that reason, is good value and centrally placed. A few small improvements would have made this a 5-star review.

Room Tip: Although it wasn't a huge issue, my room (No.1) directly faced Reception which can sometimes be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krees82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Florence Dome Hotel
Florence Dome Hotel
#74 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#33 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#44 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#54 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#42 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colomba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colomba

Property: Hotel Colomba
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 21, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Florence
#65 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#73 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colomba 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colomba prefers the familiar look and aims to make travelers feel at home. The hotel staff is well prepared and ready to respond to all the needs of travelers. Located in a central area of Florence, this hotel is also famous for its cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Colomba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colomba Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing