We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A memorable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Panama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Panama
Ranked #237 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A memorable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for five nights during a very hot spell in Florence. It is located on the fringes of the centre, about fifteen minute walk from the main train station and attractions. The hotel needs some attention - it looks like the basic decoration - paint/wallpapering hasn't happened for a bit too long - this is an easy fix but it didn't bother us unduly. The room was great, spacious with good air con. Best of all free wifi - everywhere. The bed was firm and comfortable. The breakfast was on the basic side but the coffee was gorgeous. Perhaps better bread for toasting other than white would be welcome. Staff very friendly and welcoming. We would definitely come again.

Room Tip: Room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    170
    53
    15
    12
See reviews for
43
195
43
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is a lovely little hotel in Florence. I stayed here when I visited Florence for a conference at Firenze Fiera, and was within a 15 min walk of the conference. The staff were very friendly and very helpful, and the single room was small, but bigger than I expected and had everything I needed for my stay. It is 20 minutes walk from the station and 30 minute walk from the city attractions, but I would defiantly go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of our honeymoon trip of Italy for 3 nights and thought it was excellent. The staff were very helpful, on check in we received a free map of Florence. And were told about all of the attractions. The hotel was very clean and maintained and it felt that someone was putting alto of love and effort into running it. The location was great for us, around 5-10min walk to the train station and middle of town. Really can't fault this place at all and can't wait to return. Book the hotel panama and u will not be disappointed

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mJamesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

I booked this expecting more than what we got based on the star rating from trip advisor and the amount we paid. The hotel is a good 20 minutes walk from the main attractions. We had a room facing the back carpark with a balcony which was nice. We had one big bedroom and a small sitting area that our boys slept in, in a fold out chair. The bed was a very thin, rickety mattress which I would not recommend for an adult to sleep on though our boys seemed to sleep ok. It was very hot but we were told the a/c isn't allowed to be used until June. The breakfast was basic, yoghurt, few slices of meat and cheese and some bread. There were a few broken things in the room that needed fixing and the wallpaper was peeling off the wall in places. This place may have once been lovely but its beauty has definitely faded. I would hope there are better places out there for the money we spent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

I am generally not very fussy when it comes to lodging while travelling. But when all of the following happened at the same time and place, I am really compelled to write this negative review:
1. Noisy air conditioner.
2. Noisy environment. Every night I could hear cars driving past the hotel, and inconsiderate guests allowing the door to slam shut. The latter of course was not the hotel's fault, but it also reflects the poor soundproofing and partition of the rooms.
2. Certain area of the room had ants crawling and mosquitoes were present in spite of a repellent.
3. Unstable WiFi.
4. Room and washroom were dimly lit. I couldn't put most of my toiletries on the washroom sink because it was slanted downward and they would fall into the sink. Some parts of the washroom would be flooded after taking a shower even though the shower cubicle was closed. I felt bad for the cleaning lady actually.
5. Breakfast: Toaster was not working, I had to toast the bread twice, and even so, the middle part of the bread was completely soft. And I thought the use of plastic cups was not very environmental friendly.

When I had wanted to inform the hotel staff of my dissatisfaction, before I could even finish item number one above, I was talked down like I was an idiot who did not know how to switch off the air conditioner. Perhaps the young chap had a rough day. The other staffs, however, were very friendly, especially Mr. Eigino Rossi.

So, in short, I was not expecting a Ritz Carlton quality and treatment, but if I do return to Florence, I would opt for another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yiklim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed for two nights recently May 2014. This hotel is centrally located and it is on the second floor. You need to use a small elevator to get your luggage up to the reception. We were given a room on the back, which was very quiet but too many mosquito's as we had the window open slightly for air overnight. We were biten alive. The room - well it was clean and the bathroom appeared to have been recently redone and new. Our room size was one of the smallest rooms we have ever seen. It was max. 10'x10' across with a large wardrobe, bar fridge, tv and a small table along the bed. The art work was very tacky looking and the soap dish in the bathroom was a plastic pop/soda bottle cut down to hold the soap? I am telling the truth! There was a shelf above the bar fridge which held the flat screen TV. The shelf legs were used coke cans. We accidently knocked it, and the can crushed sending the tv almost to the floor. We removed the shelf and just placed the TV on top of the bar fridge instead... The chandelier or light fixture over the bed was a prize too, It was made of plastic soda can holders all fuzzed together around a light bulb with plastic pieces hanging? OMG...for this money? mmmm? On other points the buffet was fine for breakfast. We were leaving early for a tour our first morning and the staff gave us a take out bag for breakfast which we appreciated. The hotel is centrally located and easy walking distance to town. The staff was very friendly and for two busy days, this was fine...maybe they will change out the soap dish and light fixture and shelving by then? LOL

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is quieter I believe
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neighbour_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

The bed was very poor. Moldy bed cover & too old blanket. And they never turned on the heating system while the temp went down under 10 degree Celsius at night (on May).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChoiKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#120 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#137 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#168 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#166 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#129 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Desiree
Hotel Desiree
#154 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panama

Property: Hotel Panama
Address: Via Venti Settembre 80, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Panama 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REALIZED IN A TYPICAL BUILDING OF THE EARLY 20TH CENTURY, CHARACTERIZED BY THE “HARD STONE” FAÇADE, THE HOTEL PANAMA HAS TWENTY REFINED AND SPACIOUS ROOMS, ELEGANTLY FURNISHED AND EQUIPPED WITH ALL THE MODERN COMFORTS, ESSENTIAL FOR A REFINED AND UNFORGETTABLE HOLIDAY OR SUITABLE WHEN FACING AN IMPORTANT BUSINESS MEETING.IN CLOSE PROXIMITY TO THE HOTEL PANAMA, ALONG THE WAY LEADING TO THE BUTTON HEART OF THE CITY, THERE ARE MANY TYPICAL RESTAURANTS AND CHARACTERISTIC BARS. THE CAR IS NO LONGER A PROBLEM, AS THE HOTEL ALSO OFFERS A PRIVATE AND SECURE PARKING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panama Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing