We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Friendly Staff”
Review of Hotel Panama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Panama
Ranked #248 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is outstanding because nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they didn't charge for little extras such as room service on small items. Located a short walk outside the city, it is ideal for first-time visitors like ourselves.
Parking is extra, just be aware.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mervynmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 424 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

This little hotel is situated just along the canal so it's a pretty location, but about a 20 minute walk from the train station and city centre. My room was a single room located right next to the hotel lobby; it was clean but quite small and the AC was definitely a blessing in the August heat. The staff were very friendly, I recommend it if you don't want a hotel in the centre.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here in June, we found the hotel to be small dark and dated and very very basic. Our room was beside reception and had a balcony adjoining the communal smoking area. On our second last night the air conditioning system was so noisy we complained to reception, we were offered another room but late at night and leaving a day later we declined. In the morning we spoke to the owners son on reception, he said the system would be fixed that day and rudely pointed out that we had been offered another room. We went to breakfast and returned to find the master key in our door and discovered the owners son had been in our room. We were stunned to discover that this man had been in our room and on being challenged informed us it was his hotel and he could enter our room if he wished. We were offered another room by this mans father but on our last day we didn't want the hassle of packing and moving and we just wanted to be out of the place.
The hotel is not close to the center, be prepared to walk, The breakfast is very basic and the noise generated by the barrista was very off putting, the courtyard is actually the guest parking area. We made the mistake of leaving our window open one night and paid the price in mosquito bites.On leaving we discovered that what we thought was a welcoming gift of wine was actually part of the mini bar for which we were charged. We really enjoyed Florence but we hated this hotel it is one of the worst places we have ever stayed in and was way below the standard of other Italian hotels we stayed in-avoid.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jack f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here three nights last September and although the owner etc were so nice the rooms are very dated and not so clean. It was really warm when we went (late September) and they had turned off all the air conditioning already which they did not state on their page when we booked. Not so close to the train station so we walked a long way with our luggage. It's a very small hotel but cheap so you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missy1marc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My family and I spent five nights at hotel panama a few days ago. While the manager was extremely helpful and kind to help us book tours and determine what sites to see, we found it very difficult to enjoy our stay due to the amount of insect bites that continue to appear on our bodies. We were placed in a ground floor room with terrible lighting, stained duvet covers and dirty walls (block splashes of goo everywhere). In addition, there were Mosquitos everywhere especially in the sheets of the large bed, all along the ceiling and in the bathroom. While there was a mosquito repellent machine it clearly did not work very well as the four of us received no sleep due to the constant bed bug bites. Every morning we woke to new bites on our body, and dead Mosquitos in the sheets. We asked the manager about this and he assured us the machine would solve the issue but what do you know, it DIDN'T WORK. In addition, the shower head was brown, moldy and rusty and the water that came out at first was a bit muddy looking. While breakfast was decent the woman who served it was extremely rude and grumpy. Not only did she always start breakfast late and shut it down early despite us still sitting in the booth, she rudely accused us of eating too much food! How ridiculous. Do not stay here, it ruined Florence for my family and I.

Room Tip: Do not stay on ground floor and make sure you bring calamine lotion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights in June. All of the staff were very friendly and certainly made us feel welcome. Our room was on the ground floor (downstairs from the reception). Free wifi, though at times slow was appreciated. We were initially uncertain about the room as it appeared to be right next to the breakfast area, and as breakfast was served from 7 we were concerned about noise. However double doors between the room and the breakfast area, plus a very sound proof room ensured that we both slept soundly until it was time to get up!

Very heavy duty curtains kept the room nice and dark and the air con worked perfectly (great news since Florence had a heatwave whilst we were there with temps hitting 39 degrees). Bedroom was clean and had a tv, mini bar, and an easy to use safe. Our room was a good size, with a comfy chair, a desk and chair and a really good sized bathroom. Plug sockets were 3 prong, reception leant us an adaptor for our stay. Breakfast had a help yourself range of cold meats, cheese, toast, rolls, cereals etc, and coffee tea and cold drinks, with a nice al fresco dining area in a quite courtyard.

When we arrived the lady at reception recommended a couple of places near by to eat, as it was quite late, Il Clarinetto was a great recommendation and we had a lovely meal. On departing the staff ordered us a taxi (which took less than 5 mins to arrive!). The only thing which was unexpected (and this could have been our own fault for not noticing) is that any payment needing to be made at the end of your stay (e.g. tourist tax, mini bar etc) must be paid in cash.

The hotel is probably around a 20 min stroll to the Duomo. This didn't bother us at all as we enjoyed the walk.

Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel :)

Perhaps my overall view of the hotel was slightly prejudiced since I got engaged whilst in Florence, and therefore floated around in happiness for quite a while :P

Room Tip: Try and get a room that faces into the courtyard away from the road :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KCabot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed in the hotel in June for two nights. the hotel is at a very decent location, just 10 min walk from city center. The hotel staff was helpful in planning our visits to all the tourist attractions. The rooms were very small and not very clean also. The bathroom was very tiny. The breakfast was also not up to the mark. The bread and fruits were stale and toaster was not working. I think the hotel rooms need renovation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gdude20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel La Fortezza
#64 of 409 in Florence
378 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#152 of 409 in Florence
319 reviews
Soggiorno Michelangelo
#285 of 409 in Florence
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Enza
Hotel Enza
#244 of 409 in Florence
312 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Monica
Hotel Monica
#241 of 409 in Florence
230 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Scoti
Hotel Scoti
#202 of 409 in Florence
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panama

Address: Via Venti Settembre 80, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $45 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Panama 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REALIZED IN A TYPICAL BUILDING OF THE EARLY 20TH CENTURY, CHARACTERIZED BY THE “HARD STONE” FAÇADE, THE HOTEL PANAMA HAS TWENTY REFINED AND SPACIOUS ROOMS, ELEGANTLY FURNISHED AND EQUIPPED WITH ALL THE MODERN COMFORTS, ESSENTIAL FOR A REFINED AND UNFORGETTABLE HOLIDAY OR SUITABLE WHEN FACING AN IMPORTANT BUSINESS MEETING.IN CLOSE PROXIMITY TO THE HOTEL PANAMA, ALONG THE WAY LEADING TO THE BUTTON HEART OF THE CITY, THERE ARE MANY TYPICAL RESTAURANTS AND CHARACTERISTIC BARS. THE CAR IS NO LONGER A PROBLEM, AS THE HOTEL ALSO OFFERS A PRIVATE AND SECURE PARKING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panama Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing