We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great hotel”
Review of Relais Cavalcanti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Relais Cavalcanti
Ranked #111 of 656 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here and wished it was longer. Our room was spacious and although they don't promise breakfast, there is always breakfast foodstuffs available, in fact it is there 24 hrs. How nice to be able to get a tea/coffee when you want one. In fact it is more like staying in a friends house than in a hotel. Francesca was "on duty" the week we were there and she is so helpful that we can't praise her enough. When we come back to F.orence we will definitely stay here. Thank you Francesca

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank footloose_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
There are newer reviews for Relais Cavalcanti
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 324 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel was perfect for our 3 night stay in Florence; located within walking distance to the train station and shopping area. The Duomo and all the museums are just around the corner. The hotel - taking up one floor of what seems to be a residential building (?) has a very home-y feel. We chose it based on the positive reviews and we were not disappointed.

The staff are not at the hotel all the time, however they are very willing to help, and if you notify them ahead of time they will do their best . Despite not serving breakfast the hotel has a 24/7 kitchen area with tea and sweets/snacks available. It has a very clean and cozy atmosphere, and it feels like you are visitng an Italian home. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelndle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

To echo other reviewers, this really was a perfect choice. With a wonderful location, lovely rooms and great service, Relais Cavalcanti felt like a home away from home! Francesca was extremely helpful before we even arrived, providing us with directions from Pisa airport and booking tickets for the Uffizi and Accademia (advance booking advisable if you want to avoid the queues, even during low season!). Restaurant recommendations were spot-on (Osteria Santo Spirito - great food and atmosphere) and countless other little touches made this a perfect weekend break. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lg_cdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had a great time here - the location is fantastic in a nice, safe part of the city and very close to major attractions. The staff are all very helpful and friendly. The only downside was the lack of any English television channels when we wanted some downtime, no big deal though.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CatherineWelham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Relais Cavalcanti is a 10/15 minute walk from the train station. It is located (left hand side) next to an Irish pub in Via Pellicceria. You press the Relais Cavalcanti bell button and the lovely Francesca will buzz the door open for you. A walk to the first floor is followed by a lift ride to the third floor.
My wife and I stayed there for 3 nights in October. The effervescent Francesca gave us a very warm and hospitable welcome. The bedroom and ensuite was spacious, spotless in appearance and had a nice view of the market place next door.(It close down about 7pm each night).Breakfast was self service in the common room---the normal Italian breakfast was on offer(coffee, cakes, bread, biscuits etc). As well there is a small lounge room near the front entrance. The location is brilliant--- don't even think about catching public transport or a taxi. It's all within a 5-15 minute walk of the B&B.
In summary Reais Cavalcanti was faultess in presentation, location and amenities. It was well priced at about 95 Euro per night. I would have no hesitation in staying there again on my next visit to Florence.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MickandKay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We spent the first three days of our two week Italy visit at Relais Cavalcanti, a third floor (4th floor american style) suite of lovely rooms in an ancient Florentine pallazo.. It met our requirements for location and price point and we chose it based on the nearly unanimously excellent reviews on TripAdvisor. The value was excellent, the location was excellent. Anna was lovely and helpful and kind. As was the young lady who checked us in and otherwise helped out. We unfortunately missed out on meeting Francesca, but I'll wager she was lovely helpful and kind as well.

The room was large, quiet, clean and serene. The mattress was extremely comfortable. The bath excellent. While no breakfast is provide (at least according to their overly-cautious description of their venue) you can, in a very nice common kitchen/dining area take your choice of coffee, tea, fresh fruits, assorted cakes, cereals, granolas, milk bread (with toaster and jams, jellies, Nutella, etc.) cookies, assorted pastries. In other word, if you want some one to cook you eggs and serve them to you, no dice. Otherwise it's an excellent substitute for breakfast. And it's free.

As all the reviews point out it is wonderfully located within easy walking distance of all the must see venues.

Firenze is a place that everyone should see. But this is not a review of Firenze, it's a review of Relais cavalcanti and Relais Cavalcanti is a truly wonderful place to see it from.

Lori and I will be back.


Tim & Lori H.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The rooms are beautifully furnished and clean, small fridge in each room with complementary water and coca cola, shared kitchen open all the time with fruit, bread, cakes, spreads, crackers, etc. all free of charge, small shared lounge area. Within walking distance to Duomo and Ufizzi. Anna and Francesca are two sisters who run the place - both extremely helpful. They provided us with a map and marked their recommendations for places to eat and shop, they booked tickets for us for the Uffizi ahead of time with no charge, they ordered taxis for us, and helped us get to where we needed to go. Definitely recommend staying there!

Room Tip: The room next to the front door was a bit noisy with the front door banging closed and people walkin...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank latte_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Por Santa Maria
Hotel Por Santa Maria
#213 of 411 in Florence
170 reviews
Uffizi
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Torre Guelfa Hotel
#83 of 411 in Florence
798 reviews
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#51 of 411 in Florence
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
La Signoria di Firenze B&B
La Signoria di Firenze B&B
#32 of 656 in Florence
620 reviews
Uffizi
B&B Olga's House
B&B Olga's House
#145 of 656 in Florence
211 reviews
Uffizi
La Torre dei Salterelli
La Torre dei Salterelli
#29 of 656 in Florence
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Cavalcanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Cavalcanti

Address: Via Pellicceria 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 656 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $108 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Relais Cavalcanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Cavalcanti Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing