We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfection”
Review of Relais Cavalcanti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Relais Cavalcanti
Ranked #109 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Anna and Francesca were fabulous hosts.The rooms were immaculate and extremely well presented and beautifully decorated. Although breakfast is not provided a variety of food and drink is on offer in a lovely dining room area, complete with kitchen essentials should you need them. Everyone was extremely helpful especially Anna, providing maps, recommendations and local information. We had a fabulous stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 325 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I spent 2 nights in Florence, basing ourselves at Relais Calvacanti. We recieved a very warm welcome and were immediately given lots of information about the surrounding area. When you book it says that 'no breakfast is served' however you are provided with a beautiful breakfast room with plenty of breakfast goods, pastries, drinks and cakes which can be accessed at anytime of the day.
Our bedroom was gorgeous, very clean, spacious and welcoming. This B&B is in the perfect location to get around all of Florence. Very close to the Ponto Vecchio, the Duomo and much more! We would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We chose this place because of other TA reviews and couldn't have been happier. Great location in the very heart of ancient Florence. Building is not well labelled but it's right next door to the Irish Pub. You just need to read the door sign carefully - Relais is identified on the list of occupants.

Rooms are very good size (biggest on our short European tour) with great bathroom attached. Staff are great and very helpful. We even got given a great map of Florence with restaurants, supermarkets and places of interest all identified - very helpful, we used it the whole time we were there. Staff also helped book a taxi when we left and were very happy to do so. Nothing was too much effort.

Only minor disappointment was that no breakfast was available but so many places nearby, it's not an issue.

Prices are a definitely not budget but worth every cent / euro. Will definitely stay there again on our next stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngusD290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

5 nights in this hotel was more than enough to sing its praises. Great location, clean, very friendly and casual services. The help yourself kitchen facility and sitting rooms made you feel that were in a friend's home and not in a hotel. Very recommended

Room Tip: Side rooms are a little cheaper as they offer less of a view but the views are very minimal anyway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by how much we really liked the Relais Cavalcanti after reading some of the reviews on Trip Advisor. The place was beautifully decorated. The central location was fantastic, it was a short walk to anywhere. Although there was no official "Breakfast", breakfast type snacks were available 24/7. Owner was very accommodating and pleasant. The air conditioning was comfortable and the shutters on the windows ensured darkness and quiet until we were ready to awake each morning.

The Wi-Fi reception was spotty due to unplugged modems. The recommended restaurant we attempted to visit required reservations weeks in advance. It was hard to find and get into the building when we arrived.


Concerns addressed:
Stairs: yes, you must climb a few stairs to get to the elevator, really was not a problem.
Oder: yes, a slight musty odor in a few areas, but this place was built in the Renaissance.

These slight problems were more than overcome by the location and other benefits. I would return. Don't worry about the lame criticism.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank eallergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We found Relais Cavalcanti to be a cosy place, full of charm and character !nice people, lovely rooms,spotlessly clean,easy to reach from Santa Maria Novella train station and also very close to all places of interest in Firenze. Only a bit noisy from the pub downstairs but with the windows closed you can have a good night sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IoanaNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We enjoyed our 3 nights at Relais Cavalcanti - hosts were very nice and helpful, breakfast room was beautiful and well-supplied (though they don't call it breakfast,) nice to have a public computer for our use in the lovely sitting room, and our bedroom and bath were very nice. Only complaint is that we were in a room facing the sidestreet leading to a large "Mercato" - so, large noisy sale carts rolled by early each morning and every evening. Fortunately, we wanted to be awake by 7 each morning, so they did not disturb our sleep. If you like to sleep later, you should ask for a room on a less noisy street.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Torre Guelfa Hotel
#99 of 409 in Florence
814 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Axial
Hotel Axial
#172 of 409 in Florence
775 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#40 of 409 in Florence
1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Residenza Castelli
Residenza Castelli
#161 of 659 in Florence
218 reviews
Uffizi
Bed and Breakfast Galileo 2000
Uffizi
La Signoria di Firenze B&B
La Signoria di Firenze B&B
#33 of 659 in Florence
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Cavalcanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Cavalcanti

Address: Via Pellicceria 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $104 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Relais Cavalcanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Cavalcanti Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing