We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #281 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good Value for money”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our bible and rating standard is the Trip Advisor. This particular hotel had not rated as highly as others but could accommodate 5 rooms at a reasonable cost and looked OK. One of the main criticism that we could find in the reviews appeared to be the unhelpfulness of the staff. Our experience was a pleasant surprise. All the staff at the Royal were helpful and obliging. Which included recommendations for restaurants, opening up the breakfast room early and attending to travel arrangements. I guess what you get back from people correlates to what you are prepared to put into them. The hotel itself was absolutely beautiful. Over two hundred years old and up until world war two a private residence, it retains its "old world charm". A magnificent sitting room, courtyard and delightful breakfast area. The rooms are more than reasonable, particularly for crowded Florence. It is a ten to fifteen minute walk to most tourist venues and is a 10 - 15 euro taxi fare from Santa Maria Novella Station. For those fit enough and prepared to lug bags, the Hotel is located about 1.5 kilometres from the SMN station up Via Nationale and on the Via Delle Route off to the right. Car Parking is available.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Courtyard otherwise you may be overlooking the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yannaki2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    92
    66
    34
    32
See reviews for
49
81
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days. It was a wonderful stay. !!
The 2 front desk guys Francesco and Thomas were fantastic!! Sent us to a wonder restaurant.
Hooked us up with a tour guide we had for 8 hours - wonderful!!
Hotel is near train and leather market, statue of David.
I highly recommend !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDelilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Me, my wife and our one and a half year old daughter had booked this hotel much in advance for a night in September 2013. We reached the hotel at around 12:30 pm only to hear that our room was not ready in spite of the fact that the check out time for guests is 11 am. Not sure what to do with my little daughter who was hungry and tired by the train journey from Venice, we had to use the common toilet near the reception to freshen her up since we were scheduled to visit Pisa in the next few hours. We came back to the hotel after out Pisa trip that same evening at around 8:45 pm only to hear that we cannot be accomodated in the hotel. The hotel staff instead put us up in a hostel nearby and thought that they had done us a great favour in doing so. Highly unprofessional and disgusting behaviour. Is this what hospitality is all about???

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank devilsadvocate77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
lhjsdvgaouzae
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Great location - 10 minutes walk to city centre, 15 minutes driving to highway. Nice middle-age building, renovated. Pool, privat parking (bit costly), a/c, garden with chairs and relax area. Good restaurants in the same street, minimarket 100 metres far.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeS111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Lovely hotel in a beautiful building. The corridors and stairwell make you feel you are in a very posh hotel. Room was spacious and bright.

There is a charge for the pool but you know this upfront and we used it one afternoon after a hard few days sightseeing. Is a bit out of town, but quiet do s good nights sleep..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sairbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Hotel Royal is a lovely vintage building, with crystal chandeliers and paintings. Especially the lounge/Wifi area is beautiful. The hotel is situated at walking distance from the main attractions of the city and in a relatively quiet neighbourhood. This is all good. But still...
The breakfast buffet had coffee from a machine, no eggs and fruit from a tin (in Tuscany!). The Wifi only worked downstairs. I heard a lot of arguments about the bill. Many guests didn't know that parking on hotel grounds costs an extra 25 euro's, the swimming pool costs an extra 8 euro's pp. pd. and even the use of the room safe costs extra. The receptionist was reluctant to help with booking a museum in advance. All in all: a nice building that could/should be run better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanPietro V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul Province, Turkey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Nice premises, nice location but poor result. Should be well maintained, much more cleaner. Better not to offer breakfast if this is the quality. Should also avoid taxi cheats when hotel calls for taxi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Altug E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Park Palace Hotel
#160 of 421 in Florence
308 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#192 of 421 in Florence
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Carlotta Hotel
#229 of 421 in Florence
580 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Croce di Malta Hotel
Croce di Malta Hotel
#168 of 421 in Florence
723 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#87 of 421 in Florence
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Property: Hotel Royal
Address: Via delle Ruote 52, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #281 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A splendid Florentine villa built by the end of 1700. Residence of the owners until 1950, it was then turned into a hotel, and in 1990 completely restored by the present management: the Messina family. The Hotel Royal is located in a quiet zone of the town only 500 meters from the Central Station, the Congress Center and from the Cathedral. The hotel has a beautiful ancient garden with a swimming pool in the back and and a large parking place in front for its guests. Both services are for extra charge. All rooms are equipped with color TV with remote control, safe, minibar, direct-dial telephone, air-conditioning, hair-dryer. The stylish furniture grants to all rooms a sober and warm elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing