We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful building”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #268 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is in a beautiful old villa, with a nice seating area on the ground floor. However its the only place I've been asked to pay to use the swimmingpool! This needs to change, I don't see the point when the pool is there and hardly anyone uses it. That's just bad service.

Some of the staff speak very bad English, which is disappointing in a big city like Firenze where you might want to get some tips. Staff recommended Ristorante Da Mimmo, what ever you do, don't go there! Its a terrible tourist trap!

Rooms were ok, my friends got a very small room, so mine was ok compeared. Bathroom is very little, you can hardly move about. The selection on breakfast is very limited, ham, cheese and croisants. Nothing special.

Location is a little bit out of the main attractions, but still within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelie0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    96
    67
    34
    31
See reviews for
52
85
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We found this to be a really nice hotel. It's slightly out of the City centre which has the advantage that it's relatively inexpensive and relatively quiet. We travelled by train and it's a bit of a walk from the station, but you can walk from here to the Centre in about 20 minutes. We found the staff to be really pleasant and the breakfast was good. The curious thing about the hotel is that it has the feel of a country house, being a rather rambling building with terrace, small garden area and a pool. You do have to pay to use the hotel (I think it was 8 euro's per person per day, which seemed expensive and so we didn't use it). One of the hotel rooms is quite small but has a good sized private terrace.
We thought it was good and would be ready to use this hotel again so would recommend it.

Room Tip: Most rooms are in the main hotel on the first floor (there is a lift).There are a couple of 'ann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Euroamer1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taplow Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Really enjoyed the experience. Apart from the fact that Firenza is posibly one of the most beautiful cities in the world this Hotel was inexpensive, welcoming, excellently paced to walk to all the main points of interest, quiet, clean and actually quite grand given it's modest budget. The food was fine and although for some strange reason they do charge to use the pool I do not recall being charged to use the car park (I was on a Harley mind). I can quite understand if a charge was made though as secure parking in Italy is a must and so close to the city centre I'm sure it is at a premium.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5cottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I have to say this is the most random place i have ever stopped. When we checked in the man on reception informed us that we had to pay 25 euros to park, and 5 euros each to use the pool... He then told us we had a very nice room and took us to a 'suite' out the back. On first look it seemed nice, but on closer inspection it wasn't! The room was listed as costing 250 euros a night. we paid 50, and it was probably too much! The channdelier in the room was dropping down, the bed was metal and although was meant to be double, it was two singles made up as a double. the walls were cracked, and it was all very dated, no shower curtain was up, and we were provided with a few naff sachets of shampoo. the minibar in the room wasn't priced up, so i guess this is a place where they make prices up as they go, so we didn't touch it. Luckily we were quite central so we managed to walk to a nearby restaurant. We didn't sleep too good as the air con main untit was just outside our window (the window was tiny and very high up in the room).. We didn't sleep too well, and after a very average breakfast, we left early. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonya s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I went to Florence for my brothers wedding and stayed in the Hotel Royal for 3 nights. I stayed in a room for 4 people with my sister and parents. The room had a double bed and 2 single beds. The room was large enough to accomodate us all with a large bathroom and his & hers sinks. The room was very clean as was the Hotel on the whole.

I was expecting to find a very miserable/rude man at reception after reading the reviews for the Hotel and found quite the opposite. ALL of the staff at the Hotel Royal were incredibly polite and helpful.

One downside of the hotel was the bar - or lack of a bar! Had about 4 bottles on display which i suspect had been there since the Hotel was built! They also had no mixers at all to go with any of the bottles of alcohol on display.

I would reccoment this Hotel to anyone visiting Florence. Its is a beautiful Hotel in walking distance of the town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottmingen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
169 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have been here in this hotel for 5 or 6 times. Nice rooms, great location. Easy to find, nice walk to the main attractions of the city. Nice breakfast room. Good service. A place to recommend. Next time in Florence I'll come back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaudeBron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Level Contributor
197 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here in mid July as part of a package to see the MotoGP at Mugello, and read the previous reviews with a sense of trepidation. However the hotel was a delight. We had the room adjoining the main block, and it was delightful. Large, airy, and such a change from the usual hotel box you get. The breakfasts were satisfactory, and considering the early starts we made, 5:45 am, the staff were a lot more cheerful than I would have been. Paying to use the pool area was a bit much, I would have expected it to be free for residents, otherwise this would have been a 5 star review.
The hotel is in a great position for getting around, you are only 10 mins walk from the centre, and there are plenty of reasonable eateries nearby, try the Chinese in Via XXVII, and ice cream from the shop in piazza San Marco. Aviod the resturant next door to the ice cream shop, it's not very good at all.
Do take mosquito repellant,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaz-b98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Park Palace Hotel
#169 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#185 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Carlotta Hotel
#233 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Croce di Malta Hotel
Croce di Malta Hotel
#170 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#90 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Property: Hotel Royal
Address: Via delle Ruote 52, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A splendid Florentine villa built by the end of 1700. Residence of the owners until 1950, it was then turned into a hotel, and in 1990 completely restored by the present management: the Messina family. The Hotel Royal is located in a quiet zone of the town only 500 meters from the Central Station, the Congress Center and from the Cathedral. The hotel has a beautiful ancient garden with a swimming pool in the back and and a large parking place in front for its guests. Both services are for extra charge. All rooms are equipped with color TV with remote control, safe, minibar, direct-dial telephone, air-conditioning, hair-dryer. The stylish furniture grants to all rooms a sober and warm elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing