We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Awesome Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Dali
Ranked #134 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights and we couldn't have found a better hotel in Florence. This was our first time in Florence and we were looking for something in a good location for a decent price and this hotel was far beyond our expectations. The location is amazing, just down the street form the Duomo (1 min walk) and easily accessible to all other sites in this amazing city. We stayed in 2 different rooms throughout our stay. For the first night we stayed in a room without a bathroom and the next 4 nights in a room with a bathroom. After staying in both rooms its clear the hotel has put a lot of effort in the small touches that go into making this hotel the value that it is. If you are in a room without a bathroom there are 2 shared bathrooms, which were both extremely clean and well kept. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the windows do a great job of keeping out the outside noise (the street can get a bit noisy on weekend nights). As great as the rooms were, the hotel staff are truly what made our stay as wonderful as it was. Peter and Marco are extremely attentive and kind. They assisted us in booking reservations for the Uffizi Gallery and to see The David, they gave us suggestions on how to get around the city and of some things to do that may be off the beaten path, and they gave us the best suggestions for restaurants in Florence (I have never eaten so good in my life). If you're looking for a hotel in Florence and have come across Hotel Dali, just stop and book this hotel.....now! I couldn't imagine a better stay! When we return to Florence (hopefully soon) we will certainly be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    179
    70
    17
    4
See reviews for
79
318
42
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

A nice and cheap place to stay with a great location in Firenze. The people at the front desk where helpful and welcoming. There is no breakfast, but you don't want to waste time in the hotel when there is so many good places to eat in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank scarybloodspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is an affordable and comfortable option for a stay in Florence. We came directly from Venice and the vibrant heart of Florence was almost shocking and yet invigorating. Steps from the famous Duomo is Hotel Dali. This was a Rick Steeves pick and I noted that as well as being less expensive, the proprietors were very helpful to guests. Both sounded good to me.
Both husband and wife are lovely but we saw more of Marco. Before we arrived, he booked tickets for us to the Acadamie and the Uffiz Gallery. This is a must if you plan to see these wonderful galleries as they sell out. There was no charge by Hotel Dali for this service. It is just part of what they do. He also provided train information for Naples and alerted us to an open cellar weekend in the Chianti region which were both very helpful.
The big obvious disadvantage to Hotel Dali is no ensuite toile/shower. Every room has a sink. They only have ten rooms and two bathrooms. We stayed three nights and never had to wait. So it was not bad at all. The other potential negative is no breakfast provided. The Hotel Dali is much too small to start preparing and serving breakfast although there is a coffee maker and goodies in a basket in your room so you can make do with that.
Marco sent us to one of his favourite local cafes where mainly Florentines came for their morning cappuccino. Affordable! Coffee and pastries were great. This turned out to be one of our fave times of the day. Florence has lots of nice cafes. We had a few we expecially liked in the short time we were there and showed our preference by returning. We were always rememvbered.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room away from the traffic as Rick Steeeves suggests. We did not do that and are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ConValerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed three nights. Marco was extremely helpful, location is absolutely perfect and hotel had a fabulous Florence charm. No hesitations in recommending this hotel. Just use the mosquito zappers in your room and also, if you are driving, make sure you let them know your registration as the hotel is in the Limited Traffic Zone. Car park entrance is extremely tight so make sure you have a small car.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Calypso501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Basic hotel but welcoming and friendly. Well organised with Marco sorting our permits for driving into central Florence zone immediately on our arrival. Entry to parking very narrow so hire a little car if you're not great at manoeuvres! No breakfast but very well located and we would definitely recommend this place to budget travellers with high standards!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Hotel is within a stones throw of the Duomo and also offered private parking. Service was fantastic and very friendly, showing us all the best places to visit and super helpful in returning a left mobile phone (Marco you're a saint)! Family room was good, comfortable and quiet and overlooked the courtyard. A very nice and memorable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Hotel Dali is central to the Duomo and is a fairly easy walk to the major sights. The elevator worked the first time we used it but didn't for the rest of our three-night stay, and with luggage that would be an awkward climb up two curving sets of stairs.

Our room was large with a desk and wardrobe. The bed was a bit stiff and the pillows quite thin; even with two underneath our heads, the sleep quality wasn't great. There is no A/C so it gets a bit warm, even with the provided. There is a minifridge but ours had a bit of a rotting smell. The bathroom was about a standard size for Europe. It was decently clean, though not impeccable and smelled a little odd.

On the second night, about 9:30 p.m., someone started knocking on the front door of the hotel. When the knocking didn't get an answer (the receptionist leaves at about 7?), the knocking turned into pounding...then ringing the doorbell...then kicking...and more banging. It was annoying at first and then it got a little unnerving. This lasted for about 20 minutes. There is a sign on the door for patrons to phone Marco if they are locked out or arrive after hours, so I'm not sure what the incident was about.

The breakfast was disappointing, to say the least--packaged croissants, packaged toast and instant coffee. If I'd known about the breakfast and bathroom, and the incident, I would not have chosen to stay here. It was fine for a short stay and for our budget, but I wouldn't stay again or recommend it.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the room next to the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ney11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#159 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#148 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Locanda Orchidea
Hotel Locanda Orchidea
#208 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#88 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#135 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
San Lorenzo
HOTEL LORENA
HOTEL LORENA
#112 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dali

Property: Hotel Dali
Address: Via Dell'Oriuolo 17, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#55 Family Hotel in Florence
#122 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Dali 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Dal� is located in an old palace owned by the Marquis Frescobaldi, renowned by name to Italians and to wine producers worldwide. The hotel's peaceful setting is centrally located within old town Florence on Via dell'Oriuolo ("The Clock Road" in ancient Florentine). This little cobblestone road is still filled with "botteghe" (artisan shops), where carpenters, jewellers and frame-makers can be found at work. Marco and Samanta, a very nice couple native to Florence and experts in providing unparalleled comfort and service, manage the hotel. Their welcome will make you feel at home. They will be happy to help you by offering nice suggestions that will enhance your experience of the true Florentine style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Dali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dali Hotel Florence
Hotel Dali Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing