We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, excellent city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #151 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, excellent city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I booked with Hotel Berna three weeks before arriving on Feb 13. because their pictures online really attracted my attention and the location is very good. When we arrived in Florence Central Station, we found everything true. The distance to the train station is just as described online. The rooms are more beautiful than the pictures. And the lovely Francesca(receptionist) brought us more sunshine! I immediately decided to stay for two more nights till 18th, and Francesca helped us with it and we only had to change room for once. The breakfast was another bonus. The food was fresh. The service was warm. And the tiny breakfast room was so cozy that made us feel like home. Even till today, I cannot forget about this lovely experience. I think I will go back and I will definitely choose to stay with Hotel Berna again!

Room Tip: We stayed in two rooms...but I cannot remember the number. First in a triple, but used as double. Ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa_xixi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernahotel, RECEPTION at Hotel Berna, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
....and excellent customer!
It's always nice to meet new people, and know that you did a god job.
It was a pleasure for us and we really hope to meet you again in a future .


Arrivederci,
Francesca & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    134
    29
    5
    7
See reviews for
69
165
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Hotel Berna is in an excellent location if, like us, you only have a one day stop in Florence. It was a very short walk from the train station and an easy walk to the main sights of Florence. It has a little lift to take you up (only one at a time with luggage) and the Hotel only takes up one floor of the building, so it is a cosy little place. You are greeted like an old friend by Francesca who made us feel very welcome and helped us negotiate the lift with our luggage storing it for us while we set out to explore the city until our room was ready. The room was very brightly decorated, with perhaps a little bit too much furniture as there was not a lot of room for the four of us in the family room (we did have a lot of luggage though!). There were lots of thoughtful touches, such as slippers, toothbrushes and all you might need for your stay. The breakfast room was small and cosy and the breakfast was very good. Francesca was probably the highlight for us though, we appreciated her local knowledge, her willingness to help and her excellent sense of humour!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernahotel, receptionist at Hotel Berna, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Many many thnak's for your kind words!
We always hope to do a good job and for us it is very important that you feel at home.
We are a small family structure, where you can find all...good friends, good atmosphere, good breakfast....

See you soon....
Francesca & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakkum Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Hotel Berna is a very comfortable hotel with unique old world charm in furniture - when each room is unique. It offers value that is similar to a 5 star hotel and as such it has a superior value for your money. Francesca was very kind and helpful. We enjoyed our stay a great deal and are very happy to recommend this hotel. It is located within a walking distance to Florence main train station, a great plus if you are on a short visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artman2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernahotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Berna, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
We are very happy to know that our new hotel she loved it and, even more, that the kindness and helpfulness of our staff to have left a sweet memory.
In the end this is our goal to make your experience special.
A gentle hug,

Thank you again!
Francesca & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Hotel Berna is very close to Florence train station and historic center, walk distance. The owner is very helpful and can tell where to find the best gelato, the best places to visit, etc... Hotel Berna is a very good value hotel. I will be back to this hotel.
The external view is not great, do not worry.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrazilTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernahotel, Responsabile reception at Hotel Berna, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest ,
thank you so much for your review and for your kind words.
It has been a great pleasure for us to welcome you during your honeymoon.
This is a special moment in the life and we are very pleased that you have chosen us for this.
We wish you a wonderful life and look forward to welcoming you again in our b / b.
Kindest regards.
Francesca & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We just stayed here recently b/c Hotel Alinari was overbooked and this B&B was right across the street eager to accommodate . Nice place for just a couple nights.

PROS: staff is friendly and speaks good enough English. Also ready and willing to help with tourist questions. Their buffet is VERY Italian so do not expect 'Grandma's bacon n eggs' but still great for fueling up before getting cross-eyed from all of Florence's artistic spenders. Francesca and her staff are nice to step away from the front desk and make your espresso drink of choice.

CONS: You will, however, get Grandma's house smell in your quarters. Also the firm bed is sure to cure your scoliosis, so load up on Florence's famous Chianti before bedtime. I will not comment much on the small TV because, hey, you're in Florence; you only need to be in your room for sleep!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank AmericInvader S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Very near to SMN train station just 5 mins walk. And downstairs has super market and pizza shop. You can easily get what you want. Just 10-15 mins walk to the city centre. Although it is a burdget hotel, the room is quite big. Our room comes with the balcony which can have a nice view of the church near by SMN station. I love the room's decoration especially the mirror. We reached very early in the morning. The reception old man is very friendly. In general this is a nice hotel and good for value definitely I will come back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernahotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Berna, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest ,
thank you so much for your review and for your kind words.
It has been a great pleasure for us to welcome you during your honeymoon.
This is a special moment in the life and we are very pleased that you have chosen us for this.
We wish you a wonderful life and look forward to welcoming you again in our b / b.
Kindest regards.
Francesca & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Had an interesting 2 nights stay at Hotel Berna well taken care of by the hostess Fran who offers her very personable and warm hospitality that makes you immediately warm up to her and the city. The rooms are not the biggest I must say but is furnished with pretty quirky furniture that differs room to room. Ours was bright red from curtains to bed covers! LOL! Breakfast spread was v decent and hearty! A quick 2 mins walk from the train station makes this B&B a treasure!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernahotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Berna, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Client,
Thank you for choosing "Hotel Berna " for your holidays in Florence.
We would like to express our sincerest thanks for the words you wrote regarding our b/b.
We always hope that our friendly and informal way to help our clients is appreciated.
Thank you agian for your collaboration.
Kindest regards
Francesca & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ester
Hotel Ester
#178 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#78 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
San Lorenzo
Mercure Firenze Centro
Mercure Firenze Centro
#90 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Affittacamere Alba
Affittacamere Alba
#193 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
San Lorenzo
Old Florence Inn Bed and Breakfast
San Lorenzo
Zip B&B in Florence
Zip B&B in Florence
#89 of 659 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Largo Fratelli Alinari 11 | Santa Maria Novella, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Berna 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of Florence – Great location – show map Just 275 m from Florence's Santa Maria Novella Station, Hotel Berna features spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi, parquet floors, and an electric teakettle. You can walk to the cathedral in 10 minutes. Air-conditioned rooms come equipped with classic furnishings, double-glazed windows, and a flat screen TV. Each features a private bathroom, complete with shower, hairdryer, and toiletries. Breakfast at Berna Hotel is buffet style including freshly baked croissants, pastries, and fresh fruit along with juices. It is served daily in the breakfast room with hardwood floors and red fabrics The Uffizi Gallery is reachable by foot in 15 minutes, as is Ponte Vecchio. The Medici Chapel is a quarter mile away. San Lorenzo is a great choice for travelers interested in cathedrals, food and art. This is our guests' favorite part of Florence, according to independent reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing