We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, friendly service”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #113 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Berna at the start of our holiday to Florence and again at the end. This was a great find and definitely somewhere we would stay again. Hotel is in a great central location, about 5 min walk to Duomo, 10 mins to Ponte Vecchio and right near the train station. The welcome we received from Francesca and Paolo was one of the warmest welcomes we have ever had. It was such a great start to the holiday and they took care to give us lots of relevant facts and information. Breakfast was good in a very cute, very Italian breakfast room. The first time we stayed at the hotel we had a room right next to reception that had a balcony (so request this room if you would like one) however our second room when we returned was Room 112 and while it didn't have a balcony was much nicer and much larger. Window still opened to the street so you can feel part of the action. All in all a very pleasant stay. Thanks Francesca!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CKH_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernahotel, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Berna, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Thanks again!
We are very happy to know that our new hotel and the loved, even more, that kindness and helpfulness of our staff to have left a sweet memory.
Basically this is precisely our goal: to make your experience special.
A sweet embrace,
Francesca & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 360 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

I had the good fortune to stay in 2 Hotel Bernas in Italy, and I'm glad to say both are pleasant.

Francesca - she's probably famous by now is very friendly, hospitable and helpful.

The good - The room is ok, everything in working order

The not so great - the tiny shower store, but this being the 2nd italian hotel we were in, we kinda suspect this was the norm. We can live with it.

The tinnnnnnyyyy elevator... which could only fit one person and 2 medium size luggage. Still as Francesca put it, better then nothing! I wholeheartedly agree.

For the price we paid I think we got ourselves a good deal with this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meijean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernahotel, Responsabile reception at Hotel Berna, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

We have no words to thank you for this wonderful review.
We always try to pamper our clients so they feel a bit 'at home, and know that this has helped to make your weekend special is a great pride for us.

Your warmth and your kindness, and it comforts us to improve even more.

We hope to have, in the near future, the pleasure of welcoming you once again :-)

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My family and I just returned from 12 days in Italy. We stayed in Florence for 2 nights at Hotel Berna. It was very convenient from the train station and AutoEurope car drop off location.

Francesca was wonderful and accomodating. All you had to do was mention something and it was done. Our AC leaked-in 5 minutes the repair men were there. I asked for ice at breakfast and she sent someone out to buy some. She had also made advance reservations for us to see The David, let us check in early, called us a cab when we left which came in 2 mins and held our luggage on the day of departure,

We were 2 adults and 2 teenagers in one room. The room had a small balcony, was clean, had a computer and a big screen TV.

Breakfast was included which had every juice imaginable, cornettas (italian for croissant), cappucino, coffee, tea, cereal, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, cakes, and more.

For the price and location-walking distance to stores, shops ,restaurants, San Lorenzo market-you will not find a better place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WorrywartBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernahotel, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Berna, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thank you for the beautiful review :-)
We always try to make special holiday for our customers, because your smile and your satisfaction we repays every effort and every sacrifice.
Your kindness and your joy may accompany even our memories! ...
interesting ... not to mention the coffee breaks :-)

A super hug,
Francesca & all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at Hotel Berna for two nights only, but it was a nice experience. The location is perfect: safe neighborhood, Santa Maria Novella train station across the street and supermarkets and restaurants nearby (the "Due G" trattoria is a sure bet, ask at the reception). The Duomo, Piazza Della Signoria and Vecchio Bridge are a few minutes walk away, as the hotel locations is bordering the historic centre. Perfect.

At the hotel, Francesca was a very, very kind and helpful hostess, pointing us the main attractions and giving hints of restaurants. Additionally, she was very fast to fix up a few problems we had in our room. Grazie, Francesca!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rplj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernahotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Berna, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you so much for your kindness. I hope you'll come back again.
Cheers.
Erika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We've just got back from 4 days in Florence staying at Hotel Berna. It's a fabulous little hotel, 2 minutes walk from the main train station and not that hard to find if you look for the plaque on the left hand side of the street.

We were met my Francesca, the wonderful woman who ran the place whilst we were there. Nothing was too much trouble for her, she sorted large bottles of water immediately on our arrival, with complimetary snacks and drinks and then went on to book tickets for the Uffizi the next morning whilst recommending other places to go and things to do.

Breakfast was plentiful, and when we were leaving early on a couple of days because of excursions, she loaded our room the night before with breakfast goodies so we wouldn't miss out.

Our room had a lovely balcony overlooking the street so we could sit and chill in the sunshine. The beds were comfortable, the sheets delicious and there was plentiful hot water in the small but perfectly formed shower room.

The location of the hotel was just right, a few minutes walk from the Duomo, a few more to the Uffizi and the Ponte Vecchio with surrounded by streets full of beauifully balconied buildings painted in every shade of ochre you could imagine.

Also, being so close to the station meant very little effort walking from the airport bus (Terravision, easy to book in advance or buy at the airport), or back there to hook up with the couple of excursions we did (wine tasting and a day's trip to the Cinque Terra villages, absolutely wonderful).

So, overall 10 out of 10, and thank you so much Francesca!

Room Tip: We had 106 with twin beds, room 104 looked even bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mojomouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernahotel, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Berna, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you again!
We are very happy to know that our new hotel she loved it and, even more, that the kindness and helpfulness of our staff to have left a sweet memory.
In the end this is our goal to make your experience special.
Congratulations to all the information that you properly explained to our trippers.
A gentle hug,
Francesca & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We were three women traveling together and had a triple room with bath. The room was clean, pleasantly decorated and very welcoming. The bath was small, but nicely finished, with everything that we needed. We arrived late and in the rain, with a bit of a struggle to find the hotel. I had read that it was on the 3rd floor of a building, but once we were turned around in the dark, in the rain, it was a bit frustrating. After realizing where we had gone wrong, and in the daylight, it really wasn't that difficult to find -- just look up and there was a sign on the building -- duh! Key to reading the directions correctly -- when you exit the train station, cross the street and turn right. When you reach the end of the block, turn left and it is just a few doors down. At any rate, we found Francesca to be the most gracious host. When we finally arrived (late in the evening and later than expected due to our difficulty roaming around in the rain), both she and Paolo were there to greet us. They were so welcoming and even brought in a tray with champagne, glasses and treats. We knew immediately that we had made the right choice in booking our three day stay with them. Francesca was so kind, friendly and warm. She served a fabulous breakfast and when we had to depart early in the morning for one of our tours, she overstocked a tray with anything you would like and had it in the room the night before. I would highly recommend Hotel Berna and we will visit again when we are back in Florence.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernahotel, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Berna, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

-Thank you very much for the positive that you have given of my property.
I'm always very happy when my guests are well at home and I hope you will come back again. A kiss.
Francesca & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Pablo and Francisa are very nice and helpful for giving us a quick overview of Firenze and also Francisa help me to book the restaurant for dinner.

Location is v gd which is 5 mins walk to train station as I can have enough time to catch up my early morning train

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Oxygencube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernahotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Berna, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Guest ,
thank you so much for your review and for your kind words.
It has been a great pleasure for us to welcome you .
This is a special moment in the life and we are very pleased that you have chosen us for this.
We wish you a wonderful life and look forward to welcoming you again in our b / b.
Kindest regards.
Francesca & staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Nuova Italia
Hotel Nuova Italia
#97 of 411 in Florence
906 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#107 of 411 in Florence
925 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Bellevue House
Bellevue House
#16 of 659 in Florence
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
BandB Firenze 8 Cittadella 8
BandB Firenze 8 Cittadella 8
#72 of 659 in Florence
56 reviews
San Lorenzo
La Residenza dell'Orafo
La Residenza dell'Orafo
#62 of 659 in Florence
595 reviews
Santa Croce
B&B La Casa dei Tintori
B&B La Casa dei Tintori
#8 of 659 in Florence
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Address: Largo Fratelli Alinari 11 | Santa Maria Novella, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $62 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Berna 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of Florence – Great location – show map Just 275 m from Florence's Santa Maria Novella Station, Hotel Berna features spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi, parquet floors, and an electric teakettle. You can walk to the cathedral in 10 minutes. Air-conditioned rooms come equipped with classic furnishings, double-glazed windows, and a flat screen TV. Each features a private bathroom, complete with shower, hairdryer, and toiletries. Breakfast at Berna Hotel is buffet style including freshly baked croissants, pastries, and fresh fruit along with juices. It is served daily in the breakfast room with hardwood floors and red fabrics The Uffizi Gallery is reachable by foot in 15 minutes, as is Ponte Vecchio. The Medici Chapel is a quarter mile away. San Lorenzo is a great choice for travelers interested in cathedrals, food and art. This is our guests' favorite part of Florence, according to independent reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing