We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good foody souveniers”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Bufalo Trippone

Il Bufalo Trippone
Ranked #7 of 2,676 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $11
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Duomo
Description: Exclusive and typical store where you can try the best products from Tuscany (Cheese, cold cuts and wine).Open every days 10:30 A.M./ 8:00 P.M.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good foody souveniers”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

I didn’t eat here because when I stumbled upon it I had already had lunch. But t looked clean and appetizing. I was actually looking for some olive oil to take home and found they had the best variety in convenient travel bottles for the best price.

Just as an FYI this isn't a sit down place it is more of a take out spot. That said it is just a short walk in either direction to find somewhere to sit with a view of the statutes or the cathedral.

Also the gentleman behind the counter was very friendly and helpful. He assisted us with finding the post office.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ChandaVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alessandroc81, Proprietario at Il Bufalo Trippone, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thanks for your feedback,

Regards

Il Bufalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,180
    276
    35
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, FL
Level Contributor
139 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fine, quick, and inexpensive lunch”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

I was in Florence for 6-weeks on business and frequently many places for lunch and dinner. In the historic section of the city, lunch can be expensive. I just stopped into il Bufalo Trippone while walking around the city. I had a very nice sandwhich for lunch - freshly made, inexpensive, and simple. If you want fancy food - this is not the place for you. Service was great. This establishment also sells a few food related items of interest to tourists - spices, alcohol, olive oil, etc. The prices for these items were competitive. I bought a friend a bottle of grappa here at a very good price. Good place to pop in for a quick lunch and some tourist-related shopping.

One issue - no place to eat in the establishment - very small. So, you have to take your food outside to find a place to sit and eat. Not so bad in Florence to eat a nice lunch and do some tourist watching.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alessandroc81, Proprietario at Il Bufalo Trippone, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thanks for your visit, see you soon

Regards

Il Bufalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

The place is more of a bistro/ shop than a restaurant so if you are looking for glamorous dining... Go elsewhere. (And stop complaining on TA that there was not enough space- you do have an issue if you cannot see that much) I ordered a selection of meats and cheese... And got a choice of 7(!) different delicatessen and 4 or 5 verities of cheese. Together with a glass of their house red (Chianti) and 3 different sauces/ pastes (including of the mouthwatering truffle paste) I paid a total 15€!!!! (And struggled to eat it all). The place is surrounded by tourist traps but this one is certainly NOT one of them. I strongly recommend this place for lunch/ quick dinner and will be returning soon! As for the service I could not fault it. Everything on my plate was explained to me and the host was happy to answer all my questions. No "cover charge" or other ever so popular in Florence rip off hidden costs either.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alessandroc81, Proprietario at Il Bufalo Trippone, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thanks for your visit, I really enjoyed that you have understood the philosophy of my shop, unique place where you can taste the typical Tuscan flavors. see you.

Regards
Il Bufalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostrava, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant wine tasting”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stopped here during our walk in Florence - to have a rest for a moment and to to have a sip of some wine. We chose a glass of Montepulciano and it was perfect - good wine in very pleasant place!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarmila a Zdene... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alessandroc81, Proprietario at Il Bufalo Trippone, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thanks for your feedback, I hope to see you soon.

Regards

Il Bufalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect for a sandwich (panino)”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great place to have a really good panino in central Florence at honest prices. They prepare them as you order so customization is always possible.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mk_B0RG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alessandroc81, Proprietario at Il Bufalo Trippone, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thanks for your feedback, I hope to see you soon.

Regards

Il Bufalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Bufalo Trippone also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Il Bufalo Trippone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing