We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fascinating treasures, poorly organized, uninterested staff”

Museo Archeologico Nazionale
Book In Advance
More Info
$47.64*
and up
Florence's Hidden Past: Archaeological National Museum Tour
Ranked #94 of 441 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chicago
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fascinating treasures, poorly organized, uninterested staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

The exhibit on the ground floor about the Etruscans is done well-enough, with decent lighting, labels, and sight lines, but the treasures upstairs, including some astonishing Egyptian ones, are another story. The lighting is bad, there are no labels for individual works or even groups of works, not even in Italian, and with the exception of a bit of Egyptian-style decoration in those rooms, the effect is more like walking into a museum's storage warehouse rather than the museum proper. Many of the pieces are so high on the shelves that a child would not be able to see much of them, and the reflections from the glass cases make seeing them even more difficult.

In most Italian museums, the guards know the works and are glad to answer questions. In this one, sadly, they seemed uninterested in either.

I'd still recommend visiting if you're interested in these kinds of works, but you'll unless you either already know everything or are happy to learn very little about the pieces, you'll leave as much frustrated as pleased.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank amfeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    59
    25
    21
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
521 reviews
359 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 563 helpful votes
“Peaceful - a hidden gem worth seeing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

I was up early one morning and wanted to go to the Museum of San Marco but was a little too early. Just around the corner I found this wonderful museum, which I had almost completely to myself. Full of Etruscan art and all sorts of interesting artefacts, I really enjoyed my time here. About an hour is all you need, but it was so peaceful and wonderful. Not a Florence must see, but worth a look if you have time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 1800hammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
3,501 reviews
3,118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,087 helpful votes
“Worth Seeing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Archeologico National Museum is worth seeing because there are many archaeological remains that are beautiful and worth seeing. However the museum is not well organized and there are many displayed items without identifying names. We had to ask the young ladies working in the museum for the names of the exhibits several times.

The bronze "Chimera of Arezzo" is one of the best known examples of the art of the Etruscans. It was found in Arezzo, an ancient city in Tuscany, in 1553 and was quickly claimed for the collection of the Medici Grand Duke of Tuscany Cosimo I. This is one of the most important exhibits.

There is a beautiful bronze statue of Minerva from Arrezo, 3rd century BC. There were many funerary urns from Chiusi, 5th century BC. There was a large sarcophagus from Tarquinia with a man lying on his side. There was a beautiful statue of Apollo Milani, 550 BC.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sosua, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
221 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Amazing place. Put it on your must see list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I have to differ from other posts as we found this museum absolutely amazing. Yes it does need some work and maybe some labels in English or at least a guide in English that you can follow along. The downstairs seemed to have recently been renovated and upstairs there were no cabinets that were empty. One room was closed for renovation and there were plenty of English signage about to help you understand.
We were just in awe of some of the ancient pieces and made you reflect on just how insignificant one really is. It was as my Mom stated "humbling".
To imagine looking at something that was created 5,000 years ago well what can I say...
One should make an effort to visit. When touring it was easy to overlook the need for some renovations. It would also be nice if they opened the gardens with a bench or two to sit and reflect.
It was also like posted in other reviews a nice break from the abundance of "religious art"
Put it on your short list.

BObK

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank B0bK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
318 reviews
158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“It needs work, a LOT of work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

With some of the best Etruscan art, if only it was displayed to match the work. A LOT of the place is just a gaping empty room. And then there are rooms chock-a-block jammed with funerary pots. Once again, like the Ufizzi--it needs work. And money put into it, not boondoggled out.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maggie_Oakshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Archeologico Nazionale also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Museo Archeologico Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing