We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Actually 3 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
Ranked #192 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed June 8, 2012

As i like my luxury ( clean bath-shower-toilet-bed) i opted for a 4 star hotel for my stay i Florence.
This hotel has recently been refurbished and you can clearly see that. The staff are very helpful and accomodating, which makes up for most of the stuff lacking. The room was small with a single window which looked out over Florences rooftops. The bathroom was new and functioning very well. Just the bed was horrible to sleep in. I arrived on a sunday and it seems in Italy nothing gets done on that day. The temp was 30C....and the AC was not functioning..sleeping at night was impossible in that heat. A call to the reception and they turned the temp down.....i did not notice it at all. Also my safebox was not working.
The next day, i got a new electronic key and everything was working perfectly: safe box and AC!
Breakfast was good, for everyone something to choose from, wether ur a veggie or a meaty.
The hotel is situated about 4 blocks from the city center and walking is a must! Unbelevable atmosfere and good food. There are wine bars and restaurants all around, including in the same street. Opposite is a small minimart for emergencies.
Roomservice is limited to breakfast.
Overall they are striving for a 4-star status, which they probably will achieve. Its just, that they're not there yet.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the front street with a balcony.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (955)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 955 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed in the hotel with a group, hotel had fairly small rooms, but good elevators, and everything was clean and neat. My room had a balcony and great blinds and curtains that completely blocked sunlight. Breakfast was fabulous, much more extensive than I expected. It even had scrambled eggs, fresh fruit, and yogurt, in addition to meat, cheese, and pastries. Hotel provided free wifi, though signal strength was pretty weak in my room, better in the lobby.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLillith21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here - small room (I was traveling alone, so one twin bed) with TV, wifi, pre-loaded mini fridge, small bathroom with shower, closet, and suitcase stand. Window opened onto the street - love that! - and the shutters allowed for total darkness at night. Positives: great for what I needed: a place to sleep and crash after too much sightseeing; breakfast is phenomenal - huge variety of food buffet-style, with eggs, meats, cheeses, juices, coffee, pastries, jam/nutella/spread, mini muffins, toast, cereal, yogurt (!!); staff was friendly and helpful. Negatives: thin walls and wi-fi only worked 50% of the time, plus taxes to pay at check-out. In all, positives outweigh the negatives and I really enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSfire4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The hotel was recently furnished. It is very clean and elegant. Rooms are rather small and sparsely furnished. Bathroom is small, no tub and no shelves where to put toiletries. Breakfast was adequate. Staff was exceedingly polite and helpful and all speak English. It is located quite close to the train and bus station and about 15 to 20 minutes walk to the historical centre. Much to our disappointment the street was rather shabby and right opposite there were eight skips which the refuse van emptied in the morning. All in all it was good value for money, but would certainly choose a different area next time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This is not a 4 star hotel despite it being advertised and priced as such. Upon arriving we were assigned a ground floor room facing a noisy street. Supposedly the wooden panels on the windows provide sound insulation but I am not exaggerating - you can carry a conversation with someone outside from our room! Don't expect to get a good night's sleep! Things that do not work or do not work as expected - the air conditioning is for the whole hotel and the thermostat in the room does nothing - the toilet leaks constantly - the water pressure in the shower is so low that it would take a bald man 30 mins to wash his hair - the volume on the tv can't be increased past a setting of 20 out of a possible 100 (so you can't drown out the noise from outside) - and the sink plugging mechanism fell apart when we tried to lift the plug (which had been left plugged). The only thing that does work well is the wifi, which I am using right now to write this review. We asked the hotel to change to a room away from the street for tonight (our last night in Florence) but apparently it is full. So we can only take solace in the fact that many others must be sharing our pain! Please take my advice and stay well away from this living nightmare!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mrmike1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Nice BW hotel with large rooms and excellent breakfast. Location is good enough. Price of room was in accordance with Firenze costs. Staff very helpful and courteous, especially Valeria. They help us with everithing including good recomendation and ordering places in restaurants and were flexible with check-in and check-out time. Definetelly, will stay in this hotel during my next stay in Firenze and will recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 6 nights, starting on March 29th. I prepaid - the only reason I didn't move on.
Excellent breakfast, good location and fast wifi. And that's all.
As shown in the attached pics, extremely small and badly furnished room. Where are you supposed to keep your clothes? Certainly not in such a huge closet!
Our room faced the street: till midnight there is (every night!) a bunch of men drinking, yelling, sometimes arguing - you won't sleep.
At 6 am a truck loads tand empties the garbage receptacles located in front of the hotel. Unless you are on pills or passed out, prepare for an early awakening!
The coffemaker was delivered on request - as advertised. And had to be changed because it wasn't working. The cups weren't cleaned - maybe I should request that to! Cable TV: some channels weren't working - problem solved after our annoying insistence to call the cable company.
Last not least: our prepaid receipt said all taxes included" (impostos e taxas). The tried to charge me with something like city tax (4 E/person/night). "It's the law - (sic).
A german couple, ckecking out before us, was also almost charged for wifi access - their receipt stated free wifi.
So, should you choose to stay there, keep and reed carefully your receipt and terms of reservation. And travel lightly and with earplugs!

Room Tip: Try another hotel!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Riwola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
#257 of 411 in Florence
703 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Adriatico
Grand Hotel Adriatico
#107 of 411 in Florence
1,591 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#88 of 411 in Florence
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
De Rose Palace Hotel
De Rose Palace Hotel
#223 of 411 in Florence
323 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Embassy
Hotel Embassy
#146 of 411 in Florence
850 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#137 of 411 in Florence
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti

Address: Via Maso Finiguerra 12R, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $88 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Ognissanti Hotel is located in an important 19th century building in the historical city center of Florence, on the corner of Borgo Ognissanti and Via Maso Finiguerra. Just minutes away from the Santa Maria Novella train station, from the main city monuments and the Exposition and Conference Center. Nearby there are some of the cities' finest restaurants and typical florentine "trattorias", all within walking distance. The rooms are furnished simply and functionally. WiFi internet connection is free of charge. The Hotel has special agreements with various garages in its surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing