We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place if you don't mind the cold and the hunger :)”
Review of Piccolo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Piccolo Hotel
Ranked #381 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Bucharest
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place if you don't mind the cold and the hunger :)”
Reviewed April 1, 2010

The breakfast is very poor, the rooms are crowded and cold and you should bring your own towels because theirs are a bad joke. They claim they have wi-fi, but nobody seems to figure out how it works. The only advantage is that it is close to city centre.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madalush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    26
    47
    29
    52
See reviews for
22
88
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Timaru
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

I arrived at this hotel in the evening and after buzzing in found it was on the second floor. After dragging my bags upstairs a rather rude young man gave me the key to my room. Unlike the pictures shown my room over looked the sewage pipes and I don't know what was worse the stale smoke smell or the sewage smell if you opened the window. The room appeared ok, but the bed had an old wire base that was lumpy and squeeked every time you moved. The bathroom was dirty and I wore flip flops to shower. The air conditioning didn't work, neither did the TV. Although you got to listern to the TV blaring from the reception, right next door. The day staff were more helpful, but all in all I did not enjoy my stay here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JiggyJ61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Booked this hotel cheaply online and was pleasantly surprised. The staff is young and helpful. Wifi was a bit spotty but if you need to you can sit in the breakfast area. Breakfast wasn't great but they will make you cheap coffee all day. Staff leaves in the evening so they give you a couple keys

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zemosabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Arrived, expecting what other reviewers had written. Not so. We had booked months ahead, But that did not matter. The only room they had was what is referred to Dantes. If you have the misfortune to get this room, go elsewhere. Its more like a cell than a hotel room. We asked to be moved the for the next evening, but they would not or could not make this happen. Far from the "little gem tucked away" as some would discribe. Moved across town to a "real hotel" the third night.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SailingOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights. Room was clean and spacious. Had private bath and AC. The included breakfast was very good. Great location. 15 minute walk to Duomo. 20 minute walk to train station. Rooms are a few flights of stairs though. Wasn't an issue for us but just be aware. Someone at front desk through 7pm each day which was nice if you need directions. Great stay. Nice staff.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcarr55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2009

I stayed in PICCOLO Hotel for one night with my partner in Room 2. The room was basic but please next time you visit this motel ask the owner to change the matress as it must be 20 years old and unconfortable! Other than that, this motel is an excellent location 10 minutes walk from Dome and the other attractions!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rou12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2008

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel directly from the website after reading reviews online. It offered a reasonable discount for rooms during the winter months and looked very pleasant from the photos.

It's more like a B&B but very cute and charming. Unfortunately it doesn't have a lift but this wasn't a real problem for us (especially after climbing up the steps of the Duomo! It is situated on a street that is lined with little star lights (I assume this was only for Christmas). It takes about 10-15 mins to walk into the city centre but upon leaving the hotel, you turn right and walk straight ahead and you reach the main square!

The breakfast was delicious and we were served a fresh coffee of our choice each morning. We had a problem with our sink not draining and informed the manager at breakfast and it was fixed by the time we arrived back early evening.

The television had a decent selection of channels, the bathroom was small but clean and our room was cleaned every day. I felt very safe there and would definitely stay there again the next time I visit Florence.

  • Liked — Location, breakfast room and discount during winter period.
  • Disliked — There was nothing that I didn't like!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lewlewlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Spagna
Hotel Spagna
#363 of 421 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Centro
Hotel Centro
#307 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#303 of 421 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#253 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Benvenuti Florence
Hotel Benvenuti Florence
#318 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Hotel Casa Lea
#352 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piccolo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolo Hotel

Property: Piccolo Hotel
Address: Via San Gallo 51, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #381 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Piccolo Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Piccolo is located in the center of Florence,in the very characteristic district of San Lorenzo, full of particular and Florentine shops and with a nice open market. Thanks to the central location, you can easily walk to the most important museums like the Galleria dell'Accademia, known for the David by Michelangelo, the Galleria degli Uffizi and keep walking to Piazza della Signoria, where Palazzo Vecchio is. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Piccolo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing