We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sept 2011 visit to Piccolo Hotel Florence”
Review of Piccolo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Piccolo Hotel
Ranked #366 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We visited this hotel Sept of 2011 for 3 days.
We enjoyed our stay very much.
The weather was very hot and the air conditioning was a wonderful treat.
The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable and firm. The bath and room were spotless.
It is located within walking distance to all sights.
The front desk staff were all very helpful.
The breakfast was good.
This is a modest hotel with a modest cost and was perfect for us.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank curtis c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 181 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2011

My sister and I stayed her last summer. I'm surprised at the recent negative reviews of the place. When we stayed there, they staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. We only ate breakfast there, but it was just fine. If you expect the Hilton, then stay at the Hilton. I loved this place! The location was great--easy walking distance to all the attractions and the train station. I would definitely stay there if I get the opportunity to travel to Florence again.

Room Tip: We booked online, and our room turned out fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anita1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We had booked this hotel as part of a package for my daughter. She goes to school in England and recently landed the role of "Clara" in "The Light in the Piazza." We thought it would be a great way to take a short break from school and do a little atmosphere research since the play is based in Florence, Italy.

Of course, as "Murphy's Law" would have it, she was booked to leave from London City airport on December 21, 2010. As you can guess, the weather was so severe that hers was one of thousands of flights that were cancelled as the London area airports came to a standstill.

We called Expedia to see what could be done about getting her rebooked for spring time since everything was cancelling and there were no guarantees of getting her there and back before having to return to school.

Expedia called the hotel and advised what had happened. Amazingly, the hotel said we didn't cancel in time and said a one night stay would be charged to my credit card. They were very rude and beligerent to the Expedia agent.

There is no way that we'll ever, ever, ever book or recommend this hotel. We'll definitely tell all we know to stay away from it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FloridaRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

This is definatley a budget hotel in the old part of town. Centrally located but definatley not flash. Airconditioning cost an extra 5 euros per night and the breakfast was the worst on our trip. The room was clean and overall not too bad , the bathroom was basic and whilst clean had a grotty feel about it. If you are looking to save money this hotel is Ok but if you can afford better,do so.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ferryman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

The hotel is close to everything and it is clean, but the front desk is very rude and obviously does not like Americans. The breakfast is a joke. Don't eat there. Florence is full of fabulous food and cafes, don't waste it on this stuff. Even the coffee comes out of a machine. The bathroom made huge noises every time you fulshed and you have to pay extra for AC, and trust me you will need it. The room is a good size, but the people who own the place are not very nice at all. You can stay at a better place for the same amount of money.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deanmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

I had a wonderful wonderful time in Florence- a great city. The hotel is in a great location. However, the owner of the hotel is disrespectful and rude. The reception closes at 7pm so if you are late then there will be no one to let you in. You can not use an iron and need to pay for your laundry to be ironed somewhere near by (3 Euros per item). You also have to pay 5 Euros per day to use the air conditioner which is old and doesn't do the job anyway! There are no phones in the rooms. The beds are old as well and the rooms are sometimes being cleaned and sometimes doesn't. It is quite during the night but it becomes very noisy at around 6 in the morning when the staff arrives to prepare breakfast.There were two helpful and friendly members of staff- I believe they were called Michaella and Anton- the other two- a father and his daughter were, as mentioned, simply rude and arrogant. There are so many hotels and B&B in Florence and I would strongly recommend that you will shop around- it is a cheep hotel and unfortunately- it is very much felt when you are staying there. I never before wrote a review about anything but felt strongly that I would like to share my experience with others particularly because of the way I was spoken to by the owner and his daughter.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carole019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

The breakfast is very poor, the rooms are crowded and cold and you should bring your own towels because theirs are a bad joke. They claim they have wi-fi, but nobody seems to figure out how it works. The only advantage is that it is close to city centre.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madalush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Aline
Hotel Aline
#305 of 411 in Florence
45 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Benvenuti Florence
Hotel Benvenuti Florence
#351 of 411 in Florence
472 reviews
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#191 of 411 in Florence
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#277 of 411 in Florence
258 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#152 of 411 in Florence
1,056 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#98 of 411 in Florence
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piccolo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolo Hotel

Address: Via San Gallo 51, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #366 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $40 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Piccolo Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Piccolo is located in the center of Florence,in the very characteristic district of San Lorenzo, full of particular and Florentine shops and with a nice open market. Thanks to the central location, you can easily walk to the most important museums like the Galleria dell'Accademia, known for the David by Michelangelo, the Galleria degli Uffizi and keep walking to Piazza della Signoria, where Palazzo Vecchio is. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Piccolo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing