We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a good hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delle Nazioni Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Delle Nazioni Hotel
Ranked #188 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“a good hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

the location is perfect..just next to SMN station so easily to access all places.
staff was friendly. free wifi available all the time. breakfast was sooooo limited.
the elevator is sooo slow. clean.
never forget to validate ur bus ticket cuz ull have to pay fees of 50euros and the police is sooo tough,wont discuss with u and will treat u in a bad way.

Room Tip: choose a room that is on the metro view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madonnakhalil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    509
    340
    104
    46
See reviews for
309
535
42
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos
Level Contributor
135 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very convenient to the train station and within walking distance to the Duomo. Nice breakfast room and large waiting area near lobby. Had a little bit of a "Hostel" feel with the young people but very adequate. Only complaint was that the rooms are small and do not have American style shower heads so that you can stand and shower.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichMLosGatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is the worst place I've stayed in all my travels, had a room on the 3rd floor, they made up 2 single beds side by side as single beds for a couple?? The mattresses were pretty much falling apart and so well used you almost fell through, woke up to bad back and neck pain. The bathroom layout is ridiculous if you have a shower you wet all the floor you need to stand on to use the toilet, the toilet had a broken seat and didn't flush (they fixed the flush after complaining several times). The aircon cannot be controlled in the room you have to call reception and they can adjust it for the whole floor, which was a pain when it sounds like a grinder and nobody else wants it turned off. All and all a very frustrating experience and I was glad I only spent 2 nights there but it ruined Florence for me and my partner.

Helpful?
1 Thank Aus1988
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
superfuffi, Direttore generale at Delle Nazioni Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are very sorry that your stay was not according with your expectations.We were surprised of your review but we are very sad that you have not informed us about your problems. We prepare the beds according the reservation we receive, we got a request for a twin beds not for a double, but for our staff was a great pleasure of making a double bed after your arrival. During this week, the Hotel Delle Nazioni is fully booked but none of our guests had this kind of problems. From your description we believe that your room had bathtub with a glass cover for the water and not the shower as all our rooms have the shower boxes. Another surprise was the description of mattresses, we've all changed earlier this year, maybe they are too new and hard for somebody. How you can read from other reviews, we are always available to satisfy the guest's requests, we are available to change room according with the availability on several occasion. After this, we really thank you for your review and we hope that in the next future you will like to be our guest again so that we can make your stay to be better than the last one.
Best regards
Giovanni Mariella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Got a very basic room which was not decorated fancy but was extremely clean. I was very pleased with the cleanliness of the room. Breakfast was regular- pastries, cheese, meats and coffee. Not a bad area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JetChic11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel is easily accessed from SMN train station which is about 100 metres away.

We flew into Pisa airport and got the train from there to Florence. You can buy train tickets (about 10 Euro) from arrivals in the airport and the train station is on the opposite side of the airport, just past departures. Once you are there, you have to validate your train ticket. Do this by slotting it into the machine on the platform. If you don't validate your ticket you could be fined 40 Euros (I think).

The train goes directly to Florence SMN train station, with a couple of stops on the way. The journey takes about an hour.

On arrival at Delle Nazioni we had to carry our cases upstairs to the reception area. There was no porter to help carry them. The staff were quite pleasant and welcoming, and we booked in quickly and were given directions to our room. Our room was in 129, which was on the first floor. We took the very small elevator (which often didn't work) up to the floor as there was no porters to help carry our luggage and found our room at the end of a very dark corridor. One of the things I noticed about this hotel was the lack of natural light.

Our room was very spacious and clean, but the view from the window was of concrete walls and roof tops and nothing else - if we had a choice we would not have chosen this room.

The bathroom was very very small and had a toilet, right by the door, a wash basin, bidet and a shower so small that you couldn't help knocking your elbows on the plastic walls whilst showering.

We noticed a smell of sewage on the first day there, but put this down to the fact that Florence is an old place. Also, the water wouldn't work on one occasion, so no chance of a shower on that day. We did mention it to the staff and they sorted it out quickly.

We were only given one pillow each to lie on and this provided me with a nasty headache by morning time. We requested more pillows and the hotel were happy to supply them. Also supplied in the room were towells, shower gel and soap and a hair dryer that, to be honest, was absoloutely useless and I had wished I had brought my own travel one from home.

There was a television in the room and I noticed on the hotels website FAQs it is asked if English speaking chanels are available to which they said there were as they had satelite television. Bearing this in mind, we could only find one English speaking chanel, Sky News, which repeated the same information over and over - so to watch anything else you would have to put up with Italian programmes and try to figure out what they were about if, like us, you can't speak Italian.

Breakfast is provided by the hotel and this is buffet style with a selection of breakfast cereals, bread, yoghurt, scrambled eggs, cheese, ham, tea, coffee and juice. There are no other facilities here for lunch or dinner. There is a bar, which we did not visit, and in here you can use the computers to access the internet (you need to get a username and password from reception for this - but its free).

Staff were polite and cheerful, especially the housekeeping staff.

The hotel is located next to the train station and within easy walking distance from all the major sites.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathjoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel is in a very good location. Just around the corner from the train station of Santa Maria Novello. I travelled with my 2 sisters and shared a room for 5 days. Our room was lovely and spacious, but unfortunately the bathroom was tiny, very crammed in. We had a small compact shower, the toilet and sink were okay and a bidet. But the stench coming from the bathroom was horrid! The bathroom and room was very clean apart from this sewage smell from the bathroom. The maid made the beds every day and we had clean towels daily. Unfortunately as we were on the first floor we had a very dissapointing view from our windows, brick walls!! The breakfast choices were good, something for everyone. The staff were polite and very helpful. The only downside to this hotel for me was one night we had no water for a shower and when we did we couldn't guarantee it would be hot! We didn't use the internet bar. This hotel is about 10 minutes from the centre. It is also good fif you like to do the sight seeing bus tours. As the bus stop is is just across the road past the train station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank curlywirlygirly05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Bella Firenze
Hotel Bella Firenze
#132 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#145 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#115 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#139 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#202 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#72 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delle Nazioni Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delle Nazioni Hotel

Property: Delle Nazioni Hotel
Address: Via Luigi Alamanni 15, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Delle Nazioni Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Delle Nazioni is located in the centre of Florence, 50 mt. From the main Railway station of Santa Maria Novella. Traditionally known as a comfort hotel, the Delle Nazioni has diversified and loyal custermers. All Florence major attractions are walking distance ( Cathedral, Ponte Vecchio,Uffizi, Piazza Signoria). Florence International Airport is located about 6 Km away, 15 minutes by taxi. In Room Facilities: Air Conditioning, Direct Dial Telephone, Safety deposit box, TV, Hair dryer. Facilities: Laubdry Service ( Week), Wireless connection in all hotel, Free internet Point. 24 Hours reception staff. F&B Facilities: Lobby Bar, Breakfast room: Cold European Buffet from 07.00 To 10.00 Am, Dispensing Machine: 2nd, 3rd and 5th Floor for soft drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your Delle Nazioni Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Delle Nazioni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing