We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, excellent bar staff!!”
Review of Hotel Degli Orafi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Degli Orafi
Ranked #30 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, excellent bar staff!!”
Reviewed May 2, 2010

First of all, we want to thank Massimo, the bar-tender, for his help, professionalism and for making our stay at Hotel degli Orafi even nicer.
The hotel is located in the heart of Firenze.The bar at the top floor has a nice terrace with a beautiful view. The service is excellent, the breakfast was really good.The staff at the reception was also very helpful and gentle.The rooms are clean and quiet. All was perfect for us at this hotel.
Hope to be there soon again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babi_mikroula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,062
    327
    62
    18
    9
See reviews for
296
807
73
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ledyard, CT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2010

A beautiful hotel in a great location is not always easy to find. We did it, with the Hotel Degli Orafi. Because I had told the hotel that we were celebrating 25 years of marriage on our trip, there was a lovely bottle of sparkling wine waiting for us when we arrived-- and it was very welcome after a long day of traveling. The staff was always attentive and helpful in everything we inquired about be it a reservation to the Uffizi or a recommendation for an authentic Tuscan restaurant. Our room was large with a beautifully appointed bathroom and a view of the Duomo. We would definitely go back here again and will not hesitate to recommend it to friends or family who travel to this area.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurahc84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

The hotel is conviently placed right next to the Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizi and all the other main sites are in easy walking distance- though take care crossing the street next to the Arno. We got a cab from Florence airport and were dropped off right outside - I would reccomend getting a cab if you arrive at the train station as it would be too far to walk with suitcases. The hotel is more modern than I expected inside but the room was spacious, clean and well appointed. A good buffet breakfast is served in a spectactular room - fellow guests phtographed the ceiling and the buffet! Staff were frendly and helpful but we didn't use them for resteraunt reccomendations so I can't comment on these. The bar on the top floor has large picture windows and gives a great view of the city and the Duomo. The bar serves light meals and drinks and seemed expensive at first, but when we realised what cafes charged elsewhere in Florence it appeared better value.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamilton338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2010

This is a very nice, charming hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are cozy, well-kept and clean. Had a delicious 'melanzane alla parmigiana' at the hotel's restaurant and the Prosecco was so refreshing.
Location is unbeatable - next to Ponte Vecchio. I do recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AleCQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles Scotland
Level Contributor
284 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2010

Wonderful place to stay ,service understated but always there when required.Bedrooms very nice and a good size,breakfast buffet style with a wide varied choice.In the centre of town all main tourist sites easily reached on foot from hotel.Very nice bar with roof terrace and great views of city.Massimo the barman very pleasent and helpful .Will return hopefully

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

Besides being a wonderful hotel, this one is about location, location. A stone's throw (literally out the front door and to the left is the back of the Uffizzi Gallery, and out the front to the right it's a half block walk to thePonte Vecchio.

Our room was a suite actually and while the view was of a walled opening - it was nice to have a sitting area, two bathrooms and a kitchen. Our traveling companions had a suite with many differnet levels - a little more dangerous if you walk in your sleep, - but a view of the duomo out their window.

The breakfast provided was the best of our trip - lots of different things to try, plus a beautiful setting in this old convent. (though it might have been a monastery). You can almost hear them singing!

The staff was very friendly and accomodating, making dinner reservaitons and giving us freindly tips. A great restaurant was Il Latini (two seatings nighlty and reservations needed - great food, lots of it, and quite reasonable. Buca de Mario was another great spot.

We love Florence and all it has to offer, from it's freindly people, restaurants, museums, sightseeing,churches and places to stay. This is our second trip there and there will probably be another soon!

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Italylover47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

This hotel was the best one that we stayed at out of our 5 week trip. Idealy situated beside the Uffizi Gallery the Arno River and the Ponte Vecchio and about 12 minutes walk to the train station unless you get lost. We were warmly welcomed given a map of the city and some of the sights were pointed out to us and we were told what was at each site. The room we were given was huge and boasted a king size bed, large seperate bathroom with double basins, a good size bath and shower over the bath. The bedroom was appoximately 16m2 in size not counting the walk in area that had the wardrobe. Internet access was Euro 5 per half hour and I was able to get it from the bedroom and the breakfasts were the best I had had in Europe. As we were there over New Year the hotel gave us a gift of chocolate and a voucher for 2 free drinks at the upstairs bar and invite to snacks at the bar also. The only downside to new Year was the fact that the locals let off fireworks until early in the morning and the noise is like a bomb going off as it reverberates through the narrow streets.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#45 of 422 in Florence
1,495 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
3,469 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#31 of 422 in Florence
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Continentale
Continentale
#44 of 422 in Florence
842 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 422 in Florence
2,729 reviews
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Degli Orafi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Degli Orafi

Property: Hotel Degli Orafi
Address: Lungarno degli Archibusieri, 4, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#22 Family Hotel in Florence
#25 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#29 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Degli Orafi 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 4-star luxury hotel is located in an ancient Florentine building dating back to the 13th century. You will find it in the centre of the city next to the River Arno and just a few steps away from the famous Ponte Vecchio & the Uffizi Gallery.The Luxury Hotel Degli Orafi, in the heart of the historic centre, has got everything on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Degli Orafi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Degli Orafi Florence
Degli Orafi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing