We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Hotel Degli Orafi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Degli Orafi
Ranked #31 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed June 11, 2009

We had a great time at the Hotel Degli Orafi! It's such a perfect location! We had booked two standard double rooms but they upgraded our daughters to an apartment of their own. Our traditional standard room was very nice, had a pretty view, vaulted beamed ceiling, and a great bathroom with excellent amenities. Their apartment had two bedrooms with single twin beds in each, two full bathrooms, living room and well equipped kitchen all decorated in a modern IKEA type style. They were very happy to have their own bathrooms. We especially enjoyed the roof top bar as an escape from the crowded streets of Florence. It was great to be able to sit out there with wine and hors d'oeuvres and enjoy the fantastic view of the River Arno and the Duomo. We happened to be celebrating a birthday and the staff sent up a tray with a bottle of champagne to our room. The breakfast room is gorgeous with a large selection of food. The staff was very helpful in recommending restaurants, answering questions, etc. We especially enjoyed the Ristorante Buca Mario. We drove to the hotel and they had a service that came to pick up the car at the hotel, stored it, and then returned it when we were ready to leave. Loved the Hotel Degli Orafi and would recommend it to anyone!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Go Travel Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,052
    326
    63
    18
    9
See reviews for
292
803
73
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Penhook, VA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2009

The Hotel degli Orafi is very clean, has a friendly and helpful staff, an excellent breakfast and is very conviently located to all the attractions of Florence. Our room was very nice, although the shower stall was small and cramped. The one problem is that if you are arriving by car, the hotel is rather tricky to find. We crossed and recrossed the Arno three times in our efforts to find the place, even after asking directions in another hotel. It's on a small side street off the Lungarno and easy to miss. The many one-way streets compound the problem. Once there, however, it's a great place to be.
There is no restaurant (except for breakfast) but there are many excellent restaurants within easy walking distance. There is a very nice roof-top terrace and bar. If we return to Florence, we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VATraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2009

As a business traveler for over 15 years I've stayed in my share of hotels around the world. But I have to say that Hotel degli Orafi in Florence gives even the Ritz Paris a run for its money!

To say the location is perfect is an understatement. It is located in what feels like the center of the city- literally steps from Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio, and just around the corner from Piazza della Signoria. This makes it an absolute joy to walk home to every night.

The bathroom was spacious and had unparalleled water pressure as well as a full bath, double sinks and gorgeous modern fixtures. Trust me, this matters; especially when you're doing six-hour walking excursions through the city and surrounding countryside.

Breakfast was excellent and included caviar, meats and cheeses, granola, several flavors of yogurt, full pastry and bread selections as well as fresh juice and fruits. It really seems like they deliberately try to cater to all cultures, diets and tastes. Coffee and teas are all made to order by very efficient and courteous waitstaff.

Every night they left little gifts for us at turndown service as well as information on the weather for the following day. Each afternoon the staff at the front desk would offer suggestions for dinner and make reservations for us- and each time was a real treat. (We definitely felt as though we had the "inside scoop" on restaurants -- and did I mention the food was just wonderful?!)

Oh, and be sure to have a pre-dinner drink with Mossimo on the fifth floor terrace and lounge! He's a riot and we had so much fun drinking wine and taking in the breathtaking views of Il Duomo on one side and Santo Spirito on the other side!

We also stayed at the Grand Hotel Florence during this trip. At almost three times the price, the Grand Hotel represents nowhere NEAR the value that Hotel degli Orafi does. In fact I would rate them equal in service and amenities, though they're very different in terms of "style".

If you're looking for a magic getaway to Italy and Florence is in your plans, don't waste your time looking any further! Book this hotel now and consider paying extra for a river view. You will not be disappointed with this little boutique gem located in the heart of old town Florence.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequentflyer_02111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2009

My wife and I recently stayed at the Degli Orafi for four nights in May. The hotel is perfectly situated between the Uffizi and Ponte Vecchio and is in easy walking distance to/from all the main sights. They have a very good breakfast, with both cold and hot foods, and make excellent coffee to order. The staff is exceptionally friendly and took care of all our needs, including reserving advance tickets to museums and arranging for private tours in the surrounding Tuscan country side. A wonderful experience all around.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DcDCTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2009

So my partner and I spent 2 nights at the Hotel Degli Orafi as part of our time in Florence. We arrived in Florence from Venice and upon arrival at the hotel we were greeted by Nina at the front desk who checked us in and was more than polite and gracious. She gave us a map of the area and made us dinner reservations at a really great restaurant.
The first room was well decorated and had everything one needs for a successful stay in Florence. The decor was modern and reminded me of W hotels only not as darkly lit. Our first night as part of turn down they gave us t-shirts which was a nice touch.
I would say the best feature of the hotel is the location. It is located right on the Arno River between the Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizi Gallery. The location cannot be matched.
There is an upstairs bar with a roof terrace which gives you stunning views of Florence while you sip a glass of wine and take it in. Massimo at the bar is great. We paid for the breakfast and it was well worth it. The food was amazing and the service was stellar. We have stayed in many nice hotels and this was one of the best. The price was good for the hotels in the area, the location can't be beat and the service was top notch. What more can you ask for? Our next trip to Florence will include a stay at the Hotel Degli Orafi.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Epicaricacy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester. MA USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2009

This was my second stay at the hotel and it was just as wonderful as the first. The staff, the location, the breakfast and the roof top bar all make for a wonderful stay in Florence. My only complaint are the mattress' are a little hard for my liking. I am planning to retun in October of this year and will again stay here.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laineybgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2009

Dissappointing.... Paid for a single supplement with one bed got 2 twin beds. Room faced the back of the hotels construction site which was noisy at 3:00 am with people passing by and partying.
The room I had was on the same floor as breakfast -so the entire floor had a BAD BAD SMELLeach time you landed off the elevator rooftop bar was my saving grace after shopping all day, nice bartender Massimo, probably the smartest employee I met. HE CARED that I was unhappy!Staff at front desk should learn how to speak and understand english speaking people. Asked for a wake up call for 4:45 am but got it at 4:15 only to hear, sorry I got the wrong room! REALLY how dumb at that hour to make a mistake. I will say, good location on the arno. But too many other hotels in Florence to deal with this!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunnsea302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Managing Director at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, May 29, 2009
Dear Mrs. Lowy,

Following to your kind e-mail, ,we wish to apologize for all the inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay in Florence. We are deeply sorry about the bad impression we left you in less than 24 hrs, considering you checked-in late morning and checked-out at 6 am the day after

At your arrival we accommodated you in a standard twin for sole use (as requested and stated in your reservation) and we didn’t receive any immediate complaint from you. We could have changed your room to an upper floor with a double bed if you had requested it. We always try to be very helpful regarding these matters, we are aware how important is to listen and fulfil our clients needs and demands.
We hope you can give us another chance to show you our kindness and attention, which is also well witnessed by the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor. Please accept our apologies since we would very much like to welcoming you in our hotel again.


Yours Sincerely,

Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#44 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Continentale
Continentale
#42 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Degli Orafi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Degli Orafi

Property: Hotel Degli Orafi
Address: Lungarno degli Archibusieri, 4, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#22 Family Hotel in Florence
#26 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#29 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Degli Orafi 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 4-star luxury hotel is located in an ancient Florentine building dating back to the 13th century. You will find it in the centre of the city next to the River Arno and just a few steps away from the famous Ponte Vecchio & the Uffizi Gallery.The Luxury Hotel Degli Orafi, in the heart of the historic centre, has got everything on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Degli Orafi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Degli Orafi Florence
Degli Orafi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing