We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings but still good”
Review of Hotel Degli Orafi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Degli Orafi
Ranked #35 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2014

We where a family of 4 which booked there 2 bdr suite/appartement for 1 night. The price under 400euro in a good value. Very difficult to find, we had to pay a taxi driver to drive in front of us to the hotel.When we arrived the bellboy came and took our luggage and we parked the car on the pavement ready to be picked up for a space in a private garage.
We where way to early for check in so the friendly lady in the reception stored our luggage and reccomended a nice trattoria nearby. The lunch was pretty good. We returned to the hotel and the room was still not ready,so she offered us a drink at the rooftop bar( which was not necessary since it was still before check in time), but a nice gesture. A member of the staff came and showed us to our suite. It was huge, and in a secluded part of the hotel with a private elevator. The suite had a hall, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a kitchenette and a large livingroom. The standard was pretty simple, not luxurious at all. All the furniture was a bit worn out and stains on the walls from leakage. But for the price we where satisfied. Beds where good, service was very good, ameneties in the bathroom ok, value very good, standard could be better. Location was perfect, short distance to everything. So all in all a good stay, but with a little refurb in the suite this would be excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank norvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us .Thank you for your positive comment about the hotel and our location.
We look forward to your next stay with us!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,523)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Degli Orafi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 481 of 1,523 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

Having booked this hotel on a deal through booking.com, we were delighted when we arrived. Cheaper and more beautiful that many less pleasant hotels in London. And what a location!

First challenge was finding it by car. But trust the staff and the directions and map they give you. Yes you drive slightly into a pedestrianised area, but that is correct.

To be located almost adjacent to Ponte vecchio is amazing, within walking distance of all sights is wonderful.

The room had charm. Bathroom was slightly dated, but was honestly not a problem.

The seating areas on each floor showing some of the original building really add character.

The view from the breakfast room window over the river was amazing, and to have your Welcome soft drink (which includes Prosecco) on the roof terrace with views to the Duomo is a wonderful experience.

All of the staff were wonderful, helpful and pleasant.

I overheard the staff say to a potential customer that they were fully booked til 20 Oct. That is surely the sign of a good hotel!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank FS82551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for your valuable feedback. Your wonderful comments regarding the hotel’s location, guest rooms and service is highly appreciated . I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will come back again, very soon.

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Can't recommend the Hotel Degli Orafi enough!! The room was spectacular, the location was amazing (right on the Arno just a few steps from the Ponte Vecchio), and the rooftop bar was such a great place to see the entire city! Also, the breakfast was great, and if you had a table by the window you overlook the Arno. There are so many incredible restaurants just steps from the hotel also.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bianca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review about our hotel!
I am delighted to read that our hotel was up to your expectations, that we were able to provide you the positive experience we endeavor to give to all our valued guests.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon!
Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Our travel agent recommended this hotel and it was perfect. This is the hotel where the movie "Room with a View" was filmed. The location is awesome, right on the river by the famous Ponte Vecchio (Old Bridge) and next to the Galleria Degli Uffizi, one of the world's greatest galleries, which contains Michelango's "Don Tondo", da Vinci's "Annunciation" and Botticilli's "The Birth of Venus and "Primavera". Also a couple of blocks from the Loggia Dei Lanzi, an open-air sculpture gallery including many very famous statues.
Our standard view room was not huge but very comfortable. There is an excellent breakfast buffet that was included in our package, and we loved the roof top lounge for cocktail hour and after dinner for a late night glass of wine to end the day. The staff could not be more accommodating and courteous.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank do1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice words regarding your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us and that you had a wonderful vacation in Florence!
We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We had a great experience here over our 5 day stay. It is so convenient next to the Uffizi and Palazzo Vecchio. The room was on two levels and comfortable. The breakfast room is beautiful. The front door staff couldn't have been more helpful at all times. The roof terrace is lovely with super views of the city. One of the best hotels in which we have stayed for all these reasons. HIghly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nealuren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review on Tripadvisor!
We hope that you will find the time to come back to Florence any time soon and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again!

Warm regards,
Rossell Nelli
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We booked two double rooms. On check in we were upgraded to two studio apartments. They were a little bit away from the rest of the hotel rooms but were excellent. Plenty of space and very comfortable. Hotel is in a great location next to Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizi Gallery. Still pretty quiet. Nice bar at the top of the hotel where you can get an evening drink with great views (with a free soft drink - including Prosecco and Beer). Good breakfast selection in a very classy room. All in all very good.

Room Tip: Stay in a studio
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments on Tripadvisor, it was a real pleasure to welcome you and your family to Hotel degli Orafi!

The entire team is thrilled that you enjoyed a relaxing stay with us and we definitively hope to welcome you back next year!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Our stay at the Hotel Degli Orafi was average at best. I found the front desk staff to be courteous but not very genuine or friendly. The hotel itself was in nice condition and was a good size. Our room was in a terrible location. We were placed in a room right next to the kitchen and near the breakfast room. I was woken up very early every morning with clanging pots, pans and dishes. I should have asked to move to another room. I also was not impressed with the breakfast. The pastries were not very fresh. It was very lackluster. Next time I will definitely stay at a hotel in another area of the city that isn't just shuffling tourists in and out.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor after your recent stay with us.
We'd like to start with saying that it's very disappointing to hear that you didn't find our hotel genuine and friendly, like most of our guests do. Of course we would have changed you to another room if you'd told us, we are used to solving problems every day. It is a real pity when our customers don't communicate to us, since we are busy serving all our guests and therefore cannot know every individual problem that might occur. Our staff is very attentive and usually pick-up if something is wrong but in this case they thought everything was fine
Our breafkast meal has a vaste choice of products, also for allergics upon request. I am sorry you did not appreciate this gem, open until 11 am in the morning! Not common in most of other hotels. I happy that you at least liked the hotel and that it looked fine to you.

We would be happy to seeing you again in Florence!
Warm regards
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 411 in Florence
1,550 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#11 of 411 in Florence
3,519 reviews
Uffizi
Continentale
Continentale
#33 of 411 in Florence
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 411 in Florence
2,808 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#27 of 411 in Florence
1,670 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#60 of 411 in Florence
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Degli Orafi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Degli Orafi

Address: Lungarno degli Archibusieri, 4, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#22 Family Hotel in Florence
#29 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#29 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $186 - $532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Degli Orafi 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 4-star luxury hotel is located in an ancient Florentine building dating back to the 13th century. You will find it in the centre of the city next to the River Arno and just a few steps away from the famous Ponte Vecchio & the Uffizi Gallery.The Luxury Hotel Degli Orafi, in the heart of the historic centre, has got everything on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Degli Orafi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Degli Orafi Florence
Degli Orafi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing