We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, first rate location”
Review of Hotel Degli Orafi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Degli Orafi
Ranked #30 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, first rate location”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed with husband and 9 yr old in late August for, very unfortunately, only one night. Wished we had stayed longer. Everything is first rate: lovely public spaces, good breakfast, extremely clean, nice room amenities. Very good value for the great rate we got through Olotel.

If you are serious about the Uffizi, this hotel couldn't be better: it is right next door. Get a 'Friends of the Uffizi' pass that allows you to go in and out as many times as you want without lining up. That way, you can spend an hour and then go clear your head and come back again.. and again... and again. Fantastic value since it also includes unlimited access to the Academy and other attractions as well. A much better deal than the 'Florence pass' which only permits one entry per museum/attraction. (Tip: if you have enough lead time, order the 'Friends' pass online before you leave home and they'll mail it to you so you don't even have to bother picking it up when you arrive).

Back to the hotel... the only thing that stops me from giving this 5 stars is the rock hard mattress and pillows. I like a firm mattress but this was quite something else. Mind you, that seemed to be the trend in all the places we stayed in Italy so maybe this is a preference for Italians? But, despite that, I would highly, highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GardenCityTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and the time you took to share your experience.
I am sorry you didn't prefer the orthopedic mattress that we use , designed to properly support the spine but we inform you that it is possible to ask for a additional softer bedding on top. We are happy to help our guests with any request they need!
Thank you once again and welcome back to Florence!

Warm regards
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,062
    327
    62
    18
    9
See reviews for
296
807
73
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
La Crescent, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I booked this hotel from the States before leaving on vacation. It sounded great and overall it was, but it was also a bit strange in the layout. We had a Suite, Room 51 which was all by itself on the 5th floor. Funny thing was that there was more than one 5th floor. The other 5th floor took you to the terrace bar. You walked into the suite and there was a nice seating area to the right, to the left was the master suite, but then to the right also were steps up, and then up again, and then up again to the second bedroom. To use the second bathroom you had to go down about 9 steps. All this didn't really make a lot of difference, but it could have if my mother's hip wasn't at it's best. I guess this hotel must have been added on to and there was no way to connect the two on the same levels. It was very confusing to find your way around. I guess I just wish that the description had been a bit better. Staff was great and we were recommended two of the best restaurants ever. Front desk staff was very friendly and accomodating. The steps in the suite have made for many a good laugh since our return.

Room Tip: Depending on what you needs for a room, just stick with a regular room on one of the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.
We are very thankful for your kind words and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us.
It is though very unpleasing to hear that you found the hotel confusing. Usually our clients get escorted to their rooms upon check-in, whilst the porter or reception staff explain the best way to get to the room. In your case, the Suite apartment is located just in another wing, next to the other part of the hotel. This wing is a restored part, an old tower with the modern suites with a direct entrance from the street level. It also has its own elevator and is connected with other part of the hotel on some levels. We will take in consideration your comment about this and see how we can make it clear enough for all our clients.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we all look forward seeing you back in a not too distant future!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I've had the good fortune to do a lot of traveling, albeit mostly on business. However, a lot of that business travel has included a number of fine hotels across the United States and Canada. The Degli Orafi should certainly be considered among the best of the best. It is small by most standards, intimate almost; but, the staff and the amenities are World Class.

A conversation with the people at the front desk was like having a conversation with a good friend. Their advice was invaluable, accurate and added to the enjoyment of a wonderful vacation. The complimentary breakfast was unrivaled with something to please everyone's palate and without question the best coffee I've ever tasted. And, to top things off, it is located within walking distance of just about everything you'd want to see in Florence: just a block or two from the Ponte Vecchio.

I've already recommended it and do so without reservation. If I were to return to Florence - and, I will - you will be able to reach me at the Degli Orafi, that's how good it was!

Room Tip: Our room was a couple of floors up and faced the river... I'd ask for the same room again if I c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We cannot thank you enough for this wonderful review of your recent stay with us.
To hear that our hotel and service is 'World class' and seen as the 'Best of the best' is very satisfacotory and it makes me, once again so proud of our team! We are indeed a little hotel but as stated many times, with a lot of heart and character. We strive very hard to give our guests a personal touch, a home in Florence!
It will be our pleasure to welcome you back for another memorable stay at Hotel degli Orafi!

Warm regards
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Degli Orafi for a girls' 50th birthday reunion with two other ladies. We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we stepped in the front door. Our bags were taken to our rooms where we discovered that we had been given a free upgrade. We each had a one bedroom apartment on the same floor. The apartments were amazing. Each has a living room, kitchen with all necessities including a dish washer and stocked fridge, dining table, beautiful bedroom and marbled bathroom. Air conditioning was appreciated. The breakfast room with the painted ceiling and chandeliers made the breakfast buffet a very relaxing and Italian event. The food was yummy too. My favourite place in the hotel was the rooftop patio. Unbelievable views over the river and the city, the fantastic service, and listening to the music being played from the river bridge all added to the experience. This hotel is located right on the river and very centrally located, a short walk to all the sights. This will be the only hotel that I would return to if I ever return to Florence and I hope I do as it is a very beautiful city.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marygall63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comment after your recent stay with us!
It was nice to hear that you appreciated our free upgrade to one of the large and comfortable suites. I am also happy you enjoyed our other services an that you found our staff helpful and kind, something I'm very proud of and that will be a great source of motivation for them.
The whole team joins me to say - Welcome back!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A lttle gem.Great location,very clean, fabulous breakfast buffet with excellent choices, nice friendly staff .I recomemnd very highly.Every day fresh clean linens. Rooms are very quiet ,good air condition.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank KurtG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for recommending Hotel degli Orafi on TripAdvisor and for this kind review!
It was a real pleasure to welcome you in Florence and we hope to be able to see you back in a not too distant future,

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We truly enjoyed our visit to Florence and this hotel. It has so much history, charm and character. It is so close to all the main sights, it was easy to walk back to the room and rest a bit and then go back out for more sight seeing. The room was nice, decent size and the bathroom was also pleasant. The breakfast was some of the best we had on our entire 2 1/2 week trip through Italy. And the room they serve breakfast in is amazingly beautiful. I dream to go back some day!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheff99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback after your recent stay with us!
It is very pleasant to hear that you found our hotel full of charm and character, so important in order to create a hotel with its own personality. We are lucky to be in this fantastic location with all the important sights next to us and to host some piece of history inside as well, like our beautiful breakfast room, an ancient ballroom!
Hopefully your dream will come true, so we get the chance to welcome you back to Hotel degli Orafi very soon!

Warm regards
Rossella Nelli
Managin Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

In a city full of location, the proximity of this hotel to the Ponte Vecchio and Uffizi coupled with its charming appointments makes it a standout. We traveled with our eight-month-old and were impressed by the inviting manner of the hotel staff and the spaciousness of our room. The bathroom was modern with an excellent shower and the rooftop bar with its views and superb barkeeps provided a great way to end our evenings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4me2travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice words regarding your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us and that you had a wonderful vacation together with your little baby!
It is very comforting to hear that my staff took good care of you and hopefully we will meet again, very soon!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#45 of 422 in Florence
1,495 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
3,469 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#31 of 422 in Florence
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Continentale
Continentale
#44 of 422 in Florence
842 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 422 in Florence
2,729 reviews
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Degli Orafi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Degli Orafi

Property: Hotel Degli Orafi
Address: Lungarno degli Archibusieri, 4, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#22 Family Hotel in Florence
#25 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#29 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Degli Orafi 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 4-star luxury hotel is located in an ancient Florentine building dating back to the 13th century. You will find it in the centre of the city next to the River Arno and just a few steps away from the famous Ponte Vecchio & the Uffizi Gallery.The Luxury Hotel Degli Orafi, in the heart of the historic centre, has got everything on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Degli Orafi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Degli Orafi Florence
Degli Orafi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing