We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Room with a view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Degli Orafi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Degli Orafi
Ranked #31 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Room with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have just got back from an amazing holiday in Florence! I stayed at the Hotel Degli Orafi which I thought was one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in and which truly deserves its 4 star rating!
The hotel is family run and attention to detail is faultless. On arrival we were presented with an invitation for a free welcome drink in there terrace bar on the 5th floor which has amazing views!
And in my room was a gift of a night shirt - something I have never received from a hotel.
The location was very close to everything and what made it even more special, i found out the movie "A room with a view was filmed there" perfect!!

Room Tip: Simply ask for a room with a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesK20012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your amazing review of our hotel!
The hotel was indeed the setting for James Ivory’s film “A Room with a View” and hosts the beautiful room with a marvellous terrace overlooking the Arno river and Ponte Vecchio bridge.
Unique in its history, Florentine design, views and location the hotel is a perfect starting point for a comfortable and attractive stay.
I am so glad you appreciated our care and attention with the welcome drink and free gift!
After a long day travelling what could be better than a cool drink on our Roof top bar and then change into a comfy T-shirt.
Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in a not too distant future!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,029
    319
    63
    18
    9
See reviews for
284
785
71
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed here on our first stop in Italy and not to sure what to expect from European hotels, what a wonderful surprise. Beautiful hotel, rooms were generous in size and comfortable, staff was friendly and knowledable,and this had the BEST breakfast of any place we stayed in Italy! Location is very good for walking to all the great sites. Roof top lounge with great view of Duomo was a wonderful place for a pre-dinner drink. Loved this place!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caligirl311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel!
I am so glad you enjoyed our delicous American buffet breakfast and that you found our hotel friendly and accomodating.

We will be waiting for you in Florence for your next trip to Italy!
Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn Heights
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

If you are looking for a upscale hotel in a great location (and the price to match), the Hotel Degli Orafi is a great choice. My wife and I stayed here for three nights on our two-week, 10th wedding anniversary trip to Italy in May 2012. The staff is friendly and gave us great restaurant recommendations. Breakfast was excessive. The room was spotless clean, if a little small, and the bathroom was one of the best of the trip, with a towel-warmer, which was great when we had to dry some hand-washed laundry overnight. They even do the little perks, like free T-shirts. It is easily walk-able from the train station, on the Arno, and literally right around the corner form the Uffizi. All that said all this, on our next trip (planned for later this year), we are going to skip over the Arno for the authenticity and lower-prices on the other side of the river. Florence is such a compact city, and I don't know that the location -- while, again, fabulous -- is worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheyeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel!
We are happy to hear that you were satisfied and hope to have the chance to welcome you again for another memorable stay, so hopefully you won't choose another option for your next trip! If you are interested you can also read about our history on our website and get to know even more about this fantastic location, in the heart of Florence! I am happy you liked your room but would also like to inform you that our Superior rooms and Suite's are more spacious for a longer stay. Usually, if you book in advance you can find very good offers for these upper room categories!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights for her birthday as part of a trip around a few Italian cities, we arrived by train and a short taxi ride (10 Euros) through the busy streets and we arrived at the hotel which is brilliantly located close to the Ponte Vecchio.

Our room was actually a small suite or apartment, with are large kitchen / lounge and an excellent sized bedroom and bathroom. We had only booked a standard room so this was a lovely surprise. The location of the hotel could not be better for all the attractions and as the Uffisi Museum was just next door, I actually went round to the ticket office before breakfast to buy our tickets for later that day to avoid the queues.

The second day of our stay was my wife’s birthday and on our return to the room we found a bottle of bubbly complements of the hotel for her birthday with was a lovely gesture.

Reception were very helpful with any requests things like train times or ordering a taxi and the whole stay was great, from the great range at breakfast to the roof top terrace and bar which was wonderful to sit and relax in.

There is everything you could wish for with this hotel and location.Perfect for a long or short stay in Florence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mepdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay with us.
Your detailed description of a enjoyable stay with us makes me very happy and proud. The small touch of a complimentary gift for a special occasion will indeed brighten up anyone's day and I am so happy you appreciated this little thought from us.
Hopefully we will be able to see you again, in a nearby future for another Hotel degli Orafi experience,

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrien Springs
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights here. The service was superb. The staff were very delightful and helpful. The hotel location is adjacent to the Arno river and near the ponte vechio bridge ( which is a great landmark to use in finding the hotel). This hotel has a very nice little restaurant on top where you can see the duomo while you eat inside or see the Arno river off the far end of the outside deck. At the end of a touristy day it was great to not try to find somewhere to eat, but just wander upstairs for food and wine. The breakfasts are unbelievable. Beautiful frescos on ceiling in dining room, and views of the Arno river off one end.. I almost hate to share my review because I would like to return next year and would hate to not stay here! Thanks hotel duomo staff!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malloryo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with us and other travelers on Tripadvisor! Hopefully you will be able to come back to us next year, just remember to send us an email as soon as you can. We will be waiting for your return!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I booked a suite... Although not cheap, the suite was a lovely size... A cooking area , lounge area , bathroom and bedroom... A bit special! Breakfast was served in a beautiful room of palatial style... Lovely! A seasoned traveler who rarely revisits will in this case!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for these nice and generous comments and for sharing your experience with us.
Indeed, our entire team does the utmost to take excellent care of all our guests and we aim to make everyone feel like home.
We look forward seeing you again very soon and wish you a happy spring!

Warm regards
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife, daughter and I enjoyed our stay at this fine hotel. We had a room that had 2 bathrooms on 2 floors. The beds were comfortable, the rooms clean, and the bathrooms modern. We loved the location: next to the Uffizi Museum and on the river. The breakfast room was beautiful with excellent food. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. We arrived after a very cool rainy day and the room had a slightly musty smell but this is the only negative aspect (highly outweighed by the several positive aspects of this hotel), I would definitely stay there agin and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vinnyjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience with us.
We’re so pleased to hear that you and your family had a wonderful stay in Florence. We hope you will choose us again for your next vacation, hopefully we can then greet you back with a sunnier weather!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Continentale
Continentale
#44 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Pitti
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
#21 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Degli Orafi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Degli Orafi

Property: Hotel Degli Orafi
Address: Lungarno degli Archibusieri, 4, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#22 Family Hotel in Florence
#25 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#29 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Degli Orafi 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 4-star luxury hotel is located in an ancient Florentine building dating back to the 13th century. You will find it in the centre of the city next to the River Arno and just a few steps away from the famous Ponte Vecchio & the Uffizi Gallery.The Luxury Hotel Degli Orafi, in the heart of the historic centre, has got everything on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Degli Orafi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Degli Orafi Florence
Degli Orafi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing