We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Service”
Review of Hotel Degli Orafi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Degli Orafi
Ranked #35 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We booked this hotel as an Expedia hotel + flight package and stayed for 5 nights. This hotel is in the best possible location for sightseeing in Florence. It is right on the Arno river and right next door to the Uffizi Gallery. It is within a 15 minute walk of all the major sightseeing venues. We had a wonderful room (#208) with a large terrace overlooking the narrow medieval street along side the Uffizi. The room was spacious, very clean and nicely furnished. The reception staff were all friendly, efficient, and helpful. Breakfast, in a delightful room with a frescoed ceiling and views of the Arno, was included with the room and we thought the quality of the food and service was very good. We gave this hotel a 4 instead of a 5 because the bed and the pillows were too hard for our liking. Two recent European hotel stays, one in Barcelona and one in Amsterdam, where the beds were firm but not hard, have convinced us that hard beds are not always the norm when traveling in Europe. All things considered, we would still highly recommend this hotel for its service and location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrequentTraveler1058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel!
We are happy to hear that you were satisfied and hope to have the chance to welcome you back to us for another memorable stay.
I am sorry you found the bed and pillows too hard, it would have been our pleasure to help you adjust this matter. We have both down&feather and synthetic fiber pillows and always leave an extra pillow in the closet.

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

705 - 711 of 1,563 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

Just spent 10 days at the wonderful Hotel Degli Orafi. One word sums it up...amazing! Room spacious and truly "with a view" and perfectly appointed with king size bed, marble washroom facilities and heated towel racks. The Orafi rooftop bar and dining area offers an unparalleled view of Firenze...the Arno, Ponte Vecchioto and Vasari Corridor to one side and the omnipresent Duomo and Palazzo Vecchio to the other. The quaint lift is a marvel to behold and the entire site is just perfectly laid out with sitting areas on every floor and a spectacular breakfast dining area (breakfasts included) where attentive staff cater to your every early morning whim.
There cannot be a better location from which to base your visit to see this incredible city...thank you to all the great folks at the Orafi...we will be back (according to Il Porcellino)!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank George Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.
We are very thankful for your kind words and are very happy to hear that you loved staying with us.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you back for another memorable stay at Hotel degli Orafi!

Warm regards
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

First time to Florence and the staff at the hotel made us really welcome. They were extremely helpful and able to give us loads of advice and recommended some lovely restaurants which they then booked for us. We had one of the Apartments which came with a kitchen. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast which is included in the room rate must be one of the best that I have ever had. The choice was amazing. If I go back to Florence I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Carolyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a positive review!
It is wonderful to hear that your first stay in Florence was a success and that we were a part of it. You made us very proud, thank you.
We will be here waiting to welcome you back again, for your next stay!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My daughter and I just had the greatest stay in Florence. The entire trip to Florence was superb with day trips out to Venice (by high speed train- clean, comfortable, fast) and Sienna (by bus- also clean, comfortable and takes a scenic route). The hotel was perfectly located- no time wasted getting to the centre of town; you're there. The room was lovely, clean, traditionally decorated and still had every modern convenience. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The winter rates were fine for such an excellent hotel. I'd highly recommend it.

Room Tip: There's construction next door, so the rooms on one side of the hotel have a view that my husban...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara007Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

How wonderful to hear that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed this beautiful city of art and culture! Thank you so much for this fantastic review of our hotel, it makes us very proud to hear that our staff took good care of you and that you appreciated our beautiful rooms and central location.

We hope to see you again, in a nearby future!
Warm regards
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for five nights in March and had a wonderful stay. The hotel is clean and comfortable, with traditional furnishings in keeping with the historic location. The service was excellent, with staff fluent in English. Breakfast (included in our room price) was very good, many choices (great coffee), and served in a beautiful "breakfast lounge." The location couldn't be better, very central to all we wanted to see.

The rooftop bar provides a nice view but the food was only so-so. You can do better in nearby restaurants. We liked Cafe Bellini (Piazza Pitti, in front of the Pittil Palace), Trattoria Ponte Vecchio (almost next door to the hotel on Lungarno Archibusieri), and Golden View (on the other side of the river, directly across from the hotel; cross the Ponte Vecchio and turn left).

We had a wonderful experience taking the walking tours offered by ArtViva; our visit to the Uffizi was much enhanced by the commentary from the ArtViva guide.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathyM_CorgiMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your kind words about our cleanliness, good service, buffet breakfast and central location.
It is always a real pleasure to hear that our clients enjoyed their stay and hopefully left Florence and Italy with a smile!
I am also happy you enjoyed our beautiful roof top view! Unfortunatley the hotel does not have a restaurant, but only the American bar so the food served is only what we call a light lunch, salads, some pasta and sandwiches plus snacks. We therefore try to do our best to recommend good restaurants nearby. Hopefully we were able to give you a good suggestion as well!

We look forwar to seeing you and our daughter again,
Warm regards
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

You couldn't get a more central position for sightseeing in Florence. We could walk easily to all the attractions and places to eat that we needed. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices from the cold buffet + a couple of hot options and the room that it was served in was very light and airy with ceiling comarable with many of those featured in Florence.

1  Thank GolfingVets
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review after your recent stay with us!
It was very nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was pleasing to hear your comments regarding our breakfast buffet and perfect location.

We look forward to welcoming you again,
Warm regards
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend in Florence, and had used trip advisor to book our hotel. The Hotel Degli Orafi was excellent, cannot recommend it highly enough. The rooms were lovely, beds comfortable, linen changed daily. Extremely clean throughout and beautifully presented rooms. The breakfast was superb, something for everyone. The terrace bar was very relaxing and definately worth a visit with its view of the Duomo. The location is excellent so close to the Ponte Vecchio bridge and round the corner from the Uffizi gallery. The staff were extremely helpful and recommended 2 wonderful restaurants, Bacu Mario and Trattoria 13 Gobi, which we could not fault and would never have found on our own.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABIGAIL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Direttore at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this magnificent review and for recommending us!
Me and my staff cannot wait to have you back to us again, so we can give you another superb Hotel degli Orafi experience.
Eating good in Florence is very important and I am happy to hear that you had a delicious meal during your stay!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,885 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 410 in Florence
3,563 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#53 of 410 in Florence
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#45 of 410 in Florence
1,582 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#31 of 410 in Florence
1,705 reviews
Uffizi
Continentale
Continentale
#32 of 410 in Florence
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Degli Orafi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Degli Orafi

Address: Lungarno degli Archibusieri, 4, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Florence
#20 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#29 Business Hotel in Florence
#30 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $158 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Degli Orafi 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 4-star luxury hotel is located in an ancient Florentine building dating back to the 13th century. You will find it in the centre of the city next to the River Arno and just a few steps away from the famous Ponte Vecchio & the Uffizi Gallery.The Luxury Hotel Degli Orafi, in the heart of the historic centre, has got everything on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Degli Orafi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Degli Orafi Florence
Degli Orafi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing