We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”
Review of Hotel Degli Orafi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Degli Orafi
Ranked #30 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

This is a fantastic hotel right on the river next to Ponte Vecchio and the Ufizzi. The rooms and decor are dated, however that is the only negative of the hotel. The rooms are clean and very spacious. The staff are very friendly and recommended the best restaurants of our entire trip! The hotel is very easy to find and you will be greeted warmly. The hotel held our bags for us from early in the morning until our room was ready. The buffet breakfast is great - better than most hotels with a large selection to choose from. The rooftop terrace was certainly a highlight of our trip - every night we would sit on the rooftop terrace and drink lovely wine and beer watching the sunset over the Tuscan countryside to our left and the Duomo to our right. Absolutely magical!!

Room Tip: The lift takes a while so a room on a lower floor will save you time waiting for the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CluelessTraveller_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Manager at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review about your stay!
We appreciate your comments about our staff and breakfast and we are happy you found the hotel to be well located. As for the décor, we inform that our rooms are decorated in a old florentine style. For those who prefer a more modern design we can offer our other wing "The Orafi Tower", a restored part of the hotel with Suites elegantly furnished and particulary suitable for longer stays or families. Regarding the lift, we apologize if you found it a bit slow but we also have a 2nd lift that operates from the1st to the 4th floor, usually less crowded.
It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our Roof terrace bar with the panoramic views and our excellent Chianti wine. Hopefully you will be back for another sunset!

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,062
    327
    62
    18
    9
See reviews for
296
807
73
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night last September(a special treat for our 30th wedding anniversary of which they were informed) The room itself was very nice but when I opened the curtains to check the view we were at the side of the hotel looking out onto an apartment block being refurbished full of scaffolding and worst of all the ugly yellow rubbish shute for the builders directly in front of our room. We were very disappointed and informed the staff at reception who offered to upgrade us FOR A PRICE. I think if you are only staying the one night they are not too worried about views for you or anything else. Most disappointed since we paid about 150 euro for the night which was a discounted website price!

Room Tip: Rooms fronting onto the river are the only worthwhile ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Manager at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Dear Mrs Yvonne G,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback following your stay with us.
I was disappointed that you had issues during your stay and reading this comment 6 months after is very unfortunate for us. I am sorry you found us over-priced and that the rate didn’t match your expectations. This is a mid/high season month and therefore the rates are usually much higher than the rate you’ve stated. Price is a very subjective issue but I would say that if this was the amount you paid you got a fairly good deal. As you know our hotel is located in the city centre next to all of the important sights, with a free American buffet breakfast and with a beautiful view over the Ponte Vecchio, The Duomo and the Florentine Roof tops. I can also assure that our rates are very much in tandem with other 4 star hotels in the area.

If I understand your wish was to have a room with a view . We inform you that these rooms are only available in the higher categories, not in the Standard Classic room. Most of our clients are honeymooners or special anniversary guests therefore this is not a guarantee for a free upgrade or view room. We also inform that we always answer every kind of request that we receive from our clients or travel agents regarding this particular request. We offer a supplement to be paid and usually our clients are very happy with this option.

I also want to state that we treat all our clients equally and not depending on how many nights they stay. I would very much like to have the opportunity to speak to you in person regarding your experience and would be happy to get in contact with you at the earliest opportunity.
Next time it would be my pleasure to personally find you a room if you decide to come back once more, which I sincerely hope you will

Best regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

The Degli Orafi is a nice hotel for those who want a pretty view of the Arno. The rooms are spacious and have nice beds. However, the staff were not as pleasant and helpful as other hotels my wife and I staid at in Italy. They were not rude, but just not as helpful as I expected considering the price I paid for the room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bebop11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Manager at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.
We’d like to apologize for the lack of service you received from our staff. However I would have preferred a more detailed explanation, but not because I’m a Hotel manager but mostly for my staff since it makes them unhappy knowing they were unhelpful, especially since this is one of our strongest advantage. As you can see we get a lot of positive response about our front desk staff and therefore it is important for us to hear from you again, in order to show you the best of us. Working in this industry for many years I can only say that every day is different with new challenges and problems to solve. Maybe, I hope, you encountered a very stressful day with many clients and therefore did not receive our personal service that we are so proud of.

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in a great location right next to the Uffizi and Ponte Vecchio. The rooms are very nice and the staff were great. Breakfast was served in a lovely room overlooking the Arno. The food selection was awesome and very tasty. This is a great hotel that I would certainly go back to.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Manager at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear Maria,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay, we are so happy that you had such a wonderful time. Hope to see you next year and many years to come....

Warm regards
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

The hotel is beautiful in an excellent location overlooking the Arno river next to the Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizi Museum. The hotel has old world charm. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. The breakfast is excellent, buffet style with lots of choices. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again. If possible, try to get a room on the third floor and up or in the back. Our room was on the second floor facing the river, which we could not see much of, because of columns, arches and a structure, which did not just block most of the view, but worse, echoed the sound of traffic and even conversations on street level. Most of the time, we felt like sleeping next to a highway.

Room Tip: If possible, try to get a room on the third floor and up or in the back. Our room was on the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Manager at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive review with us. It makes us happy knowing that you appreciated our beautiful hotel and that you got som time to admire the view and enjoyed our delicious buffet breakfast. Unfortunately or maybe I should say fortunately your room faced the famous Vasarian Corridor, built in 1564 , used to exhibit the Uffizi museum's famous collection of self-portraits. It does block a bit of the beautiful view but we are still proud of having all these important sights next to us. We are though sorry that you found the rumours from the street very annoying but this is unfortunately common in the city centre. For your next stay do not hesitate to call or email us directly so we can help you finding the right room for you.

Look forward meeting you again

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2012

The staff of this hotel were uniformly polite, friendly and helpful. The hotel's location, near the Uffizi Gallery, by the river Arno and close to the main tourist hot spots was ideal. The room was comfortable and spotless, with a great deal of character and the roof terrace was particularly attractive with panoramic views. The breakfast was served in a beautiful room with very efficient staff. We shall return to this hotel and recommend to friends, colleagues and family.

Room Tip: We only saw our own room so could not compare with others. Ours was a standard double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Manager at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Dear Mr Edward F,

Thank you for sharing your positive comment with us.
We're happy you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel convenient for your visit to Firenze.
We also think that it was nice of you to point out that our hotel has a special character, from our beautiful Florentine rooms, Roof terrace bar with view and a beautiful breakfast room. Our hotel has a lot of history and we are happy that you got to feel some of it.
We look forward to hosting you again very soon

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

My children and I have just returned from a trip to italy and our stay here was one of the highlights. Great location, spotless room, very helpful staff. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDO, Manager at Hotel Degli Orafi, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience with us.
We’re so pleased to hear that you and your children had a wonderful stay. We hope you will choose us again for your next family vacation.

Warm regards,
Rossella Nelli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#45 of 422 in Florence
1,495 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
3,465 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#31 of 422 in Florence
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Continentale
Continentale
#44 of 422 in Florence
842 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 422 in Florence
2,729 reviews
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Degli Orafi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Degli Orafi

Property: Hotel Degli Orafi
Address: Lungarno degli Archibusieri, 4, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#22 Family Hotel in Florence
#25 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#29 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Degli Orafi 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 4-star luxury hotel is located in an ancient Florentine building dating back to the 13th century. You will find it in the centre of the city next to the River Arno and just a few steps away from the famous Ponte Vecchio & the Uffizi Gallery.The Luxury Hotel Degli Orafi, in the heart of the historic centre, has got everything on its doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Degli Orafi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Degli Orafi Florence
Degli Orafi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing