We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my stay at hotel sole, florence”
Review of Hotel Sole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sole
Ranked #156 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“my stay at hotel sole, florence”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

hotel sole was the perfect place for our stay in florence. it is near the train station and the city centre. A pleasant short walk to all of the city's sightseeing places (uffizi, accademia, duomo).
it was very clean and the room was cozy with warm colours. the staff was very friendly and polite and the guy speaks very good english for those who don't speak italian. Overall we were very happy we stayed there and it's good value for money. I would definetly recommend it and in case we're going back to florence we would stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    128
    25
    7
    3
See reviews for
44
130
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel was a very good value. It was located walking distance from the train station and was a very short 5-10 min walk from all major sights. The room was spacious, had air conditioning, and wifi was included. The staff were very hospitable and helpful with any concern we had. The staff were basically available at any time from morning to the late evening, which was unusual compared to other small hotels in Italy where staff were only present by appointment.

Breakfast was not included, but the staff kindly allowed us to put our groceries in their fridge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superbabli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefaniaSag, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sole, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review, it's very appreciated !
We are delighted that you liked your stay at our hotel.
We're looking forward to hosting you again for your next stay in Florence.

Best regards,
Simone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Top priority for me is to be in a place that is clean, Hotel Sole rooms although basic furniture wise, looked clean and the bathroom too. Every day coming back after a long day sightseeing in Florence and around, the room smelled nice, and everything looked tied up and clean. The location is very convenient if you are planning trips using the trains from Santa Maria Novella train Station, and also at walking distances from all major tourist attractions in Florence. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is basically located in the 3rd floor of the building (with a small lift), it was quiet and we had a good night sleep every day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank brvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefaniaSag, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sole, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

I can only answer to your wonderful review with a great ... THANKS!
Thank you for choosing Hotel Sole for your stay in Florence, thank you for having appreciated the cleanliness of the room and for appreciated the friendliness of our staff.

I hope to see you soon again at the Hotel Sole.

Regards from Florence,

Simone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The staff were very helpful, kind and friendly. Excellent location, 5 min to train station, 5 min to main tourist locations. The bathroom was clean, shower was nice. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable, air condition was ok. We payed 80 euros for three. I recommend this hotel regarding to benefit cost analisys.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rusen_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hradec Králové, Kralovehradecky Kraj, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Hotel Sole was the best hotel we stayed in during our tour through Italy. The location is excellent - very close to all main sights of Florence, staff is very helpfull and nice, everything was amazingly clean, rooms with new furniture, good working AC and the location is just perfect. We will definately recommend this place to all of our friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petr V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Well located, clean and with helpful staff. Very central and walking distance from restaurants and center.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JorgeMayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udine, Italy
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The location is very good, near the train station and major tourist destination. The room and bathroom were very clean. The bathroom is white with glass shower. Room with air conditioning and free wifi. The service and reception were excellent. Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriano A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#95 of 422 in Florence
733 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#109 of 422 in Florence
451 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#161 of 422 in Florence
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Unicorno
Unicorno
#123 of 422 in Florence
593 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Por Santa Maria
Hotel Por Santa Maria
#213 of 422 in Florence
166 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Scoti
Hotel Scoti
#211 of 422 in Florence
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sole

Property: Hotel Sole
Address: Via del Sole 8, 3rd floor, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Sole 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sole, recently re-opened under a new management, is a one-star hotel located in the heart of the historical center of Florence. The hotel is in fact situated on Via del Sole, inside the district of Piazza Santa Maria Novella, in a strategic point to visit on foot all the attractions and cultural and artistic treasures which have made Florence one of the most popular tourist destinations in the world. The location of Hotel Sole is simply perfect: it’s at only 300 m from the railway station of Firenze Santa Maria Novella and it allows you to reach by walk the Duomo, Ponte Vecchio, the Uffizi Gallery, Palazzo Pitti, Piazza Santa Croce, Via Tornabuoni, the Accademia Gallery and Boboli Gardens, as well as the new Parco della Musica in Parco delle Cascine. The hotel is also close to the Fortezza da Basso, the major trade fair center of the city, and the Palace of Congresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing