We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best View, Best Hosts, Best Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Soggiorno Battistero
Ranked #80 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best View, Best Hosts, Best Value!”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The killer view is unmatched. The breakfast is delivered promptly and courteously. The hosts are patient and kind and very willing to help out the first time traveler or the seasoned pro (me) with suggestions. The location cannot be beat. A nine minute walk from the train station. 13 minutes to Santa Croce. Piazza della Signoria and Repubblica are so close it's not worth telling you it's only 3 minutes away.

These timetables are references. You will wander and lose track of time and it won't matter. You are in Florence.

The hotel is the perfect distance from everything. Ponte Vecchio and the "other side" of the Arno are easily accessible.

Room was comfortable. There was zero noise. The bells felt distant in the morning and not as close as they actually are...

Don't stay anywhere else. You will have missed this jewel in the crown of the Renaissance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    61
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
37
100
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in December 2013. We were a little hesitant since many reviews warned it is on the 3rd floor and there isn't an elevator. Turns out, an elevator was installed about a year ago so don't worry about having to haul your luggage up 3 floors.
It was an easy 10 minute walk from the train station (even with luggage). From our room (#5) we had a great view of the Baptistry and the Duomo. As others have said, breakfast is brought to your room and the freshly baked muffin is a real treat.
It is a great central location within walking distance of many sites- Piazza Signoria, Santa Croce, Ufizzia Museum and Santa Maria Novella - all "must see". Lots of good shopping near by. (Give the restaurant just outside a miss- there are better such as the little restaurant directly across the square).
Just a little tip - if you go in winter, bring some slippers - the tile floors are not surprisingly very cold.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eCanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights here in September 2013. It is an easy walk from the train station and very convenient to most all the sights in Florence. The room is simple but clean. The view is amazing. Directly across from the Baptistry and Duomo. The windows are soundproof so no worries about noise from the piazza below. Being right on the piazza I was able to get up before dawn and get some wonderful photos of the duomo and area before it became crowded with tourists. The rooms are located on the 3rd floor but there is a lift that works. Breakfast is simple, coffee and croissants.Enough to get us going in the morning. One morning we told owners to hold breakfast since we would be leaving early to catch a train to Pisa for the day and they were kind enough to leave a boxed breakfast for us the night before.
The owners are very kind and accommodating. You cannot go wrong if you choose to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NashMcGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

As other reviewers have suggested this is in a great location, right across from the Baptistry and Duomo. Great view from our room(#5). Breakfast in the room. Owner is very nice and accommodating.
Could get a little noisy since it is right on the square but we didn't find this a problem. A note if you stay here. Directions are excellent just know that it is on the third floor. There is a lift.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rkniffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Two friends and I recently spent 4 nights at Soggiorno Battistero, and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Kelly was very friendly and accommodating and went out of her way to make sure we had a wonderful stay in Florence. She also was very informative and provided much useful information about the city. The location of this bed and breakfast truly enhanced our experience because we were within easy walking distance of all the major attractions as well as several excellent restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Baptistery and Duomo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDDennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Soggiorno Battistero for four nights in September, 2013. Location is very important to us when we travel, and this was by far the best hotel location we have ever experienced. Our room (Room 4) looked out on the Baptistery and Duomo with all the activity, bells, and music right out our window. We felt like we were experiencing Florence without leaving the room. When we were ready for sleep, we closed the soundproof windows; and it was completely quiet. Kelly, one of the owners, was like a friend who wanted to make sure we enjoyed our days in Florence. She stayed very late the night of our arrival to accommodate our train schedule, recommended great restaurants, and chatted about living in Italy- so informative. To top it off, Kelli picked up our forgotten backpack at a Florence museum and mailed it to our Rome hotel. Our backpack was waiting for us when we arrived in Rome at the end of our trip. When traveling, what more could you ask for!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGOODMAN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The rooms were small, even by European standards, but the location was ideal with a fantastic view of the Duomo and Baptistery. The shower was tiny, making it difficult to even wash my hair without hitting my elbows on the shower walls.

Breakfast was OK and served in the room. This wouldn’t have been too bad but we were forced to try to eat on the bed since the rest of the room was full of our luggage and clothes. The only variety to the breakfast was a different flavored muffin each day. We stayed at 5 different hotels on our Italian trip and this was the worst breakfast by far.

The price and location are excellent but that’s about all I can say about this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2TakeMeAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#39 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bigallo
Hotel Bigallo
#187 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Duomo
Residenza Giotto
Residenza Giotto
#149 of 675 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
I Quattro Poeti
I Quattro Poeti
#87 of 675 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Duomo
La Residenza del Proconsolo
La Residenza del Proconsolo
#159 of 675 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Duomo
A Florence View B&B
A Florence View B&B
#13 of 675 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soggiorno Battistero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soggiorno Battistero

Property: Soggiorno Battistero
Address: Piazza di San Giovanni 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Soggiorno Battistero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soggiorno Battistero Florence
Soggiorno Battistero Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing