We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple room with excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Soggiorno Battistero
Ranked #88 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simple room with excellent location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

My three children and I stayed in this hotel in July 2013. The location was amazing -- literally next to the Duomo -- although we had a room without a view (which was fine and it was very quiet at night). Kelly and her husband are very kind and both speak fluent English (Kelly is American). Our room was furnished with very simple, basic furniture - nothing fancy, but we didn't care as we didn't spend much time in the room as we were out and about seeing the city. The bathroom was a little bit of a challenge as the shower is VERY tiny with just a light shower curtain - definitely the smallest shower we experienced during our whole trip, and the "A/C" is just a ceiling fan. Breakfast brought to your room is just muffins, coffee, and hard boiled eggs, so as I said above, very simple accomodations, but the location is unbeatable if you're not looking for upscale accomodations and the proprietors are extremely kind.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RED2618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    61
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
36
98
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We are just finishing a 4 night stay in Room 11 on the quiet side of the establishment. The room, while not having a view of the Duomo, is extremely quiet and comfortable. A very clean place with a helpful and friendly proprietor. Also an excellent value!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I cannot recommend a better place to stay. Kelly and her husband have absolutely wonderful accommodations and have breakfast delivered to your room. We were so close to everything that it was ideal for our stay. The rooms were impeccably clean and spacious. I would definitely stay again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hicksy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel is literally steps from the Duomo. From here you can walk anywhere in the historic center of Florence. The breakfast is brought to your room each morning. The room is not overly large, but it was worth the money. The noise from the square was non-existent. Kelly, one of the owners, is American, and made us feel right at home. We would definitely stay here again! Our only complaint is that the pillows were terrible.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room, overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at Soggiorno Battistero for four nights. This is the best located hotel we have ever experienced. The entrance doors are literally across from the Baptistry! Our room looked out on the Duomo! The rooms were immaculate and very comfortable with the air conditioning. The breakfast was delivered to our room each day and had an excellent variety of goods including home baked muffins! One of the owners of the hotel is an American so you felt right at home immediately. As wonderful as the location is we were concerned with the noise of the busy square at night. However, the hotel windows were equipped with wonderful extra sound proof windows that blocked all outside noise out. This was put to the test on our third night when the Florence Marathon festivities were right below our window! However, as soon as we closed the special windows we could not hear a thing! This was a terrific gem of a place to stay in Florence.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Duomo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachlover69_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Soggiorno Battistero for 2 nights - as everyone mentions, the location is fantastic.. It is about a 10 minute walk to the station, which is no problem - except for dodging sightseers... definitely not worth getting a cab unless you have children.

As I was a single traveller, my room was tiny and very basic. A single bed and a small but very clean bathroom... It was great as I only really need a bed to sleep in and somewhere for a shower, there is so much to be done in Florence that I spent no time in my room. The rooms are secure as is the building..Check in is on the 3rd floor up the elevator.

The breakfast is served on a tray to your room, which includes fresh brewed coffee/milk, orange juice, a pastry, a boiled egg and toast (this came in a packet, i did not eat this) and a fresh warm muffin baked in the morning.

My view was breathtaking, looking over the Duomo right outside my window... there were 2 windows to close to block out any noise from the street, and they worked.. I did not hear any noise... Although the square does become quiet in the evening. and isn't really busy until after 8ish.

The hotel is very central to all the main attractions and markets and of course designer stores.

I would stay here again for sure..

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Bella306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, Maryland
Level Contributor
400 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We loved Soggiorno Battistero. It's a bit of a walk with luggage from the train station, but we were rewarded with an unbeatable location in the heart of Florence. Our room faced away from the main piazza, so our stay was peaceful. Church bells were a welcome bonus! The building was installing an elevator when we visited, so I assume it must be working by now. The owners were very kind, allowing us to leave our bags in the lobby before check-in time. Breakfast was basic, but good. The room was huge, and the bathroom very clean. We think this was our favorite hotel of our Italian trip!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffy_Bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#39 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bigallo
Hotel Bigallo
#179 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Duomo
Residenza Giotto
Residenza Giotto
#153 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
I Quattro Poeti
I Quattro Poeti
#92 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Duomo
La Residenza del Proconsolo
La Residenza del Proconsolo
#167 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Duomo
A Florence View B&B
A Florence View B&B
#13 of 659 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soggiorno Battistero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soggiorno Battistero

Property: Soggiorno Battistero
Address: Piazza di San Giovanni 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Soggiorno Battistero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soggiorno Battistero Florence
Soggiorno Battistero Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing