We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brill stay, lovely rooms, fantastic locations.”
Review of Lombardi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lombardi Hotel
Ranked #204 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brill stay, lovely rooms, fantastic locations.”
Reviewed November 25, 2010

This hotel was amazing. It was roughly a ten minute walk into the main centre. The rooms were lovely, and quite big for such good value as well. The bathroom was average but can't complain! We stayed here for 4 nights, the receptionist was very welcoming and helpful.
The breakfast was basic but its what you need to start the day.
Our plan was to take a day trip to Pisa and then make our way down to Rome. This was so easy, the Santa Maria Novella Station not even a 5 minute walk from the hotel, and we could pick up the train to both locations with no problem.
I would defo recommend this hotel to anyone and its even better if you are on a budget!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyBav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    115
    62
    7
    6
See reviews for
48
113
28
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2010

Hotel Lombardi is in an excellent location in a side street near the main station. Very convenient for airport buses, the central market and just a short walk to the city centre. The staff were friendly, helpful and relaxed and reception is manned for 24 hours. The building and furnishing are authentically Florentine. Breakfasts were excellent value. Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babelquark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

I stayed at this hotel with a friend in September 2010. I must say that the location of the hotel from the train station is excellent - 2 minute walk, however our hotel room was across from the bus stop and each early morning you can hear them start the loud engines. If your a light sleeper like myself, this is not perfect.

The service received was pleasant and the hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful throughout our 4 night stay. The hotel itself was a good size - perfect for two people, however the bathroom was extremely small. Cleaning was average, however there was strong evident of a water leak in the bathroom ceiling with mould forming on the ceiling.

Overall, nice hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sxy-156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

I booked this hotel for a triple room with A/C. On arrival the room was very hot. On asking for the remote control for the A/C the Manager, whom I expected from previous reviews to be quite cooperative, sarcastically responded that nobody uses the A/C in Italy in September! I got my booking print out and explained that he confirmed the room price included an A/C for this period, he seemed to get quite angry, mumbling continuously while putting batteries in the remote control, that this never happened before, he can't believe it's happening, we are the only ones who asked for A/C, and added "Don't come asking me for a blanket when you are cold!". I pointed out that he could have simply advised me at time of booking that A/C is not included and I would have stayed somewhere else. Such an unprofessional response on arrival has a dampening effect on your mood and experience, but I won't let it affect my review.
So here are pros and cons:
Pros:
-Very Good location, close to the station and central.
-Clean rooms
-Very Good breakfast

Cons:
-Noise from buses and lobby
-Shower cubicle quite small
-Internet rate is high, there are little roads leading to the Historic Center around the hotel with many internet cafes at reasonable prices.
-If booking in September, just make sure the Manager has no objection to your use of A/C as the weather fluctuates and there are days when the room is really hot and stuffy.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hintsandtips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

not that you can expect much from a 2 star but from the comments I read on here I was expecting something better. it's an average 2 star hotel, very clean though, nice & helpful staff but furniture is as old as my grandma and there is a weird smell as soon as you enter the reception. Also in the morning there is a lot of noise because the rooms are all facing the lobby and you can hear everybody checking in or checking out and obviously nobody whispers while doing that.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corrado76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irlanda
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We travelled with two young kids, and we were unfortunate when our children had high fever on the night we arrived at the hotel. But we were very surprised and grateful that the hotel people were very helpful and very nice, we were given an extra bed for free and our kids were given free hot chocolates as well! Customer service is excellent and the hotel room is very clean, they changed our towels and cleaned our room everyday. Hotel is very, very close to Santa Maria train station and market place. Breakfast was nice, fresh breads, clean, etc. The only minor negative point is the noise from the busses and people early in the morning since the bus stop is located just beside our room. Thank you for your warm hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnonymousIrlanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2010

We so enjoyed our stay at Hotel Lombardi, largely owing to the kindness and attention to detail of Vincenzo. He made all the arrangements for me to attend (a conference) and I brought my family who enjoyed their holiday immensely. It is a very personal, homely hotel with simple facilities, but so convenient in terms of location near the station and the Firenze conference centre. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RinaNicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Annabella Hotel
Annabella Hotel
#288 of 412 in Florence
202 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Lombardia
Hotel Lombardia
#155 of 412 in Florence
287 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#92 of 412 in Florence
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#89 of 412 in Florence
756 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#283 of 412 in Florence
235 reviews
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#69 of 412 in Florence
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lombardi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lombardi Hotel

Property: Lombardi Hotel
Address: Via Fiume 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#139 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lombardi Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lombardi is located into an ancient and elegant palace of Florence, in one quiet road, one block away from Central Station of Santa Maria Novella, Fortezza Da Basso and only 10 minutes walking from the Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lombardi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing