We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolute Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Ranked #15 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 17, 2009

Staying in this hotel was the absolute highlight of our trip to Florence. I cannot imagine finding a place that is more welcoming and comfortable. From the moment we arrived we were treated like family. Our double deluxe room on the 4th floor had a marvelous window that overlooked the rooftops of Florence. The room was very spacious as was the bathroom. The air conditioning was a very welcome relief as the temperatures in Florence were unseasonably warm the last week of August when we were there. It was a nice treat to be able to relax in our comfortable room during the heat of the afternoon. The location of the hotel made it very easy to walk to most attractions in Florence and there were many good restaurants nearby. The crowning glory of this hotel is the view from the two roof top terraces. Breakfast was served every morning on the rear terrace with a view of the Duomo and the surrounding buildings. Breakfast was very good with fresh pastries, eggs, and freshly made cappucinos. The honor bar provided a nice place to relax in the afternoon and we made it our routine to celebrate the sunset with a glass of wine on the front terrace overlooking the Arno river. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littledarlinseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

815 - 821 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2009

If you are looking for a hotel in the $250-350 price range, I would highly recommend this elegant boutique hotel. Absolutely lovely interior since it was the villa of a wealthy family in its prior life. It is located close to the Arno river near the bridge at the end of Via Tournaboni. Our room was gorgeous, bathroom lovely and the location doesn't get any better since it is centrally located near many of the attractions. It has a lovely rooftop patio that must be one of locations for photographers taking pictures of the tile-topped structures across Florence. It is located at across the street from Ferragamo, so the budget did suffer a bit! This is a hidden treasure. Our trip was 3 years ago so see other more recent reviews. The staff were extremely helpful, made arrangements for all our tickets prior to our arrival (Ufizzi, etc.) and gave us good tips on restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy_az04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

I loved this hotel! We had room 503 with a terrace and wonderful view. The staff was nice, the rooms spacious and clean. I will never stay anywhere else in Florence ever. It is near everything and located on Florence's Beverly Hill's Rodeo Drive known as the Tornabuoni next to Versace. I can't say enough great things about the hotel. I highly recommend this hotel and firmly believe it is a waste of time to look elsewhere. I am SO happy I booked a stay with them. It is near the bridges (actually it is almost on the corner at the bridge before the Ponte Vecchio), it is near the best restaurants (which are on the other side of the Arno) , near all of the shops/places of interest and walking distance from the train station. They even have an honesty bar where you can make yourself drinks whenever and leave them a note with what you took. There is a mini bar in your room of course too and a coffee/tea maker with sugar and tea / coffee packets. Coffee and tea are free of charge.

Only 2 negatives which are so small to even mention: beds are a little hard and the elevator is a little slow.

Great breakfast too! On the open roof top terrace.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buffalo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2009

In the heart of Florence, Antica Torre is exceptional in every way. The rooms were a good size with a magnificent bathroom. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The masterpiece, is the roof top were you can enjoy the wonderful buffet breakfast as well have enjoyable sundowners. The honor bar on the roof top terrace was a good idea.
Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awalsc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2009

We stayed at this property last week and couldn't have been happier. From the front-desk staff to the housekeepers to the guy at the front door, everyone was friendly, low-key and helpful. Our room had a very nice balcony overlooking the Santa Trinita Church and the Duomo. From your room or the 2 roof decks the views are spectacular. It's a small place (12 rooms I think) yet it has all the amenities and services of a large hotel (ok, maybe not everything). The room was large, very clean and not "over" designed. The bathroom was excellent. The location is perfect ... walking distance to all of the centro storico in Florence as well as major sites in the Oltarno neighborhood.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

Our recent trip to Florence has already become a fabulous memory that will last a lifetime and the Antica played a huge role. It is a moderate sized B&B that reeks of class. The entrance is simple but elegant and the staff which greets you can only be described as warm, charming and always gracious.
Barbara became a friend who from the moment we arrived calmed our fears with our lost baggage and would not rest until she made sure that the airlines (in France and Italy) had done due diligence. We received our bag the next day. Barbara and the entire Antica staff were tireless in helping us during our entire trip with restaurant suggestions, excursion info and museum tix. She even managed to find me a florist to purchase flowers despite the fact it was Easter Monday, a holiday in Italy.
Our room was suite 104 located in the annex which is actually on the river and immediatly adjacent to the original "Torre" (tower). Our views along the Arno were spectacular. The room was spacious and clean and easily comfortable for three (with a comfortable cot). The bathroom was modern and the separate area with a jacuzzi tub could make this a romantic gem. I peaked at room 105 which was also on the Arno. It was a double room so therefore smaller than 104. I was also shown suite 107 which is on the Arno with its own private terrace, double bed and separate room with a single bed.
Among the highlights of this establishment are the spectacular views from the two rooftop terraces adjacent to the breakfast area. There is also an honesty bar on the same level. We routinely relaxed on the terraces in the late afternoon with either an espresso or appertif.
This gem has now become one of our favorite finds in Italy (along with the Hotel Flora in Positano). We will go back to the Antica for many years to come.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

Unnused to B&Bs, I was really afraid to get disappointed with Antica Torre, but that didn't happen at all. The staff was friendly and helpful - I have to mention Barbara, who showed us the place and provide us a very comfortable early check in. The location is close to almost every attraction in Florence and Via Tuornaboni is very deluxe: our lovely neighbours were Salvatore, Ermenegildo, Emilio, etc. The rooms were very comfortable and our bathroom was enourmous, with a strong hot shower. The breakfast in the terrace facing the Duomo was incredible, with fresh delicious breads, various local ham and cheeses, eggs and very good coffee. The value for all that was also great and the fact that there was no front desk at night did not affect us at all.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marciopsiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 409 in Florence
2,863 reviews
Uffizi
San Firenze Suites & Spa
San Firenze Suites & Spa
#6 of 409 in Florence
634 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#5 of 409 in Florence
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#22 of 409 in Florence
1,017 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 409 in Florence
3,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Address: Via Dei Tornabuoni 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Business Hotel in Florence
#5 Green Hotel in Florence
#6 Spa Hotel in Florence
#12 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#15 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $230 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We personally enjoy welcoming our guests, we wish to reinvent the concept of hospitality, and we have the inspiration to provide the warmth of home in every detail. This is how the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1, Florence came to be: a tower-house built in the mid-12th century by the Guelph family of Ruggerini. At the beginning of the 20th century, this palace became "Pensione Piccioli," and quickly turned into a privileged residence for aristocrats and English writers. Closed after the Great War, Pensione Piccioli reopened in 2001, as a Period Residence called "Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1." Thanks to attentive restoration to preserve all its original charm, the evocative ambiance of the Palace on Via Tornabuoni has regained life and warmth. This magnificent complex is considered one of the typical "tower-houses" of Mediaeval Florence, and, to this day, it still preserves all its characteristic architectural elements: it is an admirable example of the human ability to convert buildings built for war into oases of peace, culture and hospitality. In this ancient tower, we have created a world of harmony, privacy, and attentiveness to our guests' needs. Luxury, peace, and beauty are all in traditional Italian style, and give the concept of comfort new aesthetics. Almost all rooms enjoy an enchanting view of the city or the Arno River, and all are furnished with the highest in comfort: satellite plasma TVs, DVD players, wireless internet connection, direct line telephone, minibar, electronic safe, air conditioning and heating, private marble bath with tub and/or shower, hair dryer, slippers and shoehorns. Some of the Rooms and Suites are decorated with a Renaissance flair: with frescoes, drapes in coloured precious fabrics, bathrooms in red Alcantara or Gold Calacatta marble, and romantic four poster beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Di Via Tornabuoni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing